Jive Monkey Playlist: 12/9/16

We are nearing the end of 2016 and it’s been a tough year.  When I look to the future, I’ll admit that it looks hazy and the uncertainty has taken a toll on my confidence.  So I guess it only seems natural that when I look at the artists on today’s playlist, I marvel at their confidence.  Despite critics, they’re bold about doing their own thing in their own way.  Perhaps that a lesson we can all learn.

The thing that I marvel at when I look at Illionaire Records is their fearlessness and drive.  Dok2 and The Quiett started the company back in 2011 and haven’t looked back.  Even though the company is still small, Dok2, The Quiett and Beezino have all become influential rappers in their own right outside of the major K-Pop label companies.  Five years later, the artists that the label manages have doubled in size to now include Kim Hyo Eun, Changmo and Hash Swan but despite their popularity, I still view this company as an independent label.  They’ve stuck to the ideals of making the kind of music they want to make in the way they want to make it.  It’s a risky business model but because of their talent, they’ve been quite lucrative and it’s impressive.

“ILLIONAIRE EVERYDAY” was a single track released by the main 3 headlining artists that built up the company, namely Dok2, The Quiett and Beenzino.  Although the track came out almost a month ago, on Illionaire Day or November 11th, it’s been one of the tracks in which I’ve been waiting for the right moment to feature.  These three have worked to build up this company from the ground up and now they are cruisin’ along the respect and fame train and enjoying the fruits of their labor.  There’s nothing more admirable than respecting these guys for their passion and ambition.

ILLIONAIRE RECORDS – ILLIONAIRE EVERYDAY

일리네어 레코즈(ILLIONAIRE RECORDS) – ILLIONAIRE EVERYDAY

ILLIONAIRE EVERYDAY

11월 11일 11시 11분에
you will bump into Prima Vista boomin
그 위에 1llionaire we’re throwing boomerang
11일의 금요일 놓치면 후회해
check your pocket 얼마나 벌었는지
도달했는지 살짝쿵 모자른지
don’t worry too much 한때 너여봤지
총 모양의 hand sign just squeeze

ayy 불이 나 사무실 전화
일 있네 everyday 난 iphone을 꺼놔
1llionaire everywhere 우린 잘 나가네 워낙
2011년 1월 1일부터였지 기억나
도끼 지노와 바닥에서 정상까지
이젠 효은이와 창모 hash swan까지
세상에서 제일 쓸데없는 걱정이
1llionaire 걱정
we gon never get fucked up man

that’s wassup another 1llionaire anthem
city life, fantom 에서 Mr.Independent 2
from Soul Company to Thunderground
Jazzyfact to 1llionaire
we ain’t got time to fuck around yeah
11 월 11 일은 일리 데이 we celebratin
illy gang 이라면 알지 11시 11분엔
캡처해서 인스타그램을 도배
hash tag Q, Zino, Dok2 u know that

읽씹했네 읽씹** everyday yea
읽씹해 cuz I’m busy everyday man
1111개 메시지 읽씹 everyday yea
왜 읽씹해 cuz I’m busy everyday
I told you I 읽씹 일 있네 everyday
I told you I 읽씹 일 있네 everyday
I told you I 읽씹 일 있네 everyday
I told you 1llionaire everywhere yea

I told y’all 커져가는 돈벌이 돈 돈벌이
이건 내가 음악해서 번 거지 온전히
I got em 좋은 차 좋은 집 좋은 머리
11 월 13일 rest in peace ol’ dirty
맨손으로 시작해서 이제는
got a lotta bitches & dead president u know
우린 쉼 없이 달려가지 계속 다음 단계로
너네 말은 안 들어 내 삶이 짧은 관계로 yea

Fuck the other gang 거서 거기 걔넨
Fuck their whip 우릴 따라 샀지 걔넨
Fuck your 똘마니들
우리 갱은 죄다 센 애들
Meta형과 YDG we only fuck with legends
겁을 내지 프로모터들 우리 대할 땐
옛날에 우린 그냥 홍대 앞에 애들
이제 맨 앞에 애가 됐고
페이는 깡패급
to my gangs I was you

my hours full I’m proud of doin what i love
지금에 내가 되어 바라본 나란 놈은
화려함보다는 꾸준히 늘 흐르는 것
몸에 두르는 gold보다는
하나씩 더 이루는 goal
모든 물음엔 no 바로 행동으로 말해
아무 생각 없인 안 해 나는 토는 잘 안다네
묵묵히 내 길을 가네 아네 마네 하다
사라지는 놈들과는 different
Im with it live it
Better vision thru my fuckin Illionaire Ambition

읽씹했네 읽씹 everyday yea
읽씹해 cuz I’m busy everyday man
1111개 메시지 읽씹 everyday yea
왜 읽씹해 cuz I’m busy everyday
I told you I 읽씹 일 있네 everyday
I told you I 읽씹 일 있네 everyday
I told you I 읽씹 일 있네 everyday
I told you 1llionaire everywhere yea

읽씹했네 읽씹 everyday yea
읽씹해 cuz I’m busy everyday man
1111개 메시지 읽씹 everyday yea
왜 읽씹해 cuz I’m busy everyday
I told you I 읽씹 일 있네 everyday
I told you I 읽씹 일 있네 everyday
I told you I 읽씹 일 있네 everyday
I told you 1llionaire everywhere yea

카톡 하지 마 난 바쁘게 돈 벌어
누가 일리네어 일 없댔어
우리 스케줄 쩔어
넘 열심히 살아서 가끔 입안이 헐어
가끔 입안이
카톡하지마 난 바쁘게 돈 벌어
누가 일리네어 일 없댔어
우리 스케쥴 쩔어
1111개 메시지 읽씹 everyday
Illionaire everyday

ILLIONAIRE EVERYDAY

November 11th at 11:11
you will bump into Prima Vista boomin
Above that, 1llionaire we’re throwing boomerang
The 11 of Friday, you’ll regret it if you miss it
check your pocket, how much did you earn?
If you’ve reached it or slightly under
don’t worry too much, I was once you
With a gun finger hand sign just squeeze

ayy, the office phone is on fire
There’s work, everyday, I take out my iphone
1llionaire everywhere, we’re really doing well
It was from 2011, January 1st, I remember
Dok2, Zino and from the ground to the top
Now it’s Hyo Eun and Chang Mo, even Hash Swan
The most useless worry in the world is
worrying about 1llionaire
we gon never get fucked up man

that’s wassup another 1llionaire anthem
city life, from fantom to Mr.Independent 2
from Soul Company to Thunderground
Jazzyfact to 1llionaire
we ain’t got time to fuck around yeah
November 11th is illy* day, we celebratin
illy gang, you know us like this, at 11:11
Take a screenshot and take over Instagram
hash tag Q, Zino, Dok2 u know that

I read but ignored, read/ignored, everyday yea
I read but ignored cuz I’m busy everyday man
1111 messages, read/ignored everyday yea
Why read and ignore? cuz I’m busy everyday
I told you, I read and ignore, everyday
I told you, I read and ignore, everyday
I told you, I read and ignore, everyday
I told you 1llionaire everywhere yea

I told y’all, the money’s growing bigger, the mon-money
This is all from my music
I got em, good car, good house, good head
November 13th, rest in peace ol’ dirty
Started with my bare hands and now
got a lotta bitches & dead president u know
Without rest, we keep going to the next level
Not listening to you, with my short life, yea

Fuck the other gang, then, there, them
Fuck their whip, they’ve copied us
Fuck your followers
Our gang is all strong
Meta hyung and YDG we only fuck with legends
Promoters get scared when they deal with us
In the old, we were just kids in front of Hongdae
Now, we’re the kids in the front,
the pay is at gangster level
to my gangs I was you

my hours full I’m proud of doin what i love
Looking at who I’ve become now
Rather than flashy but consistently flowing
More than wrapping my body in gold
One by one, fulfilling another goal
All questions get answered with a no
All I know is I don’t do things without thinking
It’s known that I quietly walk my own path
For those guys who’ve disappeared, different
Im with it live it
Better vision thru my fuckin Illionaire Ambition

Read and ignored, read/ignore, everyday yea
Read and ignore, cuz I’m busy everyday man
1111 messages, read/ignored everyday yea
Why read and ignore? cuz I’m busy everyday
I told you, I read and ignore, everyday
I told you, I read and ignore, everyday
I told you, I read and ignore, everyday
I told you 1llionaire everywhere yea

Read and ignored, read/ignore, everyday yea
Read and ignore, cuz I’m busy everyday man
1111 messages, read/ignored everyday yea
Why read and ignore? cuz I’m busy everyday
I told you, I read and ignore, everyday
I told you, I read and ignore, everyday
I told you, I read and ignore, everyday
I told you 1llionaire everywhere yea

Don’t ka-talk me, I’m busy making money
Who said there’s no work for illionaire?
Our schedules are killer
Living hard, sometimes our mouths get worn-out
Sometimes our mouths
Don’t ka-talk me, I’m busy making money
Who said there’s no work for illionaire?
Our schedules are killer
1111 messages, read/ignored everyday
Illionaire everyday

_____________________________________________________

SNSD’s Hyo Yeon has finally released her single track. As the Girls’ Generation members get older and newer rookies continue to debut, I supposed they now have to look forward to the next chapter in their life. It’s not an easy feat to suddenly go from relying on your members to being out there on your own. I will say that “Mystery” isn’t the greatest debut song for Hyo Yeon’s single as the lyrics sound trite. And yet, I’m hooked by the rhythmically, ethnic sound of the track. Also, coming off the popularity of the dance program, Hit the Stage, this track sets the stage for Hyo Yeon to entrance us with her dancing.

효연 (HYOYEON) – Mystery

Mystery

무심한 듯 네 시선을 멈추게 한 Dance
불안하게 요동치기 시작하는 Breath
리듬 속의 내 몸 짓이
역시 네겐 최면처럼
빠져드는 eyes 나를 바라 봐

마치 홀린 듯이
(아무도 몰래)
맘을 뺏긴 듯이
(나로만 가득하게)
깊이 빠진 듯이
(그래 그렇게 그래 그렇게 그래 그렇게)

Mystery Mystery Mystery Mystery-tery
Lalalala lalalala Lalalala lalalala
Mystery-tery Myste–te-tery

Come and get it baby Come and get it get it
Come and get it baby Come and get it get it
Come and get it baby Come and get it get it
3, 2, 1

나와 같이 춤을 추지 그댄 어느새
내게 맞춘 움직임
매너도 눈빛도 so well
리듬 속의 내 목소리
역시 네겐 최면처럼
스며 드는 eyes 날 더 원해 봐

마치 홀린 듯이
(아무도 몰래)
맘을 뺏긴 듯이
(나로만 가득하게)
깊이 빠진 듯이
(그래 그렇게 그래 그렇게 그래 그렇게)

Mystery Mystery Mystery Mystery-tery
Lalalala lalalala Lalalala lalalala
Mystery-tery Myste–te-tery

Come on baby 참는 것은 해로워 Whistle
참지 말고 다가와서
말해줘 모두 쉿
최면 걸린 듯 coach 데려가
날 사라지기 전
아슬하게 와

Look into my eyes
내게 말해 봐

Mystery Mystery Mystery Mystery-tery
Lalalala lalalala Lalalala lalalala
Mystery-tery Myste–te-tery

Come and get it baby Come and get it get it
Come and get it baby Come and get it get it

Mystery-tery Myste–te-tery

Mystery

Seemingly indifferent, your gaze stopped on my Dance
Starting to nervously shake, my Breath
In the rhythm, my movements
Is hypnotic as expected
Falling for me, your eyes looking at me

As if you’ve been bewitched
(without anyone knowing)
As if your heart is stolen
(Only filled with me)
As if you’ve fallen deeply
(Yeah, like that, yeah, like that, yeah, like that)

Mystery Mystery Mystery Mystery-tery
Lalalala lalalala Lalalala lalalala
Mystery-tery Myste–te-tery

Come and get it baby Come and get it get it
Come and get it baby Come and get it get it
Come and get it baby Come and get it get it
3, 2, 1

You dance with me, suddenly you
Match my movement,
even your manners, your stare, so well
In the rhythm, my voice
Is hypnotic as expected
Smoldering eyes, try wanting me more

As if you’ve been bewitched
(without anyone knowing)
As if your heart is stolen
(Only filled with me)
As if you’ve fallen deeply
(Yeah, like that, yeah, like that, yeah, like that)

Mystery Mystery Mystery Mystery-tery
Lalalala lalalala Lalalala lalalala
Mystery-tery Myste–te-tery

Come on baby, it’s bad to hold it in, Whistle
Don’t hold back and come closer,
Tell me everything, shh
Like you’ve been hypnotized, coach
Take me away before I disappear
Thrillingly, come to me

Look into my eyes
Tell me

Mystery Mystery Mystery Mystery-tery
Lalalala lalalala Lalalala lalalala
Mystery-tery Myste–te-tery

Come and get it baby Come and get it get it
Come and get it baby Come and get it get it

Mystery-tery Myste–te-tery

Leave a Reply

