Jive Monkey Playlist: 2/3/17

Oftentimes, I think when you see a track with rappers you expect to hear something edgy and tenacious.  But sometimes, rappers are able to show their sensitive side.  And that’s what I see in the case of the tracks on this week’s playlist.

I always knew that Loco was pretty darn sweet out of the AOMG crew.  However, I can but help swooning every time he does lovey-dovey tracks.  Aided by the smooth crooning of Sam Kim, Loco has such a wonderfully mellow flow in this track.

Sometimes love songs can be all things nice but I do like how this song references a realistic side.  As much as his feelings are similar to what’s reflected on a Hallmark Valentine’s Day card, he recognizes that couples fight.  However, the important thing is that they don’t forget all those cheesy feelings that they have for each other as it keeps the relationship fresh.  Similarly, I love how the sets of the music video feature a more realistic representation versus a romantic setting as they get into the flow of the track. The only thing I’m confused about is the weird placing of the apostrophe.

샘김(SAM KIM), 로꼬 – Think About’ Chu (Prod. By 박근태)

Think About’ Chu (Prod. By 박근태)

언제부턴가 많은 말이 Baby
우리에게 필요 없어진
수많은 밤을 함께 보낸 우리들에게
다가오는 아름다운 날들 yeah

우린 서로 마냥 끌렸지 Baby
우린 마치 자석 같았어
아름다운 네 손을 처음 잡았을 때 나
느껴지는 너와 나 둘만의 사랑

Baby now oh yeah
Wooh baby baby baby baby baby
I love you baby baby baby oh yeah
Yes you are
Baby baby yes you are
Think about’ you think about’ chu
Think about’ you
I’ve been thinking about’ chu

베개 위에 머리가 닿을 때
포근한 미소가 지어져 yeah
시선이 마주치고 손이 맞닿을 땐
빨리 가는 시간이 미워져 yeah
타오르는 장작불 앞에 앉아
연기를 바라봐 yeah yeah
벅차올라 기분은 높아지고
우리는 그 연기를 타고 날아가
yeah yeah yeah

그 많은 날을 혼자 있었지 baby
마치 얼음처럼 차가웠던 날들
나를 향한 네 미소를 느꼈을 때
내 마음은 이미 타오르는 한 여름 yeah

서로 미워한 적도 있었지 baby
싸우는지 연애인지 모를 만큼
그 때마다 우린
이 노래를 들으면서
서로의 얼굴 빤히 보며 웃었던

그 기억 여기서 또 한번
너와 나 둘만의 사랑이
느껴지네 느껴지네
오늘 밤 baby now

다시 느껴져 난 느껴지네
두 볼이 붉어지게
깊어지는 밤에 yeah
이 깊어지는 밤에

Think about’ you think about’ chu
Think about’ you and
I’ve been thinking about’ chu
Think about’ you yeah yeah

Think About’ Chu (Prod. By Park Geun Tae)

When was it? A lot of words, Baby
That we didn’t need it
Countless night spent together, to us
The coming beautiful days, yeah

We’re forever attracted to each other, Baby
We’re like magnets
When I first held your beautiful hands,
the love felt between the two of us, you and I

Baby now oh yeah
Wooh baby baby baby baby baby
I love you baby baby baby oh yeah
Yes you are
Baby baby yes you are
Think about’ you think about’ chu
Think about’ you
I’ve been thinking about’ chu

When your head reaches the top of the pillow
And you smile warmly, yeah
Our eyes meet and our hands touch
I hate the swiftly moving clock, yeah
Sitting in front of the burning firewood
I look at the smoke, yeah yeah
Overwhelming, my mood is heightened
We are riding on that smoke
yeah yeah yeah

I was alone for all those days, baby
Like ice, the days were cold
When I felt your smile directed at me
My heart was already a burning summer, yeah

There was a time we hated each other, baby
To the point where we didn’t know if we were fighters or lovers
On such occasions, we
As we listened to this song
Stared intently at each other’s faces and smiled

Here comes memory once more
the love between the two of us, you and I
Feel it, feel it
Tonight, baby now

Feel it again, I feel it
Both cheeks reddening
The night growing longer, yeah
This night growing longer

Think about’ you think about’ chu
Think about’ you and
I’ve been thinking about’ chu
Think about’ you yeah yeah

_____________________________________________________

Leave it to Dynamic Duo to be profound.  Produced by the incredibly talented Philtre, “기다렸다 가 (Just Wait a While and Go)” is just about life and dealing with the day to day stresses.  As I listen to the song and watch the music video, I can’t help thinking about something my mom expressed to me when I was a kid that couldn’t wait to be an adult.  At that time, I may feel that time was going very slowly at the age of 15 but that’s because I was only going at the speed of 15 mph through life.  However, with each age, your speed increases and suddenly you find that you’re middle aged and life is passing by so quickly.

I don’t mean to tell that story to make people sad.  I tell the story as a reminder that sometimes you just need to stop and take a look at the life around you, in that moment.  Even if you’re going through a hard time, take a moment to yourself and lean on the strength of someone you trust and then pick yourself up again.  It’s quite an uplifting message.  As much as EXO’s Chen rendition of the chorus sounds like a clichéd response that even though everything is bad, it’ll all turn out alright, it’s incredibly comforting to hear.  After all, sometimes all you need is some reassurance, said aloud, that the light at the end of the dark tunnel is not that far off.

I know that the English song title is “nosedive” but I actually prefer the Korean song title as it’s more optimistic.  And these days, we all need optimism in our lives.

다이나믹 듀오(Dynamic Duo), 첸 (EXO) – 기다렸다 가

기다렸다 가

일이 피곤했나 오늘따라
한 두 잔에 퍼지네
반 뼘짜리 위로 한숨 피우고 나니
기분이 좀 나아지네
요즘 들어 사는 게 봄 가을 같아
좋은 건 다 짧게 지나가
어떤 이는 내가 아닌 나로
나를 만들어 들었다 놓곤 스치듯
내 곁을 떠나가
내가 강해졌던 건지 무뎌졌던 건지
일년에 한 두 번 울먹임을 다했던
내가 눈물이 다 나네 가리워진 길
그 노래가 내 마음에 들렸을 때
조금 녹았어 이유는 다 스트레스야
무너지기 싫어
버티고 증발해버릴까
꽉 쥐고 있던 대가

힘들 때 아프게 그냥 울어도 돼
더 서럽게
슬픔이 갈 때
눈물이 그칠 쯤에
내 엄지로
네 눈 밑을 쓸어 줄게

짠해 다 그런 거지 뭐 라며
내가 소주병을 깔 때
마흔이 다 돼 첨 배웠다는
너의 손에 어색하게 들린 담배가
뿜어내는 구름이
우릴 안아주는 것 같아
참았던 기침 섞인 웃음이
터져 나와 잠시나마
혼자가 아닌 것 같아
우린 서로를 친구라고 부르지
때론 우울이란 불운이
날 막아서 나태라는 그물이
다들 자기 갈 길 잘 가는데
나만 멈춰선 것 같아
이대로 괜찮을까? 라는 물음이
머릿속을 떠나지 않아 계속 무력하게
현실을 겉돌다 보면
때론 내가 유령 같애
고독은 무덤 같애
넌 그 속에서
날 언제나 꺼내줘
이 노래 후렴 같애

힘들 때 아프게 그냥 울어도 돼
더 서럽게
슬픔이 갈 때
눈물이 그칠 쯤에
내 엄지로
네 눈 밑을 쓸어 줄게

혼자가 되기 싫어 오늘도
누군가를 붙잡고 혼자 두지 않지만
집에 돌아오는 길은 역시 외로워
TV를 틀어놓고 잠이 오길 기다려
수 많은 평점 속에
날 채점하지 않는 몇몇과
오래 함께 하고 싶네
적막한 하루의 문턱을 넘어갈 수 있게
내가 나로 온전히 살아갈 수 있게

가끔씩은 지독하게 허무해
왜 사나 싶어
도대체 난 어디로 가나 싶어
그럴싸한 가면을 써
이제는 익숙해진
가명을 써
이게 내가 맞나 싶어
이렇게 갈피를 못 잡고 헤맬 때
누군가 같이 있어준다는 건
계산할 수 없는 가치
거짓처럼 껍질만 남은 세상
우린 서로를 장난처럼 간단하게 판단하지 않지

힘에 부쳐 잠깐 눈 좀 붙여
얼마나 고됐을까
바람과 이 비가 지나갈 때 까지만
기다렸다가

힘들 때 아프게 그냥 울어도 돼
슬픔이 갈 때
눈물이 그칠 쯤에
내 엄지로
네 눈 밑을 쓸어 줄게

Just Wait a While and Go

Today of all days was work tiring
One, two glasses multiplies
After letting out a long sigh into space
I feel a bit better
Feeling these days that it’s like Spring and Fall
The good things pass quickly
Some people turn me into things I’m not
After putting me up, like brushing past,
they leave me
Whether I’ve gotten strong, or indifferent
Had been close to tears about once or twice a year
But now I cry on this dark road
When that song is heard in my heart
I melted a bit, the reason is stress
Don’t want to break down,
should I endure it and disappear?
The cost of holding onto it tightly

When it’s hard, you can just cry agonizingly
More despondently
When the sadness leaves
When the tears are about to stop
With my thumb
I’ll brush across the bottom of your eye

It’s sad but it’s all like that by saying what?
When I crack open the bottle of soju
I first learned at the age of forty
The awkward cigarette held in your hand
The cloud of smoke you expel
It’s like it’s enveloping around us
The cough I held in mixed with laughter
Explodes briefly
It’s like I’m not alone
We call each other friends
Sometimes the misfortunes of depression
Blocks me with a net called laziness
Everyone is walking their own path
Feel like I’m the only one standing still
Questions like, Will I be okay like this?
Doesn’t leave my head, continuously powerless
After walking around reality
Sometimes I’m like a ghost
Loneliness is like the grave,
That from within, you
Always take me out of,
Like the chorus of this song

When it’s hard, you can just cry agonizingly
More despondently
When the sadness leaves
When the tears are about to stop
With my thumb
I’ll brush across the bottom of your eye

I don’t want to be alone, today again
I’m holding onto someone, not wanting to be alone but
On the way home, of course, loneliness
Turning on the TV, I wait for sleep to come
Amongst the countless evaluations,
those who don’t rate me are
the ones I want to be with for a long time
So I can step through the door of dreary day
So I can live completely as myself

Occasionally, I’m incredibly futile
I wonder why I live
Where the hell am I going?
I wear a decent mask,
Just now used to
I go by my fake name,
I wonder if this is the right thing
When I struggle from not being able to make up my mind
Being together with someone is
An incalculable thing
Like a lie, a world with only an exterior shell
We don’t judge each other like a simple game

Have strength, close your eyes for a bit
How hard it must have been
Until this wind and rain passes
Just wait a while and go

When it’s hard, you can just cry agonizingly
When the sadness leaves
When the tears are about to stop
With my thumb
I’ll brush across the bottom of your eye

Leave a Reply

