Jive Monkey Playlist: 11/4/16

Happy Friday!  Especially this Friday.  I’m not sure if you’ve heard.  We’ve got an important US election coming up this Tuesday.  I try to keep this a politics free zone but allow me to say that it’s important to go and vote, no matter who you vote for.  That’s just my short PSA on the matter.  I don’t know about you but this election has been especially stressful and to be completely honest, I can’t wait to cast my vote and just get this over with.  That said, this week’s playlist is all about songs that relieve stress and alleviating your mood.  Let’s just have our happy dance and deal with the stress of tomorrow… well, tomorrow.  Also, don’t forget to relish that extra hour of sleep (or drinking/partying, whatever) as Daylight Savings Time ends this weekend.

One day, I hope to catch Monni live or catch Kim Shin Ui perform in one of his musicals.  Not only do I found their melodies profound, their lyrics relatable but I simply love the charismatic voice of Kim Shin Ui.  I can’t tell you how much I love hearing it.  I could be extremely agitated but when I hear his calming, mesmerizing voice, it just puts me in a better mood.  He was recently on The King of Masked Singers this past summer and it pains me that I didn’t recognize his voice offhand.

The band just recently released their latest mini album, “한참을 뛰어오기만 한 너에게 (To the Person I Have to Make a Giant Leap For)” and one of my favorite tracks is, “우울증 퇴치법 (How to Erase Depression)”.  Everyone gets depressed at some point in their lives and one of the worst things about depression is how your mind becomes consumed with negativity.  Sometimes you just need to focus on something good, like eating comfort food or taking a day off for yourself, and surrounding yourself with people that you love and who understand you.  However, it’s Kim Shin Ui’s upbeat voice that makes this song magical because it’s so reassuring.  I can’t resist putting my hands up and swaying to the music just because his feel-good attitude makes me feel-good too.

Monni – 우울증 퇴치범 (How to Erase Depression)

몽니(Monni) – 우울증 퇴치법

내가 노래할게요 = The line doesn’t definitively indicate an object in which the subject is referring to.  It’s just assumed that they are singing for the person they love.

우울증 퇴치법

지금 당장 일어나서
좋은 길을 걸어봐요
좋아하는 노랠 듣고
숨을 한번 크게 들이 마셔요

Everybody
Put Your Hands Up
Put Your Hands Up
나와 함께 춤을 춰봐요
리듬에 맞춰
사랑하는 사람들의 웃는 얼굴을 그려요
그대 곁에 있어요

땀을 흘려 배워야 하는
취미생활 시작해요
좋아하는 노랠 부르고
꿈을 꾸던 그때로 다시

Everybody
Put Your Hands Up
Put Your Hands Up
나와 함께 춤을 춰봐요
리듬에 맞춰
사랑하는 사람들의 웃는 얼굴을 그려요
그대 곁에 있어요

혼자 있다고 생각하지는 말아요
지쳐가고 있다고 생각지도 말고
훗날 우리 웃으며 얘기해봐요

Everybody
Put Your Hands Up
Put Your Hands Up
나와 함께 춤을 춰봐요
리듬에 맞춰
사랑하는 사람들의 웃는 얼굴을 그려요
그대 곁에 있어

울고 있는 그대에게 놀라움이 숨어있어요
일어나요
기다리는 사람들의 웃는 얼굴을 그려요
그대 곁에 있어요
내가 노래할게요*

How to Erase Depression

Immediately get up right now
Walk on a good path
Listen to a good song
Take in one, deep breath

Everybody
Put Your Hands Up
Put Your Hands Up
Dance with me
Match the rhythm
Draw the smiling faces of the people you love
They are near you

As you sweat, go and learn
A hobby that you could start up
Sing a song that you like
Go back to that time when you dreamt dreams

Everybody
Put Your Hands Up
Put Your Hands Up
Dance with me
Match the rhythm
Draw the smiling faces of the people you love
They are near you

Don’t think that you’re alone
Don’t think about the fact that you’re growing weary
Let’s smile and talk about the future

Everybody
Put Your Hands Up
Put Your Hands Up
Dance with me
Match the rhythm
Draw the smiling faces of the people you love
They are near you

Hiding beneath your tears is surprise
Stand up
Draw the smiling faces of the people who are waiting for you
They are near you
I’ll sing for you*

_____________________________________________________

Speaking of bands, YB is a band that I’ve long admired. I was a bit confused when they recently released a mini album of remastered version of their hit songs. And yet, when I actually listened to it, it just reminded me why I fell in love with this band in the first place. I suppose that’s why they named the album, “Remind”.

All of the songs are great and their hits for obvious reasons but the song I’d like to feature is “잊을께 (I’ll Forget)”.  Sure, it’s a breakup song and although the song is about erasing memories about a person you love, if you hear Yoon Do Hyun’s voice, you’d realize that he doesn’t across as bitter.  Even though they didn’t work out, he wishes her a better future and hoping that he’d be able to find happiness in the future as well.  And yet, it’s clear that he still loves her and holds her in high regard.  As much as breakups can be stressful, this song tries to provide closure in hopes of chasing a happier tomorrow.

YB – 잊을께 (2016 Ver.) (I’ll Forget (2016 Ver.))

YB – 잊을께 (2016 Ver.)

잊을께 (2016 Ver.)

아침에 눈을 떴을 때 너를
길을 걷다 멍하니 너를
지금은 내 곁에 없는 너를
그리워하네 바보처럼

나보다 행복하기를 바래
내 생각하지 않기를 바래
더 좋은 사람 만나길 바래
다시는 내게 올 수 없게

안개처럼 사라져 간 다시 못 올 그 지난날
함께한 추억 모두 흘려보낼게
널 잊어야 해 힘들어도
널 지워야 해 기억 속에서
네가 떠난 후에 난 죽을 것같이 아파도
두 번 다시 울지 않을게
잊을게 잊을게

아직도 휴대폰에 네 이름
지우지도 못하고 있어
전화기 들고 한참을 서서
널 생각하네 바보처럼

안개처럼 사라져 간 다시 못 올 그 지난날
함께한 추억 모두 흘려보낼게
널 잊어야 해 힘들어도
널 지워야 해 기억 속에서
네가 떠난 후에 난 죽을 것같이 아파도
다시는 너를 찾지 않아

아침에 눈을 떴을 때 너를 아직도
길을 걷다 멍하니 너를
지금은 내 곁에 없는 너를
그리워하네 바보처럼

잊을게 널 잊을게
잊을게 널 잊을게
잊을게 널 잊을게
잊을게

I’ll Forget (2016 Ver.)

When I open my eyes in the morning, you
As I absent-mindedly walk along, you
Not next to me right now, you
Should I be longing for you like an idiot?

I hope you’re happier than I am
I hope that you’re not thinking of me
I hope that you meet a better person
So that you can’t come back to me again

Disappeared like a fog, those days that won’t return again
Memories we shared, let it all pass by
Have to forget you even though it’s hard
Need to erase you from my memories
After you’ve left, even though I’m in deathly pain
I won’t cry again
I’ll forget, I’ll forget

Still on my cell phone, your name
Can’t bring myself to erase it
Holding my phone and standing still for a long time
Keep thinking of you like an idiot

Disappeared like a fog, those days that won’t return again
Memories we shared, let it all pass by
Have to forget you even though it’s hard
Need to erase you from my memories
After you’ve left, even though I’m in deathly pain
I won’t go find you again

When I open my eyes in the morning, still you
As I absent-mindedly walk along, you
Not next to me right now, you
Should I be longing for you like an idiot?

I’ll forget you, I’ll forget
I’ll forget you, I’ll forget
I’ll forget you, I’ll forget
I’ll forget

Leave a Reply

