Jive Monkey Playlist: 11/18/16

It’s an all-SM featured post today.  A lot of the SM artists, especially singers who are in big idol groups, have been releasing a lot of their solo albums and singles recently.  It’s to be expected that many of the songs are gonna be about love but the common thread I’ve been finding in the tracks for today’s playlist is the inability to forget about that person, whether thinking about that person makes you happy or whether it pains you to think about that person.

What I’ve always liked about Taeyeon is that she is able to show so many different levels of emotion with her voice.  She’s an incredibly soulful singer and her latest single, “11:11,” is a clear example of her emotional maturity.

Time is a cruel metaphor in this song.  Although Taeyeon comes across as determined and a bit cold when she says believe that she will be over the guy who left her, she is still the one in the relationship that is hovering over the same moment, namely 11:11.  I am especially touched by the line, “모든 게 자릴 찾아서 떠나가고 (Everything finds its place and leaves),” because it represents that the things in her life find their home but still manages to run away.  And yet, she keeps humming and saying that she believes she’ll get over him like it’s a chant to convince herself that she’ll be able to move on from this painful moment.

태연(TAEYEON) – 11:11

11:11

It’s 11:11
오늘이 한 칸이 채 안 남은 그런 시간
우리 소원을 빌며 웃던 그 시간
별 게 다 널 떠오르게 하지
네 맘 끝자락처럼 차가운 바람
창을 열면 온통 네가 불어와
이 시간이 전부 지나고 나면
이별이 끝나 있을까 Yeah
널 다 잊었을까

모든 게 자릴 찾아서 떠나가고
넌 내 모든 걸 갖고서 떠나도
내 맘은 시계 속의 두 바늘처럼
같은 곳을 두고 맴돌기만 해

Na na na na na na na
na na na na na na oh
Na na na na na na na na
I believe I will be over you

달력 안에 있는
오래 전에 약속했던 몇 월의 며칠
너에겐 다 잊혀져 있었다면
내가 지워야지 뭐
지나고 나면 별 거 아니겠지 뭐

모든 게 자릴 찾아서 떠나가고
넌 내 모든 걸 갖고서 떠나도
내 맘은 시계 속의 두 바늘처럼
같은 곳을 두고 맴돌기만 해

Na na na na na na na
na na na na na na oh
Na na na na na na na na
I believe I will be over you

계절 틈에 잠시 피는 낯선 꽃처럼
하루 틈에 걸려 있는 새벽 별처럼
이 모든 건 언젠가는 다 지나가고 말겠지

모든 게 자릴 찾아서 돌아오고
내가 아무 일 없는 듯이 웃게 되면
너의 이름 한 번쯤 부르는 게
지금처럼 아프지 않을 거야

Na na na na na na na
na na na na na na oh
Na na na na na na na na
I believe I will be over you

Na na na na na na na
na na na na na na oh
Na na na na na na na na
I believe I will be over you

11:11

It’s 11:11
Today, when there’s not much time remaining
That time when we made wishes and smiled
Everything makes me think of you
The edge of your heart is like a cold wind
When I open the window, altogether you blow in
When this time passes
Will this breakup be over? Yeah
Will I have forgotten you?

Everything finds its place and leaves
Even if you take everything I have and leave
My heart, like the two hands on a clock,
Will be hovering in the same spot

Na na na na na na na
na na na na na na oh
Na na na na na na na na
I believe I will be over you

On the calendar,
Promised long ago, on some date of some month
If you’ve forgotten all about it
Well, I guess I have to erase it myself
After a while, it might not be much of anything

Everything finds its place and leaves
Even if you take everything I have and leave
My heart, like the two hands on a clock,
Will be hovering in the same spot

Na na na na na na na
na na na na na na oh
Na na na na na na na na
I believe I will be over you

Between season, blooming briefly like a strange flower
Between days, hanging like the morning star
All of these things will pass someday

Everything finds its place and leaves
Even if you take everything I have and leave
My heart, like the two hands on a clock,
Will be hovering in the same spot

Na na na na na na na
na na na na na na oh
Na na na na na na na na
I believe I will be over you

Na na na na na na na
na na na na na na oh
Na na na na na na na na
I believe I will be over you

_____________________________________________________

Kyuhyun recently released another mini album and I was surprised to find that a few veteran artists collaborated with him on it.  The first time I heard the first notes of “여전히 아늑해 (Still) (Still Comfortable (Still))” on my playlist, I swore it was a Sung Si Kyung song.  And then, I realized that it wasn’t Sung Si Kyung’s voice but yet, the song was still sung in the style of Sung Si Kyung.  I have been yearning for a new Sung Si Kyung album but a close runner-up was to have Kyuhyun collaborating with Sung Si Kyung as a producer on this track.

With Kyuhyun’s charismatic voice, he tenderly sings of relationship that didn’t work out.  It’s clear that not only does he still love her but he has relinquished for this person.  Even though it pains him to let her, he’s willing to bear it so that she can find happiness.  It’s the ultimate sacrifice because he wants to hold on something that doesn’t want to be held.  And yet, letting go is the right thing to do but there’s nothing sadder than the feeling of that emptiness that remains.

규현 (KYUHYUN) – 여전히 아늑해(Prod.by 성시경)(Still)

여전히 아늑해(Prod.by 성시경)(Still)

벌써 새 계절
어느 사이 싸늘해진 밤공기
어떠니 건강히 지내니
집 앞을 걷다 또 네 생각이 나

아파야 맞는 건데,
사람 맘이 신기하지
이렇게 널 떠올릴 때마다
난 말이야 아픈 채로 참 반가워

날 바라보던 너.
가만히 내 얘기를 듣던 너.
그러다 활짝 웃던 너.
한 순간도 놓치기 싫은
너의 기억 위에 나를 기대본다
숨 쉬듯 익숙해.
오래된 소파에 온몸을 맡긴 것처럼.
너를 생각하면 여전히 아늑해

문득 궁금해져
너도 가끔 내 생각이 나는지
그럴 땐 어떤 표정일지
별것도 아닌 시시한 생각들

잊어야 좋을 텐데,
사람 맘이 이상하지
이렇게 너를 떠올릴 때면
정말 다 잊혀질까 봐 겁이 나

날 매만지던 너.
가볍게 나에게 안기던 너.
어느새 눈을 감던 너.
어느 것도 버리기 힘든
우리 시간들이 나를 감싸온다
그걸로 따스해.
담요처럼 포근한
그때 그곳 우리 둘.

너를 간직하는 일이 내겐 지우는 일보다
늘 쉬워서

한 순간도 널 잊지 못하는 나

숨 쉬듯 익숙해.
사랑했던 기억에 나를 맡길 때 마다
여전히 아늑해,
아늑해서 아파

Still Comfortable (Prod. By Sung Si Kyung) (Still)

Already the new season
Before we knew it, the night air has gotten chilly
How are you? Are you well?
As I walk past your house, I think of you again

It would makes sense to be sick
but a person’s heart is mysterious
Like this, whenever I think of you,
though it pains me to say it, I welcome it

You, who used to look at me.
You, who listen to my words quietly.
You, who then used to smile brightly.
Don’t want to let it go for one moment
I lean upon the memories of you
Used to it as if I’m breathing.
Like I’ve entrusted my whole body to an old sofa.
When I think of you, I’m still comfortable

Suddenly, I get curious
About whether you sometimes think of me
If you do, what kind of face do you make?
Not much of anything but petty thoughts

Better off forgetting about it,
A person’s heart is strange, right?
Like this, whenever I think of you,
Get nervous that I’ll really forget about you

You, who used to tidy me up.
You, who used to hug me easily.
You, who eventually closed their eyes.
Hard to throw anything away,
the time we spent together wraps over me
With that, it’s warm.
Like a blanket, cozy,
the two of us at that time and place.

Treasuring you, more than erasing you,
was always easier

Unable to forget you for one moment

Used to it as if I’m breathing.
When I entrust myself to memories of loving you
Still comfortable,
because I’m comfortable it hurts

_____________________________________________________

Not wanting to end things on a sad note, here’s an upbeat song.  I was listening to “우리 둘 (Runnin’)” in the car as my mom, my sister and I were driving from Montreal to Toronto this past weekend.  My mom immediately perked up and asked me who was singing this song and was happy to hear that it was Henry.  I chuckled as she relayed how she found Henry hilarious and adorable.

That he is, and you could definitely hear that cute side in this song.  He has a very dulcet voice works well with Sistar’s Soyu’s sexy allure.  And then, in the back of my mind, I feel like I can hear Henry’s bestie, Amber, telling me not believe any of the lyrics he croons because of what a player he is.  Ha.  But I digress, their voices reflects how your mind keeps racing when you’re in love with someone.  Simply spending time with someone you love can make your whole day.

헨리(Henry) , 소유 – 우리 둘 (Runnin’)

우리 둘 (Runnin’)

Why do you run,
keep runnin’ through my mind

Baby 심심한데 잠깐 볼래
아니 별 건 아닌데
안 바쁘면 Coffee 한 잔 하는 건 어때
여기 새로 생긴 Café,
Mocha Latte가 괜찮대
기다릴게 대충 입고 나와
괜찮아 화장 안 한 게 훨씬 이쁘니까

장난스런 네 말투 하나부터 열까지
두근거리는데
내게로 와줄래 Come on

You’ve been runnin’ through my mind
오늘도 내일도 모레도
이대로 너랑 있고 싶어 All day Baby
You’ve been runnin’ 꿈만 같아
지금처럼 우리 둘 우리 둘 우리 둘 My baby
Thinking about you
You know I’m thinking about you

이렇게 둘이서 마주앉아
널 가만히 보고 있을 땐
시럽 같은 건 필요 없잖아 (That’s right)
네 눈빛이 내겐 너무 달아 너도 알잖아
이상해 시간이 너무 빨라
이대로 보내기 싫은데
Oh no baby 말은 필요 없잖아
You know girl

언제부터였을까
바쁜 하루 끝에서 또 네 생각이 나
나도 널 생각해 That’s right

You’ve been runnin’ through my mind
오늘도 내일도 모레도
이대로 너랑 있고 싶어 All day Baby
You’ve been runnin’ 꿈만 같아
지금처럼 우리 둘 우리 둘 우리 둘 My baby
Thinking about you
You know I’m thinking about you

Baby 니가 없으면 Girl 니가 없으면 Boy
참을 수가 없는 걸 견딜 수가 없는 걸
네게 빠져버렸나 봐
이젠 내 하루를 다 채워

You’ve been runnin’ through my mind
오늘도 내일도 모레도
이대로 너랑 있고 싶어 All day Baby
You’ve been runnin’ 꿈만 같아
지금처럼 우리 둘 우리 둘 우리 둘 My baby
You know I’m thinking about you

The Two of Us (Runnin’)

Why do you run,
keep runnin’ through my mind

Baby, I’m bored so wanna meet up for a bit?
No, it’s nothing much
If you’re not busy, how about having a cup of coffee?
There’s a new café here
The mocha latte is supposedly good
I’ll wait, just throw something on and come out
It’s okay because you’re prettier without makeup

From one to ten, your playful tone
Make my heart pound
Would you come to me? Come on

You’ve been runnin’ through my mind
Even today, tomorrow and the next,
I wanna be with you like this, All day Baby
You’ve been runnin’, it’s like a dream
Like this, the two of us, two of us, two of us, My baby
Thinking about you
You know I’m thinking about you

The two of us sitting, facing each other like this
As I quietly look at you
You don’t need things like syrup (That’s right)
Your stare is so sweet to me, you know it too
It’s strange, the time goes by too quickly
Don’t want to let you go like this
Oh no baby, no need to say anything
You know girl

When did it begin?
At the end of a busy day, I think of you again
I think of you too, that’s right

You’ve been runnin’ through my mind
Even today, tomorrow and the next,
I wanna be with you like this, All day Baby
You’ve been runnin’, it’s like a dream
Like this, the two of us, two of us, two of us, My baby
Thinking about you
You know I’m thinking about you

Baby, if don’t have you, Girl, if I don’t have you, Boy
Can’t take it, can’t bear it
Must have fallen for you
Now, you fill up my whole day

You’ve been runnin’ through my mind
Even today, tomorrow and the next,
I wanna be with you like this, All day Baby
You’ve been runnin’, it’s like a dream
Like this, the two of us, two of us, two of us, My baby
You know I’m thinking about you

Leave a Reply

