Jive Monkey Playlist: 8/12/16

It’s been over a week since I’ve returned from L.A. but I still have not adjusted back to East Coast time.  But I finally did get a chance to download some indie music that I’ve been waiting to listen to.  If this summer heat has got you feeling a bit sluggish, then these easy-going tracks might be up your alley.  They’re not lullabies meant to put you to sleep but rather provide a sense of calm and dose of romance.

Indie artist Standing Egg is back with another single.  Love songs usually tend to bring out melodies that illustrate a flurry of emotion but I like that this song has a calm atmosphere.  I love the imagery on the couple just looking at the stars in the desert as don’t you wish all your relationship was as awe-inspiring as this scene?

And yet, the melody has this dreamy quality where it feels like you are caught between being half asleep and half awake.  However, the steady strumming of the guitar seems to anchor the song.  The song may not totally unique or have remarkable lyrics but there is just the right amount of emotion in the track when you hear it all together.  It’s like Goldilocks, there’s not too much, there’s not too little but it is just right and just what I needed.

Standing Egg – 여름밤에 우린 (Summer Night, You and I)

스탠딩 에그(Standing Egg) – 여름밤에 우린

여름밤에 우린

You will always be my girl
I promise you
I will be on your side

움직이지 말아줘
눈에 담고 있으니까
작은 표정 하나하나
맘에 담고 싶으니까

꿈을 꾸는듯한 눈부신 오늘 밤
별빛이 가득한 너의 눈을 본 순간
난 알아버렸지 지금 우리 사이
세상에서 가장 특별해 baby

별이 가득한 여름밤에 우린
눈부시게 아름다운 그림
모든 게 다 바래고 지워져도
간직하고 있을게

내 눈을 보면서 너는 어떤 생각해
나는 너를 보면서 또 너를 생각해
넌 알 수 있겠니 지금 우리 사이
세상에서 가장 특별해 baby

별이 가득한 여름밤에 우린
눈부시게 아름다운 그림
모든 게 다 바래고 지워져도
간직하고 있을게

baby 누가 뭐래도 영원토록 우린
이 세상에 하나뿐인 그림
모든 게 다 바래고 지워져도
간직하고 있을게

간직하고 있을게

Summer Night, You and I

You will always be my girl
I promise you
I will be on your side

Please don’t move
Because I’m taking in the sight of you
Each small expression, one by one
Because I want to keep them in my heart

It’s like I’m dreaming, radiant tonight
The moment I see your eyes, full of starlight
I knew it, the relationship between us
The most special in this world, baby

Full of stars, on this summer night, you and I
Radiantly beautiful picture
Even though everything fades and erases
I will treasure it

As you look in my eyes, what are you thinking of?
As I look at you, I think of you again
Will you know what our relationship is now?
The most special in this world, baby

Full of stars, on this summer night, you and I
Radiantly beautiful picture
Even though everything fades and erases
I will treasure it

Baby, no matter what anyone says, forever we are
The only picture of its kind in this world
Even though everything fades and erases
I will treasure it

I will treasure it

_____________________________________________________

When I was out in LA, I was part of the “Uncovering Korean Indie Music” panel.  Korean Indie’s Chris Park and I briefly got a chance to talk about Big Phony’s latest album.  At the time, I had gotten my Kickstarter notification that I could download the album but I actually didn’t get a chance to do so until I came back home to NY.  Chris mentions how he likes a number of songs on the album and relay the Beatle-esque quality to some of the tracks.  So when I finally got a chance to download it, I was delighted to see that he was right.

So I first discovered Big Phony through another friend of mine whom I previously posted about on this blog.  Months ago, my friend asked all his Facebook friends if we could support Big Phony’s new album through Kickstarter, similar to the way we supported him.  (Funny how these social media apps bring people together, right?)  I listened to some of the videos that were on the page and really liked his music.  And that’s pretty much all it took for me to crowdfund the album.  And then, shortly afterwards, I downloaded the 6th SUM Greenplugged compilation album and discovered that Big Phony released a song for that album called “WE ARE OF THE SAME KIND”.  So I had even more to look forward to.

The song I’m featuring is called “This Might Be Love” and while it’s not a new song because he previously performed this song in front of an audience a while back, this song is definitely influenced by the Beatles, a mix of “And I Love Her” and “All You Need Is Love”.  And maybe a bit of The Shins.  The first half of the song is expressing his uncertainties about his own feelings.  However, I love that halfway through the song, there is a beat change and a change of attitude.  If he is feeling the emotions of love, he projects what that relationship would look like in his eyes and it’s quite sweet.  I had to transcribe the song, which is in English, while listening to the album so let me know if there are any errors in the lyrics below.


Big Phony – This Might Be Love

This Might Be Love

This might be love
This might be love
But I lived so long without it, love
This might be love
But I’m never sure about it

Too much, too late
I don’t get it
It seems simple enough
But I always get stuck
At the part where you walk out

Could this be love?
Could this be it?
Don’t know too much about this stuff
A perfect fit
But I’m always scared to go for it

Too much, too late
I don’t get it
It seems simple enough
But I always get stuck
At the part where you walk out

There is so many problems
Do we really want them?
How could we just fall out? (out)

Bah bah bah bah
Bah bah bah bah bah~
Bah bah bah
Yeah, yeah

Bah bah bah bah
Bah bah bah bah bah~
Bah bah bah
Yeah, yeah

Yeah, yeah, yeah
Yeah, yeah, yeah
Yeah, yeah, love, love, love

If this could be love,
I want to be more than friends
If this could be love,
I don’t know how it would end (no, yeah~)
If this could be love,
I’m almost too many steps behind

Yeah, love~
Yeah, love~
Yeah, no
Yeah, yeah, yeah
Yeah, yeah, yeah
Yeah, yeah, love, love, love

As for us, I don’t get it
Seems simple enough
But I always get stuck
At the part where you walk out
So many problems
Could we really solve them?
How could we just fall out?
Could this be love?
Oh, I can’t, again
But maybe it’s not
Or maybe it’s true
Oh, love, love, love, love~

Leave a Reply

