Jive Monkey Playlist: 8/5/16

I’m not sure if it’s because I heard a lot of Show Me the Money tracks while I was in LA but today is all about some of those winners.  Whether it’s this season’s winner or whether it’s last season’s winner, I’m glad that these artists are finally getting some recognition.

I’m excited to see that Basick finally released his own album after winning Show Me the Money.  Sure, he’s released a single here and there but I’ve been looking forward to his album even though it’s only a mini album.  The title track is called, “Nice,” and for lack of a better word, the track is nice. It’s got a catchy hook and I will definitely be replaying the song over and over again but it’s definitely not my favorite song on the album.  It just feels too commercial.  And there’s nothing wrong with being too commercial but it just wasn’t something I was expecting from him.

Rather, I’m loving the first track on the album called, “Can’t Find Love”.  The track is truly about Basick’s story.  How he gave up his career as a rapper when he got married and became another office worker in the corporate world.  And yet, he achieves fame through Show Me the Money and now everyone seems to be knocking on his door.  The lyrics on the track just seem to show his raw emotions about the whirlwind of fame he’s currently experiencing and it’s refreshing to hear.  Featuring on the track is R&B artist Kim Sae Han Gil who has been collaborating with Basick since his original debut so it’s nice to see that Basick hasn’t forgotten his roots.

Basick – Can’t Find Love (Feat. 김새한길) (Can’t Find Love (Feat. Kim Sae Han Gil))

베이식(Basick) – Can’t Find Love (Feat. 김새한길)

Classick* = “Classick” is the name of Basick’s first album.

Can’t Find Love (Feat. 김새한길)

All the girls want me funny
They used to not know me
They used to see beyond me
Now all they wanna fuck with us
Man all the girls say I look
Just like how they want it
They used to not see me
Now all they wanna fuck with us
Man all the girls want me I see
All these changes happenin
hella hoes hella hoes hella hoes
K-pollywood shit but I ain’t fallin love

랩을 시작한지 벌써 10년째지
이름 앞엔 실력이나 역시 대신
한물간 혹은 퇴물 All that wack shit
지난 2년간 창작의 고통 대신
다른 랩퍼들과 멀어지게 만든 회식
난 아직 기억하지 K 가 붙은 Classick*
앨범 망했어도 Used to call me nasty
도대체 내가 이렇게 돼 버린 것은 왜지
지금 내가 필요로 하는 건 Magic
Nah fuck magic 노력 안 한 게 죄지
“요즘 애들 몰라” Fuck all that shit
어릴 적 보던 꼰대들
그게 내가 됐지
랩으로 번 돈으로 용돈으로 백씩
조카들에게 주고 싶었지
매일 외식
하면서 내가 직접 번 돈으로 새집
에서 내 앨범들을 벽에 못박고 싶었지

I can’t find love
You ain’t givin no love I could hold
Feel like drivin while I drink alcohol
My life is fast no control
I can’t find love
You ain’t givin me no love I could hold
Feel like drivin while I drink alcohol
My life is fast no control
Live it up

빈 종일 꺼내 하고 싶은 말을 적지
시작도 전에 이미 흥건하게 젖지
이제 겨우 서른밖에 되지 않았어도
하고 싶은 말은 작은 종이를 넘어섰지
삶이란 격전지
언젠가 떠나기 전
이름 앞에 “좀 더 멋진”이라고
남기고 싶었지
누군 내가 부럽겠지만
난 눈물을 삼키고 싶었지
왜냐고 물으신다면 난 그냥 그렇다고 밖에
넌 내가 아니니까 넌 그냥 알겠다고 말해
Just (just) do you (you) Ima do me
Till I finally find true me
Fucka 토 달고 싶으면 부디
아니 그냥 하지마 병신

I can’t find love.
You ain’t givin no love I could hold
Feel like drivin while I drink alcohol
My life is fast no control
I can’t find love
You ain’t givin me no love I could hold
Feel like drivin while I drink alcohol
My life is fast no control
Live it up

Can’t Find Love (Feat. Kim Sae Han Gil)

All the girls want me funny
They used to not know me
They used to see beyond me
Now all they wanna fuck with us
Man all the girls say I look
Just like how they want it
They used to not see me
Now all they wanna fuck with us
Man all the girls want me I see
All these changes happenin
hella hoes hella hoes hella hoes
K-pollywood shit but I ain’t fallin love

It’s been 10 years since I started rapping
Names preceding skills as well
Over the hill or has-been, All that wack shit
For the last 2 years, instead of the pain of creating
Happy hours that distance me from other rappers
I still remember, the K added to Classick*
Even though the album failed, Used to call me nasty
How the hell has things become like this?
The thing I need right now is Magic
Nah fuck magic, it’s a crime not to make the effort
“These days, kids don’t know” Fuck all that shit
The old-timers I’ve seen since I was young
I become one of them
With the money earned from rapping, a hundred each
Wanted to give to my nieces and nephews,
eating out everyday
With money I earned directly, at the new house
Wanted to drive a nail in my albums to the wall

I can’t find love
You ain’t givin no love I could hold
Feel like drivin while I drink alcohol
My life is fast no control
I can’t find love
You ain’t givin me no love I could hold
Feel like drivin while I drink alcohol
My life is fast no control
Live it up

Taking out a blank paper and write what I want to say
Before I’ve even started, drenched in sweat
Even though I’ve just barely turned 30
The things I wanna say has exceeded the page
Like is a ferocious battlefield,
at some point before I leave
In front of my name, “somewhat great,”
is what I want to leave behind
Others might be envious of me
I wanted to gulp down my tears
If you ask why, it’s just that I’m that way
Because you’re not me, you say that you understand
Just (just) do you (you) Ima do me
Till I finally find true me
Fucka, if you want to supply the element, please
No, just don’t do it, fuckhead

I can’t find love.
You ain’t givin no love I could hold
Feel like drivin while I drink alcohol
My life is fast no control
I can’t find love
You ain’t givin me no love I could hold
Feel like drivin while I drink alcohol
My life is fast no control
Live it up

_____________________________________________________

BewhY was a rapper that did make much of an impression on me during Show Me the Money 4. Now that I’ve had the chance to compare the two seasons, I can clearly see how much he’s improved for this season.

Seriously, if you haven’t seen some of BewhY’s greatest performances like, “자화상 pt. 2 (Fake) (Self-Portrait pt. 2 (Fake)),” “쌈박자 (XamBaqJa) (Three Beats (XamBaqJa)),” and “Forever,” I encourage you to check them out. My favorite just happens to be “Day Day,” partly because Park Jae Bum features on it, because I love the funky beat and because it starts with BewhY playing the piano for “The Time Goes On”.  He really does break stereotypes about rappers when he plays that piano.

Similar to Basick’s “Can’t Find Love”, “Beside Me” appears to tell a personal story about being in the limelight and the people you can trust.  The track is produced by Code Kunst.  I’m quite taken by the track’s music video and I love that Yang Dong Geun and Suran feature on the track as they both are  not only emotional singers but are great at visually expressing that emotion as well.

Because YDG is also an actor, he just doesn’t hold back when playing his role in the music video.  I love the metaphor of the mirror in the lyrics as well as in the song and there is this familiarity as he tries to portray that feeling of being judged by other as well as himself.

As for Suran, I’ve been familiar with her voice for some time now as she’s featured on many R&B and Hip Hop tracks but recently I was quite taken with her performance on Show Me the Money 5 with Xitsuh (aka Seo Chool Goo or West Exit).  I don’t think I would have been as taken with that performance if it weren’t for her and I think the same goes for this track as she’s so great at expressing the human condition.

코드쿤스트 , 비와이(BewhY) , YDG , 수란(SURAN) – Beside Me

Beside Me

Don’t never ever let me down
귓가를 맴도네 너와 내가 달라도 있어줘
이대로 beside me
Don’t forget don’t ever let me down
완벽은 우릴 편 가를 뿐
그 벽은 허물고
내 옆에 있어줘 beside me

나는 이제 이유 없이
비난을 받는 위치가 됐네
시기로 인해서 거짓된 이유를
만들어 내 미간엔
꽤 주름 짓게 될 일이 있곤 해
계속이 피곤해
너의 미움의 원천이
내 행복의 혹은 자랑스러움의
표현이라는 것이 참 우습게 느껴지네
내가 너라면 내 얼굴은
꽤 많이 붉어지겠지
내 무능력함과 열등감의
표정이 증오라면
내 자신이 이 세상에 대한
겁이 늘어 날것 같아
나는 내가 부족한 것들을
채우기 보다는 남의 티를
내 멋대로만 욕하고 판단하고
매번 바라봐 왔지 늘
사실 그가 가진 티는
내가 가진 생각과
다르지는 않다고 생각했지만
그의 티가 그에게는 자랑임을
우린 절대로 완벽할 수가 없지
그럼으로 아름다운 걸
변화를 원한다면 발견하게 될 걸
어제보다 더 더 나은 널
평생토록 배워야해
서로가 서로를 바로 인정하는 법
틀린 것이 아니지 우린 전부 다 다른 것

Don’t never ever let me down
귓가를 맴도네 너와 내가 달라도 있어줘
이대로 beside side me
Don’t forget don’t ever let me down
완벽은 우릴 편 가를 뿐
그 벽은 허물고
내 옆에 있어줘 beside me yeah

넌 내 손바닥 안
네가 밟은 땅은 지구
널 만든 내가 죄다 이 십자가를 지고
마이 무우따 아이가
아 고마해라 아프다
뚧어라 내 손 내가 기름 줄게
이 땅은 숨이 아직 붙어있는
피 주머니
단물 쓴물 쭉 다 빨아먹고
어디 숨었니?
진동을 하네 썩은 내가
어찌 판단하리 내가 너를
썩을 대로 썩은 내가
Why do you look at the speck of sawdust
in your brother’s eye
and pay no attention to the plank
in your own eye?
How can you say to your brother
‘Let me take the speck out of your eye
when all the time there is a plank
in your own eye?
Why do you look at the speck of sawdust
in your brother’s eye
and pay no attention to the plank
in your own eye?
How can you say to your brother
‘Let me take the speck out of your eye
when all the time there is a plank
in your own eye?

Don’t never ever let me down
귓가를 맴도네 너와 내가 달라도 있어줘
이대로 beside side me
Don’t forget don’t ever let me down
완벽은 우릴 편 가를 뿐
그 벽은 허물고
내 옆에 있어줘 beside me yeah

너의 부족함은 어쩌면 나의 거울이고
나 떠나지 않고 너와 어울리며
나 아름답게 살아갈거야

Don’t never ever let me down
귓가를 맴도네 너와 내가 달라도 있어줘
이대로 beside side me
Don’t forget don’t ever let me down
완벽은 우릴 편 가를 뿐
그 벽은 허물고
내 옆에 있어줘 beside me yeah

Beside Me

Don’t never ever let me down
Circling my ear, even though you and I are different, stay
Like this, beside me
Don’t forget don’t ever let me down
Perfection is just what will divide us
Tear down that wall
Stay by my side, beside me

Now without reason, I
reached the point where I’m criticized
Because of time, the false reason is
Made in the furrow of my brow
There is something that makes me wrinkle it
Continuously tired
In your heart, there’s a foundation
My happiness or pride
The expression makes me feel funny
If I were you, my face is
Might get quite red
With my lack of superpower and my inferiority complex
If my expression becomes hatred
My confidence regarding this world’s
fears will likely to expand
The things that I lack, I will,
rather than filling it up, other’s seniority
will be cursed out as I want or judge
Always come looking at it several times
Honestly, the seniority that they’ve got
And my thoughts,
Isn’t all that different but
But their seniority is their pride
We can’t ever be perfect
So that’s what makes us perfect
If you want change, you need to be discovered
A better and better you than yesterday
Need to keep learning forever
That’s how we acknowledge each other
It’s not wrong, we are all different

Don’t never ever let me down
Circling my ear, even though you and I are different, stay
Like this, beside side me
Don’t forget don’t ever let me down
Perfection is just what will divide us
Tear down that wall
Stay by my side, beside me

You are in the palms of my hands
The ground that you’re stepping on is the Earth
It’s my fault for making you, holding this cross
You’ve been stabbed in the back, no?
Ah, forget it, it hurts
Piercingly, I’ll put oil on my hands myself
This world is, for someone whose not breathing,
a blood bag
Sweet water, bitter water, suck it all and
where did you hide?
My rotten self is vibrating
How can I judge you
Rotting until I’m rotten
Why do you look at the speck of sawdust
in your brother’s eye
and pay no attention to the plank
in your own eye?
How can you say to your brother
‘Let me take the speck out of your eye
when all the time there is a plank
in your own eye?
Why do you look at the speck of sawdust
in your brother’s eye
and pay no attention to the plank
in your own eye?
How can you say to your brother
‘Let me take the speck out of your eye
when all the time there is a plank
in your own eye?

Don’t never ever let me down
Circling my ear, even though you and I are different, stay
Like this, beside side me
Don’t forget don’t ever let me down
Perfection is just what will divide us
Tear down that wall
Stay by my side, beside me

Your flaws might somehow be my mirror and
If you don’t leave me and get along with me
I’ll leave beautifully

Don’t never ever let me down
Circling my ear, even though you and I are different, stay
Like this, beside side me
Don’t forget don’t ever let me down
Perfection is just what will divide us
Tear down that wall
Stay by my side, beside me

Leave a Reply

