Jive Monkey Playlist: 9/16/16

There are just some artists that I have to be in the mood to listen to.  Sometimes it’s their bubble gum pop style that’s just too perky for my sarcastic personality.  Other times, it might be their provocative persona as an artist that distracts from making them just another sexy artist to one that’s innovative.  And yet, I like these artists.  It’s just that the timing and the mood has to be just right.

When Red Velvet first came out with “Ice Cream Cake,” it took me a long time to get used to it.  Even to this day, I find the song cute and I’ll sing along to it but it’s not a song that I’ll really like.  When I finally did get past their title track, I got a chance to listen to the other songs and see that they are not only great singers but they have great harmony.  To me, Red Velvet seems like an amalgamation of Girls’ Generation with their sweet image but f(x) as well, with their eccentric, electronic style.  And as I began to open myself up more and more to this group, I began to appreciate their music.

It’s been awhile since they put out an album so I was eager to hear this one when it came out.  One of the first songs I listened to was actually “Lucky Girl” as I typically shuffle my playlist.  I loved the catchy, retro Andrews’ Sisters vibe of the song and I was originally going to feature it in this week’s playlist as well.  However, I realized that the lyrics made them sound very dependent.  Lyrics like, “Give up your friends, I wanna be next to you all night long,” “All I wanna do is be your girl,” and “I’ll be your lucky girl.”  It’s the 21st Century and I think SM Entertainment’s lyricist Kenzie, who is a woman, could have done a far better job with these, frankly, tasteless lyrics, in my opinion.

However, I do like their title track, “러시안 룰렛 (Russian Roulette)”.  It’s a catchy song with game sound effects that add that layer of quirkiness.  Unlike “Lucky Girl,” “Russian Roulette” is about the risks of relationship which seems far more relatable.  You either pull the trigger on a relationship or you don’t.  So are you in or are you out?

Red Velvet(레드벨벳) – 러시안 룰렛 (Russian Roulette)

러시안 룰렛 (Russian Roulette)

La-La-La-La-La

날카로운 Secret 둘러싼 얘긴 베일 속에
점점 더 깊은 H-H-Hush 맘을 겨눠 이제
여긴 온통 어두운 밤 하늘색
그림자조차 길을 잃게 해

Oh 넌 항상 Love is game
쉽게 즐기는 가벼움일 뿐이라고
뭐 이렇게 못된 얘기로 자꾸
피해 가려고만 하니 왜
커지는 Heart B-B-Beat 빨라지는데
너답지 않게 Heart B-B-B-Beat 거려 나를 볼 때
마지막 남은 순간까지 점점 다가오지 Crazy
아찔하게 겨눈 러시안 룰렛
Ah-Ah-Ah-Yeah
La-La-La-La-La-
Heart B-B-B-Beat
넌 이미 마지막 남은 순간까지
내게 맡기게 될 거야 넌
달콤한 너의 러시안 룰렛

반짝인 Secret 더 이상 외면하진 못 해
버튼은 내가 P-P-Push 받아들여 이제
네 맘 온통 내 모습 채워지게
꿈 꿀 때조차 나를 찾게 돼

Oh 아직 넌 Love is game
내게 말해도 흔들려 네 목소리도
장난스레 스친 눈빛 너머로
어쩔 줄 모르는 네 모습

커지는 Heart B-B-Beat 빨라지는데
너답지 않게 Heart B-B-B-Beat 거려 나를 볼 때
마지막 남은 순간까지 점점 다가오지 Crazy
아찔하게 겨눈 러시안 룰렛
Ah-Ah-Ah-Yeah
La-La-La-La-La-
Heart B-B-B-Beat
넌 이미 마지막 남은 순간까지
내게 맡기게 될 거야 넌
달콤한 너의 러시안 룰렛

이토록 깊은 꿈이 넌 처음일 걸
내 맘이 이 밤이 아른거리는 Game
You can’t control

커지는 Heart B-B-Beat 빨라지는데
터질듯한 Heart B-B-B-Beat
Key는 내가 쥘게
마지막 남은 순간까지 점점 다가오지 Crazy
아찔하게 겨눈 러시안 룰렛
Ah-Ah-Ah-Yeah
La-La-La-La-La-
Heart B-B-B-Beat
마침내 빼낼 수도 없게 박혀
네 심장 더 깊은 곳
달콤한 너의 러시안 룰렛

커지는 Heart B-B-Beat 빨라지는데
La-La-La-La-La-
커지는 Heart B-B-Beat 빨라지는데
La-La-La-La-La-
Heart B-B-B-Beat

Russian Roulette

La-La-La-La-La

Sensitive Secret, within the veil of the surrounding talk
A bit more deeply, H-H-Hush feelings taking aim, now
The color of the whole sky here is a dark night
Even the shadows lose their way

Oh, you always like, Love is game
You say it’s just light and something to be easily enjoyed
Why do you keep saying these bad things?
Why are you avoiding me?
Growing bigger, Heart B-B-Beat, getting faster
Not like you, Heart B-B-Beat, when you see me
Until the last moment, getting closer, Crazy
Taking a risky aim, Russian Roulette
Ah-Ah-Ah-Yeah
La-La-La-La-La-
Heart B-B-B-Beat
You’ve already, until the last moment,
You’ll leave it to me
Sweet, I’m your Russian Roulette

Dazzling Secret, can’t look away anymore
The button, I’ll P-P-Push, accept it now
So that your heart can totally be filled with me
You’ll look for me even when you’re dreaming

Oh, you’re still like, Love is game
Even your voice shakes when you talk to me
Past those playful stares
The look of you not knowing what to do

Growing bigger, Heart B-B-Beat, getting faster
Not like you, Heart B-B-Beat, when you see me
Until the last moment, getting closer, Crazy
Taking a risky aim, Russian Roulette
Ah-Ah-Ah-Yeah
La-La-La-La-La-
Heart B-B-B-Beat
You’ve already, until the last moment,
You’ll leave it to me
Sweet, I’m your Russian Roulette

The first time you’ve had a deep dream like this
My heart and this night is a flickering game
You can’t control

Growing bigger, Heart B-B-Beat, getting faster
Like it’ll burst, Heart B-B-B-Beat
I’ll give you the Key
Until the last moment, getting closer, Crazy
Taking a risky aim, Russian Roulette
Ah-Ah-Ah-Yeah
La-La-La-La-La-
Heart B-B-B-Beat
At last, it’s engrained in you, can’t take it out
Deeper in your heart
Sweet, I’m your Russian Roulette

Growing bigger, Heart B-B-Beat, getting faster
La-La-La-La-La-
Growing bigger, Heart B-B-Beat, getting faster
La-La-La-La-La-
Heart B-B-B-Beat

_____________________________________________________

It looks like that Gain has been trying new and different things with her music lately.  Her latest mini album has a decidedly musical-esque sound to it.  Instead of just singing, it feels like there is a dialogue going on.

I was quite surprised by the song “반딧불이의 숲 (The Firefly’s Forest)” as it is a bittersweet song.  The lyrics depicts a woman who wants to end a relationship before she falls any deeper.  The forest represents love and she is the firefly.  A part of the lyrics seem to indicate how the relationship is changing her for good but there’s the fear that what is good won’t last.  So in order to maintain control, she’s the one that’s going to say goodbye.

Gain co-wrote the lyrics to this song that you can’t help but wonder if the metaphors represent her inner most feelings as she views her relationship with Joo Ji Hoon.  It’s not that I’m saying that this is proof that they’re gonna break up or she’s somehow unsatisfied with the relationship.  Rather, it sounds like that she regards the relationship as precious and she’s afraid that she or some other force might mess it up.  It’s quite human to be insecure and it’s quite brave that she can be refreshingly honest as she shows us her vulnerabilities.

Gain –반딧불이의 숲 (The Firefly’s Forest)

가인 – 반딧불이의 숲

반딧불이의 숲

아무도 본 적 없는 내 숲으로
그대 걸어 들어온 여름
알고 있었나요 몰래 만들고 싶은 비밀

감은 눈에 머물던 부드러운 숨
그대 몸이 스치는 소리
익숙해진 마지막이란 말 조차
좋아요

나는 없었죠 그냥 바람이고 물이었죠
그대가 만들었죠 나라는 공간을
깊은 어둠 속
녹아 내릴 것 같은 순간에
그대가 꺼내준 내 몸 안의 불빛

굿바이 바람이 되기 전에
젖은 그 입술에 포개고 싶은 말 굿바이
아침이 오는 소리에 난 겁이 나죠

하얀 등에 맴도는 떨리던 손
그대 날 놀리던 감정들
언제까지 내게 머무르지 않아도
나는 좋아요

굿바이 눈물이 되기 전에
닿은 그대 품에 새기고 싶은 말
굿바이

굿바이 이젠 보내줄게
슬픈 이 불빛이 사라지기 전에
굿바이

The Firefly’s Forest

To my forest, which nobody has seen
You walk in, summer has arrived
Did you know? That I want to secretly make a secret

With my eyes closed, your soft breath lingering
The sound of your body brushing past
Even getting used to words saying it’s the end
I like it

I wasn’t there, it was just the wind and the waters
You’ve created it, a space that’s me
In the depths of darkness,
that moment when it feels like it’ll melt down
You’ve brought out the light from my body

Goodbye, before I become the wind
Saying I want to be on top of those wet lips, goodbye
The sound of morning coming, I’m afraid

The trembling hands circling your white back
Those feelings in which you teased me
How long until you won’t stay with me
I like it

Goodbye, before tears form
Words that I want to reach your heart
Goodbye

Goodbye, now I’ll send you off
Before this sad light extinguishes
Goodbye

Leave a Reply

