Jive Monkey Playlist: 8/26/16

What is it about love that makes us question ourselves?  Does it get any easier the older we get?  Today’s playlist, here are a few bittersweet tracks about young people who are just trying to figure out who they are and what love is.

Ailee just recently released the single, “If You”.  As summer is now winding down, it was this track that just seemed to strike a chord with me with its gospel/R&B sound.  We all know that Ailee is known for her powerhouse voice but her more popular hits tend to be song in which she’s this strong, independent woman.

I like that we get to see a more tender side to Ailee with “If You” as it depicts a woman who has her doubts even if a good guy comes along.  There are no guarantees when it comes to love but if you don’t take a chance, you will always wonder what it could have been.

에일리(Ailee) – If You

If You

일하는 사이 사이마다
니 생각이 나
건널목 앞에 설 때마다
난 너만 떠올라

Wooh 너란 공기는
내 숨이 가쁘게
그렇게 사라져 가

If you 내 사랑이 100이었다면
그 반을 남겨놓지 않았으면
내 곁에 아직까지 있을까
사랑은 하고 있을까

우린다 주고 싶지 않아서가 아니었어 난
다만 시간이 필요했어

몇 번의 이별에
다친 내 기억에 다 주기 겁이 났어

If you 만약 내 사랑이 100이었다면
Wooh 그 반을 남겨놓지 않았으면
내 곁에 아직까지 있을까
사랑은 하고 있을까

우린맘 속에 숨겨 둔 반쪽의 사랑
반까지 마저 꺼내 줄 수 있어 이제는
돌아와 줘 오늘은

If you 만약 내 사랑이 100이었다면
Wooh 그 반을 남겨놓지 않았으면
내 곁에 아직까지 있을까
사랑은 하고 있을까

우린너란 곳에 살아보니까
다른 곳에서는 단 하루도
난 나로 살 수 없는 걸 안 되는 걸

다시 또 사랑한다면 그때도 니가 아니면
사랑은 못 해 나는

If You

In between working
I think of you
Whenever I stand in front of the crosswalk
Only you come to mind

Wooh, you are the air
That makes it hard to breathe for me
Just like that, you disappear

If you, if my love was 100
If I didn’t leave that half
Would you still be by my side?
Would we still be in love?

It wasn’t that I didn’t want to give you everything
But I just needed time

The many breakups
That hurt my memories, I was afraid to give all

If you, by chance if my love was 100
Wooh, if I didn’t leave that half
Would you still be by my side?
Would we still be in love?

The other half of love hidden in my heart
I can now take out and give you the remaining half
Come back to me, today is

If you, by chance if my love was 100
Wooh, if I didn’t leave that half
Would you still be by my side?
Would we still be in love?

Having lived in a place called you
Even for one day in a different place
I won’t be able to live as myself

If I love again, even then if it’s not you
I won’t be able to love

_____________________________________________________

You know, I don’t really know who Han Dong Geun is.  I’ve seen him on a few variety shows.  I knew that he was Star Audition: The Great Birth 3 and more recently, I actually heard him sing when he was on King of the Masked Singer.

I was a little surprised to see his single rising rapidly on the chart so I decided to give it a listen and I have to admit that I was taken with his mellow but powerful voice.  He wouldn’t have won on The Great Birth if he wasn’t, right?  However, I thought he’d end up being a faceless singer, singing a bunch of OST tracks for dramas.  Perhaps, he’s just not being marketed to his full potential by his management company, Pledis Entertainment.  Perhaps it’s his appearance on Duet Song Festival but recently, he has been catching people’s attention.

Whatever it is, he’s got my attention.  The track “그대라는 사치 (The Fancy You)” is quite an interesting song because the music video has this coming-of-age movie feel to it.  The song lyrics is only one layer to the song and it wasn’t until I saw the video that I realized the track doesn’t capture the whole story.  Even the English title of the song, at least the way they translate it, is a bit misleading.  사치 (sa-chi) can mean amazing but a better fit is something that is luxurious or extravagant.  In regards to this song, it’s meant to illustrate a girl who is out of the guy’s league.  I think what is even more heartbreaking is that the guy is in love his friend’s girl which just makes this story complicated and sad.  And that’s exactly what you hear in Han Dong Geun’s voice.

한동근 – 그대라는 사치

그대라는 사치

그림 같은 집이 뭐 별거겠어요
어느 곳이든 그대가 있다면
그게 그림이죠

빛나는 하루가 뭐 별거겠어요
어떤 하루던 그대 함께라면
뭐가 필요하죠

나 그대가 있지만
힘든 세상이 아니라
힘든 세상 이지만
곁에 그대가 있음을 깨닫고
또 감사해요 또 기도해요
내 곁에서 변치 않고
영원하길 기도 드리죠

무려 우리 함께 눈뜨는 아침과
매일 그댈 만나 돌아오는 집 앞
나 만의 그대, 나의 그대,
내겐 사치라는걸

과분한 입맞춤에 취해 잠이 드는 일
그래 사치, 그댄 사치, 내겐 사치

행복이란 말이 뭐 별거겠어요
그저 그대의 잠꼬대 마저 날
기쁘게 하는데

사랑이란 말이 뭐 별거겠어요
그저 이렇게 보고만 있어도
입에서 맴돌죠

나 그대가 있지만
거친 세상이 아니라
거친 세상 이지만
내겐 그대가 있음을 깨닫고
또 다짐하죠 또 약속하죠
그대 곁에 변치않고
영원하길 약속할게요

무려 우리 함께 눈뜨는 아침과
매일 그댈 만나 돌아오는 집 앞
나 만의 그대, 나의 그대,
내겐 사치 라는걸

과분한 입맞춤에 취해 잠이 드는 일
그래 사치, 그댄 사치, 내겐 사치

내가 상상하고 꿈꾸던 사람 그대
정말 사랑하고 있다고 나 말 할 수 있어서
믿을 수 없어, 정말 믿을 수 없어
내가 어떻게 내가 감히
사랑할 수 있는지 말야

무려 우리 함께 잠드는 이 밤과
매일 나를 위해 차려진 이 식탁
나 만의 그대, 나의 그대,
내겐 사치 라는걸

과분한 입맞춤에 취해 잠이 드는 일
그래 사치, 그댄 사치, 내겐 사치

The Fancy You

A house like a painting, what’s so special about it?
Wherever it is, if you are there
That’s a painting

A shining day, what’s so special about it?
Whatever day it is, if I’m together with you
What else do I need?

I have you so
It’s not a harsh world
But it’s a harsh world
When I realize that you are beside me
Again I thank you and again I pray
Without changing, by my side
I pray that it lasts forever

With the morning where we fully open our eyes
After returning home from seeing you every day
My only you, my you,
To me, you’re fancy

With a generous kiss and drunk asleep
Yeah fancy, your fancy, to me fancy

Saying that you’re happy, what’s so special about it?
But even you talking in your sleep
Makes me happy

Saying that I love you, what’s so special about it?
But even just looking at you like this
It circles my lips

I have you so
It’s not a rough world
But it’s a rough world
When I realize that you are beside me
Again I pledge and again I promise
Without changing, by your side
I promise that it’ll be forever

With the morning where we fully open our eyes
After returning home from seeing you every day
My only you, my you,
To me, you’re fancy

With a generous kiss and drunk asleep
Yeah fancy, your fancy, to me fancy

You, the person I imagined and dreamt of
That I can tell you I really love you
Can’t believe it, I really can’t believe it
How can I, how dare I
That I can love you

With the evening where we sleep together
The dining table set every day for me
My only you, my you,
To me, you’re fancy

With a generous kiss and drunk asleep
Yeah fancy, your fancy, to me fancy

Bonus!  I didn’t originally intend to write about another song but felt that this was fitting. On top of Han Dong Geun releasing a new single, his debut track from two years ago has also made its way back on the charts again. Even hitting number 1.

As much as today’s theme seem to be about young love, heartbreak and just finding yourself, it doesn’t seem to get any easier when you’re older.  The song’s lyrics, “이 소설의 끝을 다시 써보려해 (Want to Rewrite the Ending to This Novel Again)”, made me think of the drama, W, which I’ve been obsessed about.  Our characters are all thinking if they could just rewrite the story and create a happy ending, all will be well again in both the real world and the webtoon world.  We all know that the drama isn’t planning on making things easy for our characters.  However, even like these lyrics, I love that glimmer of hope that’s reflected in the song.  If you look past the pain and the regret, there’s the hope of a second chance and that’s pretty darn sweet.

한동근 – 이 소설의 끝을 다시 써보려 해

이 소설의 끝을 다시 써보려해

시계가 반대로 돌아가고 있어
TV속 영화가 되감아지고 있어
내렸던 빗물이 올라가고 있어
잊었던 기억이 돌아오고 있어
도로 위에 차들이 반대로 달리고
온 세상의 모든 게 다 거꾸로 움직여
지금 나는 계속 반대로 뒷걸음질 치며
그날의 너에게 돌아가고 있어

운명 같은 만남 너무 아픈 결말
난 이 소설의 끝을 다시 써보려 해
내 한 권의 사랑 마지막 장면엔
니가 있어야 해 그래야 말이 되니까

한 장씩 한 장씩 뒤로 넘겨 지며
아팠던 일기가 지워지고 있어
가루 낸 사진이 모여들고 있어
버렸던 미련이 돌아오고 있어
삼켰던 내 눈물이 다시 뱉어지고
뱉었던 그 모진 말은 다시 삼켜지고
지금 나는 계속 반대로 뒷걸음질 치며
그날의 너에게 돌아가고 있어

운명 같은 만남 너무 아픈 결말
난 이 소설의 끝을 다시 써보려 해
내 한 권의 사랑 마지막 장면엔
니가 있어야 해 그래야 말이 돼
여기야, 우리가 이별한 슬픈 페이지
내 앞에서 니가 서서 울고 있어

너에게 묻고 싶어 너만 괜찮다면
난 이 소설의 끝을 다시 써보려 해
내 한 권의 사랑 마지막 장면엔
니가 있어야 해 그래야 말이 되니까

Want to Rewrite the Ending to This Novel Again

The clock is going backwards
The movie on the TV is rewinding
The fallen rainwater is going up
The forgotten memories are coming back to me
The cars on the road are going in reverse
Everything in this world is going backwards
As I now keep stepping backwards
I want to go back to you that day

That fateful meeting, the painful conclusion
I want to rewrite the end of this novel again
My one volume of love, in the last scene,
You have to be there, so that’s how it’d make sense

Page by page, flipping it back
The painful diary erases
The pictures I crushed are being put back together
The feelings I threw away are coming back
The tears I swallowed are being spit back up again
Those biting words I spat, I swallow them up again
As I now keep stepping backwards
I want to go back to you that day

That fateful meeting, the painful conclusion
I want to rewrite the end of this novel again
My one volume of love, in the last scene,
You have to be there, so that’s how it’d make sense
It’s here, the sad page where we broke up
You are crying standing in front of me

I want to ask you, if it’s okay with you
I want to rewrite the end of this novel again
My one volume of love, in the last scene,
You have to be there, so that’s how it’d make sense

Leave a Reply

