Jive Monkey Playlist: 9/23/16

It’s been almost two years since the boys of 2PM were performing together as a group.  You’d think they were in the army or something, which is going to happen in the coming years.  But no, the boys were busy working on their solo projects and now I’m glad to see them back together again.  They’re the fun, party animals you always want to have at your house party.

I was surprised that they decided to go with a slow song as their main title track, “Promise (I’ll Be),” as I tend to prefer their upbeat tracks.  I mean, I still can’t resist singing, “미친거 아니야? (Isn’t this Crazy?)” at karaoke and it’s still a lot of fun.  Quite the crowd pleaser as well as you can’t help but not get up off your feet and go… well, crazy.

I think that’s why I took to the fun and yet sweet track, “어때? (How About It?)”.  It’s a funky, rhythmic song that gets you tapping your feet.  However, I think what’s striking about the lyrics is that there are almost no spaces between the words, especially when you’re reading it in Korean.  To me, it reads like a stream of consciousness.  Like, ‘I like you I wanna take you out Let’s go have fun,’ said excitedly in one breath.  Because if you like someone, what’s stopping you from going after it, amiright?

2PM – 어때? (How About It?)

2PM – 어때?

*설렘을조심해줘 / 생각보다더기쁠수있게 = Be careful of getting excited / So that you can get happier than you originally though – The lines are accurately translated below but the meaning of these lines are about managing expectations.  Don’t get too excited, too quickly so that you’re not disappointed by what they are lacking but they’ll try their best.

어때?

누가또괴롭혀참나빠
착하디착한널왜못살게굴어
오늘하루다내려놔
가볍게바람이나쐬러가자
선선한노을지는저녁되면
그때거기서 만나자
바쁜하루하루속에
아주잠깐일뿐이지만
같이하고싶어 oh
어디갈래?말해바래왔던
나랑갈래? 내가데려갈게
바람좋은오늘날씨엔
한잔 어때?
오늘온도완벽해
오늘기분완벽해
우리둘이완벽해 Cause U
오늘부터너랑나말고
우리어때?
갑자기떠나고싶을땐
언제든문자보내아무도몰래
혹시울고싶을때면전화해
설렘을조심해줘
생각보다더기쁠수있게
준비할게 Everyday oh yeh
나를믿고따라와줘
어디든꽃길로만들거야
널위해서내감정을다쏟을거야
내하루를다쏟을거야
너에게만나를맡길꺼야
어디갈래? 데려갈게!
기분좋은오늘날씨엔
어디면어때
어디갈래? 말해바래왔던
나랑갈래? 내가데려갈게
바람좋은오늘날씨엔
한잔 어때?
오늘온도완벽해
오늘기분완벽해
우리둘이완벽해 Cause U
오늘부터너랑나말고
우리 어때?
한잔 어때?

How About It?

Who’s bothering you again? Really bad
Are they nice? Why are they being harsh to the nice you?
Leave it for just today
Let’s go out and get some air
When it becomes a refreshing sunset evening
Let’s meet there then
Within a busy day
Might be for a brief moment
Want to share it with you, oh
Wanna go somewhere? Tell me, that I hoped for
Wanna go with me? I’ll take you
On a breezy, great day like today,
how about a drink?
Today’s temperature is perfect,
today’s mood is perfect
We’re perfect, the two of us, Cause U
Starting from today, instead of you and I
How about us?
When you suddenly want to go somewhere
Send a text whenever, without anyone knowing
If you want to cry, call me
Be careful of getting excited
So that you can be happier than what you originally thought*
I’ll prepare for it, Everyday oh yeh
Trust me and come along
Wherever we go, I’ll make paths of flowers
For you, I’ll pour out my heart
I’ll pour out my whole day
I will only leave it to you
Wanna go somewhere? I’ll take you!
On a great weather day like today,
how about anywhere?
Wanna go somewhere? Tell me, that I hoped for
Wanna go with me? I’ll take you
On a breezy, great day like today
how about a drink?
Today’s temperature is perfect,
today’s mood is perfect
We’re perfect, the two of us, Cause U
Starting from today, instead of you and I
How about us?
How about a drink?

Leave a Reply

