Jive Monkey Playlist: 8/19/16

You’d think that with all these idols releasing albums, singles and the like, it would be an exciting week in K-Pop but I’ve been feeling very meh about it all.  I’m just beginning to get excited again as we close out this week but more on that later.  However, there does appear theme this week.  It’s all about the tough YG ladies.

The ladies of BLACKPINK, whose style resembles that of their senior labelmate, 2NE1, have made their debut.  It’s the first girl group to debut under YG in 7 years and the four members are Ji Soo, Jennie, Rosé and Lisa.  The group seems to have a global feel as the members either studied abroad or grew up in different countries such as: South Korea, New Zealand, Australia and Thailand.

However, it was the dance cover video below that initially made me excited for their debut.  As much as I enjoy cutesy girl groups as the next person, there does not seem to be enough strong, opinionated female figures in the K-Pop world.  At least, visually.

Dancing Parris Goebel’s powerful choreography to the remix version of Rihanna’s “Bitch Better Have My Money”, they may not have had the same number of dancers as Royal Family dance crew but I think the group slayed with a powerhouse of strength and sex appeal.

So when their single came out, I excitedly listened to “붐바야 (Boombayah)” first.  The beat was strong and catchy and the attitudes were fierce.  However, I don’t know what it is exactly.  Even today, I’m still trying to pinpoint what it is that made me feel a bit… disappointed?  I mean, the song is great and I’ve been repeatedly playing it on my playlist but I couldn’t help but feel a sense of déjà vu?

I get that 2NE1 paved the way and even when they debuted, I hemmed and hawed a bit. Perhaps, I was too distracted by Sandara’s antenna hair?  Ha.  However, they didn’t become the powerhouse girl group they became without mixing it up by trying new and old things before finding their own niche.  To me, I think BLACKPINK just need to bite the bullet and go through their growing pains.

So while “붐바야 (Boombayah)” is more my style of music, I decided to feature “휘파람 (Whistle)” instead.  This track still makes me think of 2NE1, especially the bridge, but there are a lot of creative elements that producer, Teddy, has added to the track.  I love the use of the water drop sound effect that adds a light but playful layer to the beat.  The rap also seems to whimsically tease the listener while the solid vocals round it out by giving it firm framework.  It won’t be easy to get that hook out of your head.

BLACKPINK – 휘파람

휘파람

Hey boy
Make ‘em whistle like a missile
bomb bomb
Every time I show up blow up (uh)
Make ‘em whistle like a missile
bomb bomb
Every time I show up blow up (uh)
넌 너무 아름다워
널 잊을 수가 없어
그 눈빛이 아직 나를
이렇게 설레게 해 boom boom
24 365
오직 너와 같이 하고파
낮에도 이 밤에도
이렇게 너를 원해 ooh ooh
모든 남자들이 날 매일 check out
대부분이 날 가질 수 있다 착각
절대 많은 걸 원치 않아
맘을 원해 난
넌 심장을 도려내 보여봐
아주 씩씩하게 때론 chic chic 하게
So hot so hot 내가 어쩔 줄 모르게 해
나지막이 불러줘
내 귓가에 도는 휘파람처럼

이대로 지나치지 마요
너도 나처럼 날 잊을 수가 없다면 WHOA
널 향한 이 마음은 Fire
내 심장이 빠르게 뛰잖아
점점 가까이 들리잖아

휘파람
UH 휘 파람 파람 파람 (can you hear that)
휘 파라파라 파라 밤
휘파람
UH 휘 파람 파람 파람 (can you hear that)
휘 파라파라 파라 밤

Hold up
아무 말 하지 마
Just whistle to my heart
그 소리가 지금 나를
이렇게 설레게 해 boom boom
생각은 지루해
느낌이 shhh!
Every day all day
내 곁에만 있어줘 zoom zoom
Uh 언제나 난 stylin’
도도하지만 네 앞에선 darlin’
뜨거워지잖아 like a desert island
너 알아갈수록
울려대는 마음속
그만 내빼 넘어와라 내게 boy
이젠 checkmate
게임은 내가 win (uh-huh)
난 널 택해 안아줘 더 세게
누가 널 가로 채
가기 전에 내가 (uh)
이대로 지나치지 마요
너도 나처럼 날 잊을 수가 없다면 WHOA
널 향한 이 마음은 Fire
내 심장이 빠르게 뛰잖아
점점 가까이 들리잖아

휘파람
UH 휘 파람 파람 파람 (can you hear that)
휘 파라파라 파라 밤
휘파람
UH 휘 파람 파람 파람 (can you hear that)
휘 파라파라 파라 밤
This beat got me feelin’ like

바람처럼 스쳐가는
흔한 인연이 아니길
많은 말은 필요 없어
지금 너의 곁에
나를 데려가 줘 ohh
Make ‘em whistle like a missile
bomb bomb
Every time I show up blow up (uh)
Make ‘em whistle like a missile
bomb bomb
Every time I show up blow up (uh)

Whistle

Hey boy
Make ‘em whistle like a missile
bomb bomb
Every time I show up blow up (uh)
Make ‘em whistle like a missile
bomb bomb
Every time I show up blow up (uh)
You’re really beautiful
I can’t forget you
That look, still makes me
Nervous like this, boom boom
24 365
I only want to be with you
Even during the day, even tonight
I want you like this, ooh ooh
All the guys to me, every day, check out
Most of them assume they can have me
Don’t ever want a lot of things,
I want your heart
Show that you want to cut a piece of your heart
Completely valiantly, sometimes chic chic
So hot so hot, so that I won’t know what to do
Call me rather softly
Like a whistle going ‘round my ear

Don’t be excessive like this
Like me, if you can’t forget me, WHOA
My feelings for you, Fire
My heart beats fast
Hear it getting closer and closer

Whistle
UH, Hwi-pa-ram*,pa-ram, pa-ram (can you hear that)
Hwi-pa-ra-pa-ra, pa-ra-bam
Whistle
UH, Hwi-pa-ram,pa-ram, pa-ram (can you hear that)
Hwi-pa-ra-pa-ra, pa-ra-bam

Hold up
Don’t say anything
Just whistle to my heart
That sound makes me now
Nervous like this, boom boom
Thoughts are boring
Feelings, shhh!
Every day all day
Just stay by my side, zoom zoom
Uh, always I’m stylin’
Might be stuck up but in front of you, darlin’
Becomes hot, like a desert island
The more I get to know you,
pulsating my inner feelings
Stop taking off, come over to me, boy,
now checkmate
Games, I win (uh-huh)
I choose you, hug me more tightly
Who’s gonna take you away?
Before you leave (uh)
Please don’t pass me by like this
Like me, if you can’t forget me, WHOA
My feelings for you, Fire
My heart beats fast
Hear it getting closer and closer

Whistle
UH, Hwi-pa-ram,pa-ram, pa-ram (can you hear that)
Hwi-pa-ra-pa-ra, pa-ra-bam
Whistle
UH, Hwi-pa-ram,pa-ram, pa-ram (can you hear that)
Hwi-pa-ra-pa-ra, pa-ra-bam
This beat got me feelin’ like

Like the wind brushing past
Hope that it’s not an ordinary connection
There’s no need for a lot of words
Right now, by your side
Take me with you, ohh
Make ‘em whistle like a missile
bomb bomb
Every time I show up blow up (uh)
Make ‘em whistle like a missile
bomb bomb
Every time I show up blow up (uh)

_____________________________________________________

While the hoobaes are doing their thing for the K-Pop scene, sunbae CL has finally released a single from her American album.  I was actually worried that I wouldn’t have enough time to listen to the track before writing this week’s post but it came just in time.  I’m always wary when I read articles saying that this or that K-Pop artist is going to take America by storm.  And frankly, I don’t include Psy in this assessment either other than to say that for most people in the US, he’s probably just a one-hit wonder.  There may be a lot of reasons why K-Pop artists haven’t been able to conquer the American Pop scene and this might prompt me to write a separate post about it but I’m always optimistic when an artist I like makes their attempt to broaden their fanbase.

At the moment, I’m just lovin’ and groovin’ to CL’s “Lifted”.  The track partially reminds me CL’s own style, Teddy’s style and somewhat like MIA as well.  Filmed in NYC, it’s hard for me not to feel a sense of familiarity as it has this new wave New York vibe with its own brand of street chic, sexiness and general female badass-ery.  So back off my cloud nine and don’t get between me and my 40 and my shorty.  Just saying.

CL (2NE1) – LIFTED

Lifted

Hey you, get off my cloud,
You don’t know me and you don’t know my style
Getting lifted, never come down
Getting lifted, unh,
Getting dumb on the drum,
Rum pum pum pum pum
Better run where I come, whatta bomb bomb
Sippin’ on coke and rum getting’ so crunk
Everyone wonderin’, where she come from?
Got gold on my necklace, gold on my wrist
Gals getting mad cause the boys wanna kiss
Fast with the cash I just throw it in the bag
Everything I wanna have,
well I think you get the gist

Upside downside, inside outside,
Hitting you from every angle there’s no doubt,
Poetry in motion, coast to coast and,
Rub it in your skin like lotion, lotion

I got myself a 40, I got myself a shorty
And I’m about to go get lifted,
Yes, I’m about to go get lifted
I got myself a 40, I got myself a shorty
And I’m about to go get lifted,
Yes, I’m about to go get lifted

H-U-F-F, Huff and I puff,
Blow like snow when the cold wind’s blowing
Zoom, I hit the mic like boom
Raw dust on my body, like to hear it hear it go
Style will hit you, WAM! then goddamn
You be like, oh shit that’s the jam,
Turn it up, now hear me get buck wild
I’m about to blow, light me up

Upside downside, inside outside,
Hitting you from every angle there’s no doubt,
Poetry in motion, coast to coast and,
Rub it in your skin like lotion, lotion

I got myself a 40, I got myself a shorty
And I’m about to go get lifted,
Yes, I’m about to go get lifted
I got myself a 40, I got myself a shorty
And I’m about to go get lifted,
Yes, I’m about to go get lifted

Hey you, get off my cloud,
You don’t know me and you don’t know my style
Getting lifted, never come down
Getting lifted, never come down
Hey you, get off my cloud,
You don’t know me and you don’t know my style
Getting lifted, never come down
Getting lifted, never come down

I got myself a 40, I got myself a shorty
And I’m about to go get lifted,
Yes, I’m about to go get lifted
I got myself a 40, I got myself a shorty
And I’m about to go get lifted,
Yes, I’m about to go get lifted

Leave a Reply

