Jive Monkey Playlist: 3/17/17

Sometimes an artist will come along and they’ll just hit with a song that reaches your core.  It’s love at first sight, or rather first listen.  Months go by and you hope that with each new release you get that feeling you had at the beginning.  Let’s face it.  The relationship is not always going to be like that but you’re loyal and consistent.  And then, another track comes along that excites you again.  Today’s playlist, there are two artists who reignited that flame with their latest tracks.

When I first saw BewhY on Show Me the Money 4, he just wasn’t ready to command the stage.  It just wasn’t his time.  And then when I saw him audition on Show Me the Money 5, I realized that his persistence and hard work was going to pay off.  It wasn’t until much later on when I really dug his performance of “Day Day,” as that’s the kind of hip hop I typically like.  I’m all about the groovin’ and flashy dance moves.

And then for the finale, he performed “자화상 pt.2 (Fake) (Self-Portrait pt. 2 (Fake))”.  I think I just sat there in stunned silence for a few minutes afterwards.  Not only were the lyrics deeply personal but his understanding of how to command the stage and riff that incredible flow just blew me away.

I have featured BewhY on this playlist post since then because I have liked his collaborations with other artists but it wasn’t until I heard “UNO” which reminded me of how hypnotizing his flow can be.  This single is part of project called Super Collabo in which Korean artists collaborate with the best US rappers and BewhY collaborates with Big K.R.I.T. (aka Justin Scott).

I’m not familiar with Big K.R.I.T or many of the up and coming rappers in the US these days but his flow seems to resemble G2’s impish style.  I’ll admit that I didn’t entirely love Big K.R.I.T’s first lyrics in the track as he starts off introducing himself which seems a bit elementary but once he gets into it, I feel like he finds his stride and the lyrics are quite smooth.  As BewhY is often knowing for playing around with the beat and flow, the track incorporates an electronic synth sound with a powerful bass as a backing track.  He exudes confidence as he plays around with the word “uno” to express how he’s at the top of his game right now.  I hope that he never comes down.

BewhY, Big K.R.I.T. – 우노 (UNO)

비와이(BewhY), Big K.R.I.T.(빅 크릿) – 우노 (UNO)

우노 (UNO)

Worldwide stunner
BewhY가 너의 wanna be
대중은 알아
쟤가 나랑 꽤 많이 다른 이유
에너지의 차이와 내 머리의 싸이즈
Body n mind내일의 것을 어제 가진 듯 난
오늘 행동하지 culture n economy
사이의 거리를
더욱더 좁혀버릴 놈
콜미 선구자 콜미 선구자
잘나가는 건 역시
쟤네를 불행하게 하는 일인 것 같아
미래지향적인 말투 내 가사는
미래의 나를 봐버린 내 목격담
권능 가득해진 내 혓바닥
말대로 이뤄질걸 아마
라고 안 해 이룬 듯이
빨간 카페트를 난 걸어가
있으나 마나한 애들 사이에서
짱이 되긴 꽤나 쉬웠지
자칭 잘나간다고 말하는 애들
내 눈에는 그저 귀엽지
주둥아리 닫고
너는 내가 거대해지기만을 보면 돼
이제 내가 너를 쉬게 할게
위대함의 안에 들여보내
난 uno
내 팀 uno
My girl Uno
I’m doing Uno
Numero Uno (No matter what uno)
Numero Uno (No matter what uno)
Numero Uno (No matter what uno)
No dos
난 uno
내 팀 uno
My girl Uno
I’m doing Uno
Numero Uno (No matter what uno)
Numero Uno (No matter what uno)
Numero Uno (No matter what uno)
No dos
Young krizzle shawty
One of one with it
what you mean you know
another southern player out here
that could peep the flow
numero uno country
bunking with the tweets and lows
last dragon Bruce Leroy got to
peep the glow out the trunk
thumping surround in this whip
dodging them laws like I’m in the matrix
if you was a winner you’d know how it is
to get an award just for talking yo shit
I got a new agenda bout it
shawty monkey so good
you could squeeze a benz up out it
talking top drops 7 series
throw some rims around it
just to flex blow check
cuz I’m only one that been about it lately
golden child wavy
gimme the knife
so i cut the cake that they paid me
owner and play for the team
they can’t trade me
God and the talent
he gave me what made me
you know slamming these
does like a sumo
for all the times haters was hating
cuz i was uno
24k the gold like I’m Bruno
chopping these blades on foes
i call it kubo 4real
all i ever wanted was a grill
and the candy paint that you can’t touch
but might spill on the curb
country shit worldwide ya heard
parade down 8th street
swanging and swerve uno
난 uno
내 팀 uno
My girl Uno
I’m doing Uno
Numero Uno (No matter what uno)
Numero Uno (No matter what uno)
Numero Uno (No matter what uno)
No dos
난 uno
내 팀 uno
My girl Uno
I’m doing Uno
Numero Uno (No matter what uno)
Numero Uno (No matter what uno)
Numero Uno (No matter what uno)
No dos
그래미 그래미 가기 전에
내 명반들을 준비
티비에서도 봤잖아
나는 내 음악을 니 취향에 맞추지 않아
Minor n underground
부심 제일 잘나가니
보이는 건 질투지
내 반의 반의 반의 반도 못 채울 니
엉아들의 그릇의 크기
Hold up hold up hold up leggo
One of one who don’t wanna be one
Top with it who don’t wanna see one
A legacy who don’t wanna lead one
If you ain’t uno one gang
you don’t wanna see none
One of one who don’t wanna be one
Top with it who don’t wanna see one
A legacy who don’t wanna lead one
If you ain’t uno one gang
you don’t wanna see none
난 uno
내 팀 uno
My girl Uno
I’m doing Uno
Numero Uno (No matter what uno)
Numero Uno (No matter what uno)
Numero Uno (No matter what uno)
No dos
난 uno
내 팀 uno
My girl Uno
I’m doing Uno
Numero Uno (No matter what uno)
Numero Uno (No matter what uno)
Numero Uno (No matter what uno)
No dos

UNO

Worldwide stunner
BewhY, you wanna be
The general public knows
The reason why they’re really different from me
Differences in energy and the size of my head
Body n mind, I’ve achieved tomorrow’s stuff yesterday
So I act today, culture n economy
The distance between them
I’m the guy bringing them close
Call me a pioneer, call me a pioneer
As expected, being successful
Seems like it means making them unhappy
Futuristic words, my lyrics
Has already given an eyewitness account of my future self
Full of power, my tongue
Things will happen as they are said
Won’t say probably cause it’s done
Walk the red carpet
Between guys who care less
It was easy to become the best
Kids who call themselves successful
In my eyes, they’re cute
Shut your trap
You just need to watch me get big
Now I’ll let you rest
Send you off within my greatness
I’m uno
My team uno
My girl Uno
I’m doing Uno
Numero Uno (No matter what uno)
Numero Uno (No matter what uno)
Numero Uno (No matter what uno)
No dos
I’m uno
My team uno
My girl Uno
I’m doing Uno
Numero Uno (No matter what uno)
Numero Uno (No matter what uno)
Numero Uno (No matter what uno)
No dos
Young krizzle shawty
One of one with it
what you mean you know
another southern player out here
that could peep the flow
numero uno country
bunking with the tweets and lows
last dragon Bruce Leroy got to
peep the glow out the trunk
thumping surround in this whip
dodging them laws like I’m in the matrix
if you was a winner you’d know how it is
to get an award just for talking yo shit
I got a new agenda bout it
shawty monkey so good
you could squeeze a benz up out it
talking top drops 7 series
throw some rims around it
just to flex blow check
cuz I’m only one that been about it lately
golden child wavy
gimme the knife
so i cut the cake that they paid me
owner and play for the team
they can’t trade me
God and the talent
he gave me what made me
you know slamming these
does like a sumo
for all the times haters was hating
cuz i was uno
24k the gold like I’m Bruno
chopping these blades on foes
i call it kubo 4real
all i ever wanted was a grill
and the candy paint that you can’t touch
but might spill on the curb
country shit worldwide ya heard
parade down 8th street
swanging and swerve uno
I’m uno
My team uno
My girl Uno
I’m doing Uno
Numero Uno (No matter what uno)
Numero Uno (No matter what uno)
Numero Uno (No matter what uno)
No dos
I’m uno
My team uno
My girl Uno
I’m doing Uno
Numero Uno (No matter what uno)
Numero Uno (No matter what uno)
Numero Uno (No matter what uno)
No dos
Grammy, Grammy, before I go
Get ready for my fame
You saw it on TV
I don’t make my music to suit your tastes
Minor n underground
From center stage, since I’m the best
all I see is jealousy
Can’t even fill up my half of a half of a half of a half
That’s the size of the plate of you kiddies
Hold up hold up hold up leggo
One of one who don’t wanna be one
Top with it who don’t wanna see one
A legacy who don’t wanna lead one
If you ain’t uno one gang
you don’t wanna see none
One of one who don’t wanna be one
Top with it who don’t wanna see one
A legacy who don’t wanna lead one
If you ain’t uno one gang
you don’t wanna see none
I’m uno
My team uno
My girl Uno
I’m doing Uno
Numero Uno (No matter what uno)
Numero Uno (No matter what uno)
Numero Uno (No matter what uno)
No dos
I’m uno
My team uno
My girl Uno
I’m doing Uno
Numero Uno (No matter what uno)
Numero Uno (No matter what uno)
Numero Uno (No matter what uno)
No dos

_____________________________________________________

Ballad/Lounge Pop duo group, Postmen, has been around 2010 but I feel that they didn’t really grab a large fan following until they released their ballad track, “신촌을 못가 (Can’t Go to Sinchon)” in 2013. In fact, the song found its resurgence on the music charts in late 2014 in which I heard it for the first time. Since then, I’ve been following Postmen for some time but I never quite found a track that I emotionally connected with since that first track.

That is, until I heard “하나부터 열 (From One to Ten)”.  It’s a cute love song about a guy who is figuring out that he’s in love with this girl.  I love that from one to ten he’s discovering a list of things that drive him crazy with love.  With its catchy, upbeat melody, the song’s release is just in time for cherry blossom season in Korea when the trees are sprinkling petals so lovers can recreate their favorite, cheesy scenes from K-Dramas.

Postmen –하나부터 (From One to Ten)

포스트맨(Postmen) – 하나부터 열

하나부터 열

오늘 뭐해 시간 어때
잠깐 볼래
아무렇지 않은 말도 네게 할땐
몇번을 고치고 한참을 망설였던 나
everyday miss you
매일 니 생각만
everybody 누가 나 좀 말려줘요
내가 왜 이러지 언제부터였지
자꾸 숨이 가빠 미치겠어
내겐 하나부터 열까지 모두
어디 하나 예쁘지 않은게
없어서 안 보여서
하루 하루 꿈을 꾸는것 같아
이게 사랑일까 넌 사랑일까
애써 관심없는척 해봐도
자꾸 눈에 밟혀
정말 너를 사랑하게 돼버렸어
오늘따라 장난스런 표정으로
나 달라진거 없냐며
어때 묻는 너의 얼굴이
날 설레게 만들었지
everyday miss you
매일 니 생각만
everybody 누가 나 좀 말려줘요
나를 보는 눈빛 따뜻한 너의 손 마치
나를 위한 사람같아
내겐 하나부터 열까지 모두
어디 하나 예쁘지 않은게
없어서 안 보여서
하루 하루 꿈을 꾸는것 같아
이게 사랑일까 넌 사랑일까
애써 관심없는척 해봐도
자꾸 눈에 밟혀
정말 너를 사랑하게 되버렸어
네 앞에 서면 부끄러워
아무것도 할수 없는거야
너는 아는가봐 내가 왜이런지
왜 그저 웃기만 하는데 대답해줘
봄보다 더 따뜻하고
첫눈보다 더 설레이는 걸
참 부족한 내곁에
믿고 기다려준 네게 고마워
너무 사랑한다 널 사랑한다
가슴이 시키는 말 한마디
매일 누구보다
아껴주고 사랑해준 널 사랑해

From One to Ten

What are you doing today? Are you free?
Want to meet for a bit?
When I say simple things to you
I fix it several times and hesitate for a long time
everyday miss you,
everyday only thoughts of you
everybody, somebody stop me
Why am I like this? From when did this happen
Keep breathing hard, going crazy
To me, from one to ten, everything
Where is the one thing that’s not pretty?
Because there’s none, because I don’t see it
Day after day, it’s like I’m dreaming
Is this love? Are you love?
Though I try to pretend I don’t care
I keep seeing you
Come to really fallen in love with you
Even today, with that playful expression
Asking if anything’s changed with me
How is it that your inquisitive face
makes me nervous
everyday miss you,
everyday only thoughts of you
everybody, somebody stop me
When you see me, your gaze, even your warm hands
It’s like you were meant for me
To me, from one to ten, everything
Where is the one thing that’s not pretty?
Because there’s none, because I don’t see it
Day after day, it’s like I’m dreaming
Is this love? Are you love?
Though I try to pretend I don’t care
I keep seeing you
Come to really fallen in love with you
Standing in front of you, I’m embarrassed
Can’t do anything
You must know why I’m like this
Why do you just keep smiling, tell me
Warmer than Spring and
more excited than the first snow
Beside my lacking self,
thank you for having faith in and waiting for me
Love you a lot, I love you
It’s the one thing that my heart is telling me
Every day, more than anyone else
Cared for and loved by, I love you

Leave a Reply

