Jive Monkey Playlist: 3/10/17

Taeyeon is one of my favorite members of Girls Generation.  She’s adorably cute and a great singer.  As the Girls Generation are slowly figuring out what their next steps are after the group, I have to admit that I was slightly worried that Taeyeon’s talent would be backed into the medium tempo pop and ballad corner.  Don’t get me wrong because I loved Taeyeon’s single, “11:11”.  But I feel like delivered with her first studio album because I love that she’s experimenting with all different sub-genres of pop.

The album does feel like it have a lot of personal songs which is all lovely in its own way but I have to admit that I was drawn to the daring tracks.  The two tracks that I’ve selected today for the playlist really depict Taeyeon as a strong, confident woman, which is exactly how imagine she is in real life.

“Cover Up” has a catchy, rhythmical beat and a familiar house style but I love how the lyrics depict her as a confident woman that’s not afraid to admit her feelings.  There’s no gender role when it comes to confessing your feelings and she’s taking the lead here.  I think that’s a trait that’s admirable especially for young girls who feel like their role is to sit demurely at home and wait for that phone call or text.  Without any pretense, she seizes her destiny with her own hands.

Taeyeon – Cover Up

태연 (TAEYEON) – Cover Up

Cover Up

오늘도 별처럼 네 마음을 따라
또 너의 곁을 맴돌지
Stop 난 어지러워 선명한 네 맘을
이젠 알고 싶어져
밤하늘에도 거리에도
전부 너의 모습이 가득한 걸
좀 더 시간이 필요하다면
또 널 기다리겠지만
Boy I can’t cover up my heart
널 보면 난 웃음이 새어 나와
아무도 몰래 내게 스며들어
조금씩 커져 가는 맘
Boy I can’t cover up
Can’t cover it up can’t can’t cover it up no
Can’t cover it up no
I just can’t cover it up come on
Can’t cover it up can’t can’t cover it up no
커져 가는 맘
Boy I can’t cover up
난 조심스럽게 네 색깔을 입고
또 네 옆에 자릴 잡지
내 맘과 같은지
얼마만큼 인지
말을 해줘 Yes or no
밤하늘에도 거리에도
전부 너의 모습이 가득한 걸
좀 더 시간이 필요하다면
또 널 기다리겠지만
Boy I can’t cover up my heart
널 보면 난 웃음이 새어 나와
아무도 몰래 내게 스며들어
조금씩 커져 가는 맘
Boy I can’t cover up
Yeah in my heart
언젠가 나의 곁에 와 줄 너와
달콤한 꿈을 꾸는 상상을 해
I want you 커져 가는 맘
Boy I can’t cover up
I said it I said it (I love you love you)
I mean it I mean it (I love you love you)
말하는 이 순간
후회한대도 너를 향한 진심인 걸
Boy I can’t cover up my heart
널 보면 난 웃음이 새어 나와
아무도 몰래 내게 스며들어
조금씩 커져 가는 맘
Boy I can’t cover up
Yeah in my heart
언젠가 나의 곁에 와 줄 너와
달콤한 꿈을 꾸는 상상을 해
I want you 커져 가는 맘
Boy I can’t cover up
Can’t cover it up can’t cover it up no
(I love you love you)
Can’t cover it up can’t cover it up no more
(I love you love you)
Can’t cover it up can’t cover it up
커져 가는 맘
Boy I can’t cover up

Cover Up

Even today like the stars, I follow your heart
Circle around you again
Stop, I’m dizzy, your unmistakable heart
Now I want to get to know it
Even in the night sky and even on the streets
Filled entirely with the image of you
If you need a little more time
I’ll probably wait for you again but
Boy I can’t cover up my heart
When I see you, my smile slips out
Without anyone knowing you permeate through me
My feelings slowly growing
Boy I can’t cover up
Can’t cover it up can’t can’t cover it up no
Can’t cover it up no
I just can’t cover it up come on
Can’t cover it up can’t can’t cover it up no
Feelings growing
Boy I can’t cover up
Carefully I wear your colors and
I take a seat next to you again
If you’re feelings are like my own,
how much is it like it
Tell me, Yes or no
Even in the night sky and even on the streets
Filled entirely with the image of you
If you need a little more time
I’ll probably wait for you again but
Boy I can’t cover up my heart
When I see you, my smile slips out
Without anyone knowing you permeate through me
My feelings slowly growing
Boy I can’t cover up
Yeah in my heart
Someday you’ll come to me
Imagine dreaming of sweet dreams
I want you, feelings growing
Boy I can’t cover up
I said it I said it (I love you love you)
I mean it I mean it (I love you love you)
The moment I say it
Even if you regret it, my true feelings towards you
Boy I can’t cover up my heart
When I see you, my smile slips out
Without anyone knowing you permeate through me
My feelings slowly growing
Boy I can’t cover up
Yeah in my heart
Someday you’ll come to me
Imagine dreaming of sweet dreams
I want you, feelings growing
Boy I can’t cover up
Can’t cover it up can’t cover it up no
(I love you love you)
Can’t cover it up can’t cover it up no more
(I love you love you)
Can’t cover it up can’t cover it up
Feelings growing
Boy I can’t cover up

Along those same lines of seizing your destiny, “I Got Love” is… simply put, it’s damn sexy. Taeyeon is a woman who knows what she wants and with a laser-like focus, she’s going to get it. I love how she exudes power, sexiness and femininity in the music video with her come hither stare. Plus, her wardrobe is to die for.

The track’s urban R&B style and its hypnotizing, synthesizing sound, it feels like we’re under her spell.  Taeyeon knows what she wants and she’s not going to let anything get in her way.  In fact, she’s already got what she wanted because the song’s title is “I Got Love”.  The word “got” is so bold whereas the word “want” would come off passive.  She’s not going to mess around and it’s hard not to be captivated by that self-confidence.

태연 (TAEYEON) – I Got Love

I Got Love

유희는 쉬워
이 밤을 보낼 그 흔한 방법
그러기엔 우린 좀 달라 분명
그러자 밤의 마법이 욕망이
달이 속삭여
괜찮아 허니

어둠이 깊어 비밀을 덮어줄 테니
이끄는 대로 가 보고 싶은데

자 말해봐
want you baby want you baby
우주 같은
네 안으로
need you closer need you closer
빠져들면
달뜬 한숨도 나부낀 나도
취한 듯 꿈을 헤매
너를 헤매
믿어지니?

긴밀히 쌓인
너와 나 서로를 탐하던 단어
열기 가린 가면 벗어던져
끊어질 듯한 긴장은 의심은 사라졌으니
예 어서 와 허니

눈 앞의 존재 넌 살아 움직이는데
오감에 취해 널 더 알고 싶어

자 말해봐
want you baby want you baby
우주 같은
네 안으로
need you closer need you closer
빠져들면
달뜬 한숨도 나부낀 나도
취한 듯 꿈을 헤매
너를 헤매
믿어지니?

전부 무너지게
다 녹아 버리게
터무니 없이 미치게 해
Come and turn me on
You don’t stop that fire
‘cause I got love I got love I got love

자 말해봐
want you baby want you baby
우주 같은
네 안으로
need you closer need you closer
빠져들면
달뜬 한숨도 나부낀 나도
취한 듯 꿈을 헤매
너를 헤매
믿어지니?

꿈인 듯해
너를 헤매
난 너만 원해
믿어지니?

I Got Love

Playing is easy
It’s a common way to spend this night
But we’re definitely a bit different to do that
And then, the magic of the night, the desire,
the moon whispers
It’s okay, honey

The darkness is deep, it’ll cover up our secrets
Go with the flow, I want to see it

Now, tell me,
want you baby want you baby
Like space
Inside you,
need you closer need you closer
when I fall for you
Even I, who lets out a restless sign
Like I’m drunk, wander through my dreams
Wander through you
Do you believe it?

Closely huddled together
You and I, words saying we want each other
Hiding the heat, take off the mask and toss it
As it’s about to shoot off, anxiety and doubt disappears
Yeah, come on over, honey

In front of me, the existence of you is alive and moving
Drunk with all five senses, want to know you more

Now, tell me,
want you baby want you baby
Like space
Inside you,
need you closer need you closer
when I fall for you
Even I, who lets out a restless sign
Like I’m drunk, wander through my dreams
Wander through you
Do you believe it?

So that it all collapses
So that it all melts
Make me go ridiculously crazy
Come and turn me on
You don’t stop that fire
‘cause I got love I got love I got love

Now, tell me,
want you baby want you baby
Like space
Inside you,
need you closer need you closer
when I fall for you
Even I, who lets out a restless sign
Like I’m drunk, wander through my dreams
Wander through you
Do you believe it?

It’s like a dream
Wander through you
I only want you
Do you believe it?

Leave a Reply

