Jive Monkey Playlist: 9/30/16

Fall is here!  Time to break out the flannel and drink pumpkin spiced lattes that are actually squash puree.  And this young singer’s charismatic voice seems fitting for the season.  Kwon Jin Ah rose to fame through her appearance on K-Pop Star 3 winning 3rd place which eventually lead to her joining Antenna Music and she finally released her first album titled, “웃긴 밤 (A Funny Night)”.

The title track of the album is called “끝 (The End)” and like the title of the song suggests, it’s about the end of a relationship.  Kwon Jin Ah’s singing starts off as reflective as she tries to process his reactions and what they could have done differently.  Then as the notes get higher, her voice crescendos in order to express the aching that she’s suppressed in the beginning of the song.  Her singing is quite soulful.

I also really enjoyed watching the music video as the distance felt by this couple is so palpable to the viewer.  There are relationships that end with a lot of fighting; and there are relationship that end with a steely but calm resolve.  I happen to think that the latter situation is worse as it’s hard to interpret emotions from the person who you thought loved you.

From the very start, you can sense the tense as there is a lot of silence and the two are not able to look each other in the eye very well.  Although they snip at each other over trivial things, it’s clear that they are having an entirely different conversation in their heads.  To add to the tension, the video adds a countdown clock that is ticking down to the moment when the two have officially broken up.  She finally comes up with the courage to say that they should end things but she’s partly joking, partly challenging him just to see how he’d react.  He replies by saying that she occasionally makes him out to be the abnormal one in relationship.  What’s particularly stinging about his comment is that he gives a sarcastic smile, pats her head and then walks away.  Despite his mild-mannered gesture, the underlying meaning comes across as cruel.  And yet, I want to believe that there’s another side to this story, especially since he has a different expression as he’s driving away in a cab.  Perhaps her next music video will continue this story.

권진아 – 끝

한참을 아무 말도 없었다
어색한 공기만 우릴 감싸고 있다
너는 고개를 돌린 채로 한숨만 내쉰다
내가 처음 보는 표정을 하고 서있다

차라리 화를 내지,
싫어졌다고 말을 하지
마지막 순간까지
좋은 사람으로 기억되고 싶었니

내가 갈게
애써 미안한 표정 하지마
싫어진 거잖아
그래,널 떠나 줄게
비겁해 지는 널 보는 게 아파
내가 갈게 널 보내줄게

조금씩 넌 변했다
매일 오던 연락 난 기다린다
서운해 하는 날 보는 게 슬프다
넌 여기까진 가봐, 끝이었나 봐
난 시작이었는데

Oh 그냥, 헤어지자고 내게 말을 하지
마지막 순간까지
좋은 사람으로 기억되고 싶었니

내가 갈게
애써 날 위하는 척 하지마
넌 준비했잖아
그래, 널 떠나줄게
내가 몰랐던 널 보는 게 아파
내가 갈게 널 보내줄게

니가 없는 하루가 사실
난 잘 그려지질 않아
그렇게 말했었잖아
내가 너의 행복이랬잖아
나 없인 살 수 없을 거라고 말했었잖아

내가 갈게
애써 미안한 표정 하지마
싫어진 거잖아
이제, 널 떠나줄게
비겁해 지는 널 보는 게 아파
내가 갈게 널 보내줄게

The End

There were no words for the longest time
Just an awkward atmosphere surrounding us
With your head turned, you just keep sighing
Standing with a look that I’ve seen for the first time

Better off getting mad,
Should say that you don’t like me
Until the last moment
Did you want to be remembered as the good guy?

I’ll leave
Don’t try to put on a sorry expression
You don’t like me anymore
Yeah, I’ll leave you
It hurts looking at the cowardly you
I’ll leave, I’ll send you off

You’ve changed little by little
Waiting for the call you used to make every day
It’s sad looking at the day that’ll hurt me
For you, it must be up to here, must be the end
For me, it was the beginning

Oh just, you should of just told me to break up
Until the last moment
Did you want to be remembered as the good guy?

I’ll leave
Don’t try to pretend that you’re doing this for me
You’ve been ready
Yeah, I’ll leave you
It hurts looking at the cowardly you
I’ll leave, I’ll send you off

The reality of the day where you’re not there
Is something that I can’t imagine
You’ve said it like this
That I’m your happiness
You said that you won’t be able to live without me

I’ll leave
Don’t try to put on a sorry expression
You don’t like me anymore
Yeah, I’ll leave you
It hurts looking at the cowardly you
I’ll leave, I’ll send you off

Since Kwon Jin Ah is also a singer-songwriter, I was quite interested in getting to know her writing style. However, the album is mostly written and composed by other people, such as Yoo Hee Yeol, Ra.D, Cha Cha Malone, Park Jae Bum and more. She’s quite young and I feel that she has a lot more to learn in regards to music as well as about life in general. Having said that, I wanted to feature the one full-length song that she wrote and composed, “쪽쪽 (Slurp, Slurp)”. I’ll admit that it’s not my favorite song on the album. But I do like that the song has a catchy rhythm with the lyrics and that makes it worth listening to.

*The title of the song is an onomatopoeia which was hard to translate.  It can be used to depict sounds of slurping, sipping, sucking and even smooching.  So there’s a wide range of action it could be describing.  And some descriptions in English tend to sound overly sexual when the song isn’t meant to come off that way.  Suffice it to say, the title was difficult to translate because there’s a dual meaning.  The song is about how she can’t stop thinking about this guy that it is sucking the life out of her, like a mosquito.  The title is also meant to express the sound of kissing (or rather a smooch or a peck) because as much as she is annoyed, the tone of the track seems to suggest otherwise and perhaps she wishes that she could be kissing him instead.

Kwon Jin Ah – 쪽쪽 (Slurp, Slurp)

권진아 – 쪽쪽

쪽쪽*

오늘은 편히 잘 수 있을까
오늘도 날 괴롭히려나
빌어먹을 또야 또
짜증나서 불을 켜고
눈을 뜨면 넌 어느새
날 약 올리듯 숨어버리지

이건 분명해 날 놀리려는 게
오늘만은 니 생각하고 싶지 않아

아주 나를 쪽쪽 빨아 드세요
아주 나를 말려 죽이세요
나를 쪽쪽 빨아 드세요
아주 나를 말려 죽이세요
어떻게 매일매일 한숨도 못 자게 해
뱅뱅 귓가에 아른거리게
대체 내게 왜 이러는데
오늘도 자긴 글렀네

아직도 계속 불안불안하지
언제 또 이 단잠을 깨울지 모르니까
큰 맘 먹고 불을 끄고
눈 감으면 넌 어느새
날 약 올리듯 uh oh

이건 분명해 날 놀리려는 게
오늘만은 네 생각하고 싶지 않아

아주 나를 쪽쪽 빨아 드세요
아주 나를 말려 죽이세요
나를 쪽쪽 빨아 드세요
아주 나를 말려 죽이세요
어떻게 매일매일 한숨도 못 자게 해
뱅뱅 귓가에 아른거리게
대체 내게 왜 이러는데

니 맘도 나와 같다면
얼마나 좋을까 나
오 넌 아무것도 모르고
맘 편히 자고 있겠지

아주 나를 쪽쪽 빨아 드세요
아주 나를 말려 죽이세요
나를 쪽쪽 빨아 드세요
아주 나를 말려 죽이세요
어떻게 매일매일 한숨도 못 자게 해
뱅뱅 귓가에 아른거리게
내게 왜 이러는데
오늘도 자긴 글렀네

(편히 잘 수 있을까
오늘도 날 괴롭히려나
빌어먹을 또야 또
uh oh 오늘도 자긴 글렀네)

새벽 두 시 세 시
자꾸 시간은 지나가네
니 생각하고 싶지 않아
아 진짜 미치겠네
새벽 세 시 네 시
자꾸 시간은 흘러가네
계속 계속 불안 불안해 나
(아 진짜 미치겠네)

Slurp, Slurp*

Today, I can’t sleep soundly
Am I going to be bothered today too?
Damn, again, again
Annoyed, I turn on the light
When I open my eyes, before I know it you
Like you’re provoking me, you hide

This is evident, that you’re mocking me
For today, I don’t want to think of you

Please slurp, slurp me up completely
Please drain me to death
Slurp, slurp me up
Please drain me to death
How is it that you won’t let me sleep every single day?
Round and round, you hang near my ear
Why the hell am I this way?
Even today’s sleep is not happening

Even now, I keep feeling anxious
Because I don’t know when I’ll wake from this deep sleep
Make the effort to turn the lights off
When I close my eyes, at some point, you
Like you’re teasing me, uh oh

This is evident, that you’re mocking me
For today, I don’t want to think of you

Please slurp, slurp me up completely
Please drain me to death
Slurp, slurp me up
Please drain me to death
How is it that you won’t let me sleep every single day?
Round and round, you hang near my ear
Why the hell am I this way?

If your feelings are like mine
How great would that be for me?
Oh, you don’t know anything
You can sleep comfortably

Please slurp, slurp me up completely
Please drain me to death
Slurp, slurp me up
Please drain me to death
How is it that you won’t let me sleep every single day?
Round and round, you hang near my ear
Why the hell am I this way?
Even today’s sleep is not happening

(Will I be able to sleep comfortably?
Even today, you bother me
Damn, again, again
uh oh, even today’s sleep is not happening)

Middle of the night, 2am, 3am
The time keeps ticking
I don’t want to think of you
Ah, really, it’s driving me crazy
Middle of the night, 2am, 3am
Time keeps flowing
Continuously, continuously, I feel anxious
(Ah, really, it’s driving me crazy)

Leave a Reply

