Jive Monkey Playlist: 10/7/16

I’m not sure what it is about Autumn but I always get in these moods where I’m more reflective.  It’s not that I don’t get this way any other time of the year but it happens more often in Autumn.  I guess it’s that point in the year where it’s after the vacation mode of Summer and before all the end of the year holidays.  The weather is getting cooler but it’s still nice enough to go for long walks amongst the fall foliage.  Here’s a bunch of songs to get you in the mood.

Sandeul is one of my favorite member of B1A4 (I often go back and forth between him and Jinyoung depending on the day) and he’s a great, charismatic singer.  I was interested to hear his first solo album and was delighted to come upon this song, “나의 어릴 적 이야기 (The Story of My Youth).”

Immediately, this song stands out from the rest because it has such a folksy, vintage feel.  Perhaps, it’s my own bias but I was surprised to hear such depth and maturity in the lyrics.  Sandeul wrote the song while thinking of his younger self and his grandfather.  The song is composed by Rose Motel’s Yook Joong Wan.  Like when you look at an old faded photograph in a childhood album, the melody brings alive the sentimental emotions of the lyrics.

Sandeul – 나의 어릴 적 이야기

산들 – 나의 어릴 적 이야기

나의 어릴 적 이야기

어느 날 갑자기 생각나
내 이름 부르시던 목소리
지금도 내 귓가에 울리는데
아무도 기억 못하나 보다
사진 속 우리 바라보니
그때는 아주 평범했구나
생각만 해도 내 맘 이렇게 아픈데
아무도 기억 못하나 보다

내 얘기만 듣고 가세요
한 번도 용기 내지 못한
평생을 나 기억할게요
내 말 듣고 가세요
저기요 아저씨 잠시만요
사진 좀 같이 찍어주세요
언젠가 당신 얼굴 잊어버릴까
내는요 여기 남길 랍니다.

어느 날 갑자기 생각이나
손잡고 거닐던 그 골목길
하나 둘 셋 걸으며 모두 좋았었는데
아무도 기억 못하나 보다

내 얘기만 듣고 가세요
한 번도 용기 내지 못한
평생을 나 기억할게요
내 말 듣고 가세요
저기요 아저씨 잠시만요
사진 좀 같이 찍어주세요
언젠가 당신 얼굴 잊어버릴까
내는요 여기 남길 랍니다.
내가요 평생 기억할게요

The Story of My Youth

Suddenly one day, it comes to my mind
The voice that called my name
Even now, it’s ringing in my ears
But no one seems to remember
Looking at photos of us
We were very normal back then
My heart hurts like this just thinking about it
But no one seems to remember

Please listen to my words and go
Didn’t have the courage, even once
I will always remember it
Please listen to me and go
Hey, mister, just one moment
Please take a picture of us
Before I forget your face at some point
I want it to remain here.

Suddenly one day, it comes to my mind
Holding hands, strolling in that alleyway
1, 2, 3, as we walk, everyone liked it
But no one seems to remember

Please listen to my words and go
Didn’t have the courage, even once
I will always remember it
Please listen to me and go
Hey, mister, just one moment
Please take a picture of us
Before I forget your face at some point
I want it to remain here.
I will remember it forever

_____________________________________________________

For those people who follow me on Twitter and Instagram, you may have noticed that I’ve been watching the drama Drinking Solo lately and posting pictures of my own honsul (hon – solo; sul – booze) experiences as I watch the show. Obviously, the drama is funny and, at the risk of damaging my liver, there could be quite a number of drinking games you can associate with the show.

What’s interesting is that I love watching Ha Seok Jin because he’s such a great actor but his character, Jin Jung Suk, is someone I love to hate.  I hated watching berate Park Ha Na (Park Ha Sun) throughout the series.  He’s such so full of himself that I can’t wait to see how he changes.

Although, I have to admit that I couldn’t help but laugh-out-loud upon seeing Jung Suk’s blind date get so mad at him that she decides to use a lobster to beat him over the head.  He pretty much deserved it.  And it was great to see Jun So Min play this cameo appearance to support Ha Seok Jin.  Their drama, 1% of Something, started airing this week.  It’s not clear if that’s a drama I’ll be checking out as I liked the original but if I had time, it’s definitely something I’m considering.

However, I’ve also been enjoying the slice-of-life aspect of the drama.  Really, the drama is about a bunch of people just struggling and figuring out their lives.  Whether that’s scoring well on a test that’ll determine their future careers or figuring out their feelings or dealing with loneliness.  The drama has themes we can all relate to and sometimes you need a little drink to relieve the stress of the day.  Even if you don’t drink, we all do something to get our me-time and recover just so we can do it again the next day.  Hopefully, we’ll be able to do it a bit better than the day before.

Vanilla Acoustic’s Sung Ah sweet voice and Vanilla Man’s warm backup vocals is so well-suited to express the bittersweet feelings about life.  In many ways this song reminds me of Han Hee Jung’s “내일 (Tomorrow)” from the Misaeng soundtrack in that both songs are about convincing ourselves that we can make it if we just don’t give up, no matter how bleak things look now.

In some ways, when Sung Ah keeps repeating “I’m not alone,” it feels like she’s just trying to convince herself that she’s not alone even though she is.  It feels a bit more convincing once Vanilla Man joins in because there it really doesn’t feel like she’s alone.  There are times when I go back and forth between believing her and just feeling down in the dumps.  But that’s life in a nutshell because you have your ups and downs.

Vanilla Acoustic – 나와 (With Me)

바닐라 어쿠스틱(Vanilla Acoustic) – 나와 (With Me)

나와 (With Me)

아침 공기에 못내 눈을 뜨고
거울 속 내게 인사를 하죠
내 발소리로 가득 채워지는
이 작은 공간 내 하루의 시작

그게 싫지가 않죠 혼자라는 느낌도
지쳐버린 내 맘에 쉴 틈을 내줘요
말을 하지 않아도 들려오지 않아도
외롭지 않은 적막
Because I’m not alone
I’m not alone I’m not alone
With me With me With me

늦은 저녁은 끝내 거른 채로
재촉한 걸음 긴 하루에 끝에
손에 들린 비닐봉투 하나
그 속에 담긴 술 한 잔의 위로

그게 싫지가 않죠 혼자라는 느낌도
지쳐버린 내 맘에 쉴 틈을 내줘요
말을 하지 않아도 들려오지 않아도
외롭지 않은 적막
Because I’m not alone

감당하지 못할 많은 얘기로
피곤해져가는 웃음소리로 지쳐가겠죠

아늑한 이 공간은 혼자만의 시간은
막혀버린 내 맘에 빈틈을 내줘요
말을 하지 않아도 들려오지 않아도
외롭지 않은 적막
Because I’m not alone
I’m not alone I’m not alone
With me With me With me

With Me

Longing for the morning air, I open my eyes
In the mirror, I greet myself
With the sound of my footsteps, filling up
This small space, my day begins

I don’t hate that, even the feeling of being alone
Grows tiring, give my heart some time to breathe
Even if I don’t say it, even if I’m not heard
The stillness that’s not lonely
Because I’m not alone
I’m not alone I’m not alone
With me With me With me

Finally finishing the late dinner
With hurried steps to finish the long day
Holding a plastic bag in my hand
That’s filled with alcohol, a glass of comfort

I don’t hate that, even the feeling of being alone
Grows tiring, give my heart some time to breathe
Even if I don’t say it, even if I’m no heard
The stillness that’s not lonely
Because I’m not alone

With many words that I can’t handle
Exhausted at the sound of laughter that’s growing tiring

Cozy, this space, my alone time is
Blocked, give me some space in my heart
Even if I don’t say it, even if I’m not heard
The stillness that’s not lonely
Because I’m not alone
I’m not alone I’m not alone
With me With me With me

_____________________________________________________

KIXS (pronounced Kiss) is (was?) a member of DMTN or previously known as Dalmatian.  The group has stopped promoting together since a marijuana scandal involving one of the members but they are still out there promoting their solo works.  I admit that I’m bothered by his stage name.  It’s spelled KIXS that makes me want to call him Kix (like the cereal) but it’s pronounced as Kiss, but there was another female idol group that went by the name Kiss, not to mention, there’s an American rock band called KISS.  Can’t you go by any other name besides KIXS (pronounced as Kiss)?  Seriously.

Despite my rant, I found his single tracks by chance and enjoyed songs such as “비율A+ (Beautiful)” and “기어갈게요 (I’ll Crawl to You)”.  I find his R&B songwriting style easy to listen to because he incorporates classic hooks.

That’s exactly how I feel about “시월의 첫날 (The First Day of October)”.  The song is about regret but there’s something warm and pleasant about his lyrics.  They may be sad about the breakup and want to get back together but the lyrics aren’t overly pushy about getting back together.  Rather, they are ready to resume their relationship when the other is ready and that’s pretty sweet to know that there is someone out there ready to be by your side.  Even though it doesn’t happen, I’d like to believe in hope.

KIXS(키스) – 시월의 첫날 (Feat. 유지of 베스티)

시월의 첫날 (Feat. 유지of 베스티)

시월의 첫날에 바람처럼 사라진
(oh 나)
시월의 첫날에 낙엽처럼 남겨진
(그대)

이별이란 말보단 잠깐의 안녕이
(좀더 나을듯해)
내 맘에 잠시 머물다간
한 순간으론 난 부족해

차가워진 이 바람에
익숙해 져버린대도
내 맘은 너를 이해해주라 말해
가을의 달빛처럼 널 비추며
기다릴게 천천히 와

시월의 첫날에 날 잡지 못했던
(oh 나)
단 한번만 이라도 나를
안아줬다면 우리
(이별은 없었을걸)

차가워진 이 바람에
익숙해 져버린대도
내 맘은 너를 이해해주라 말해
가을의 달빛처럼 널 비추며
기다릴게 천천히 와

아름다운 기억 (소중했던 추억들)
사랑도 바람에 다 지워져도
내게 남겨진 (사랑해요)
너의 한마디 (사랑해요)
시월의 첫날로 다시

차가워진 이 바람에
익숙해 져버린대도
내 맘은 너를 이해해주라 말해
가을의 달빛처럼 널 비추며
기다릴게

차가워진 이 바람에
익숙해 져버린대도
내 맘은 너를 이해해주라 말해
가을의 달빛처럼 널 비추며
기다릴게 천천히 와

The First Day of October (Feat. Uji of Bestie)

The first day of October, disappeared like the wind
(oh I)
The first day of October, like the fallen leaves left behind
(you)

Rather than breaking up, just a brief goodbye
(Hope it’ll get a bit better)
Stayed in my heart briefly
For one moment, I fell short

This wind that’s grown cold
Even though we’ve grown used to it
My heart is telling me to understand you
Like the autumn moonlight shining on you,
I’ll wait, come to me slowly

The first day of October, that couldn’t hold on to me
(oh I)
Even if it was just once,
if you hugged me, we
(there wouldn’t have been a breakup)

This wind that’s grown cold
Even though we’ve grown used to it
My heart is telling me to understand you
Like the autumn moonlight shining on you,
I’ll wait, come to me slowly

Beautiful recollections (Treasured memories)
Even if love is erased by the wind
Staying with me (I love you)
Your words (I love you)
The first day of October, again

This wind that’s grown cold
Even though we’ve grown used to it
My heart is telling me to understand you
Like the autumn moonlight shining on you,
I’ll wait

This wind that’s grown cold
Even though we’ve grown used to it
My heart is telling me to understand you
Like the autumn moonlight shining on you,
I’ll wait, come to me slowly

Leave a Reply

