Jive Monkey Playlist: 3/31/17

During the day, it’s often hard to find time just for yourself.  Whether it’s spent juggling the phone and emails at work or running around doing errands or even the bustling hours of the commute rush, it’s seems like life is all about go, go, go.  Sometimes all you crave is that quiet time of the day, which is usually the night, when you can finally hear your own thoughts.  This week’s playlist is all about the ladies expressing their emotions during the most tranquil time of the day.

I swear IU isn’t from this generation.  She’s an old soul.  And I feel that every time I hear her music.  Her lyrics seeps into your soul and makes you feel pleasantly warm, especially her ballads.  And her latest single is no different.

With her latest single, “밤편지 (Night Letter),” I feel like I’ve become privy to her most intimate thoughts.  Even as she is longing for the person she loves from a distance, with the thought that it could all fade away, she always manages to hold on to hope.  I can’t help but be warmed by her positivity.

아이유(IU) – 밤편지

밤편지

이 밤 그날의 반딧불을
당신의 창 가까이 보낼게요
음 사랑한다는 말 이에요

나 우리의 첫 입맞춤을 떠올려
그럼 언제든 눈을 감고
음 가장 먼 곳으로 가요

난 파도가 머물던
모래 위에 적힌 글씨처럼
그대가 멀리 사라져 버릴 것 같아
늘 그리워 그리워

여기 내 마음속에
모든 말을 다 꺼내어 줄 순 없지만
사랑한다는 말 이에요

어떻게 나에게 그대란 행운이 온 걸까
지금 우리 함께 있다면 아 얼마나 좋을까요

난 파도가 머물던
모래 위에 적힌 글씨처럼
그대가 멀리 사라져 버릴 것 같아
또 그리워 더 그리워

나의 일기장 안에
모든 말을 다 꺼내어 줄 순 없지만
사랑한다는 말

이 밤 그날의 반딧불을
당신의 창 가까이 띄울게요
음 좋은 꿈 이길 바라요

Night Letter

Tonight, the firefly’s glow of the day
Sending it close to your window
Umm, it means I love you

When I think of our first kiss
Then, every time I close my eyes
Umm, it takes me far away

I, like where the waves linger
on the sand, where there are written words
it’s like you’ll disappear far away
Always longing, longing

Here in my heart
Can’t unload all of those words
But it means that I love you

How did a good fortune like you come to me?
If we’re together now, ah, how great will that be

I, like where the waves linger
on the sand, where there are written words
it’s like you’ll disappear far away
Always longing, longing

In my journal
Can’t unload all of those words
But it means that I love you

Tonight, the firefly’s glow of the day
Launch it close to your window
Umm, I hope you have good dreams

_____________________________________________________

Seo-ro-we-ro is a female duo indie pop group that I’ve discovered recently.  Other than debuting in 2010, there very little information I could find about them.  I’m not even sure what their names are as they literally go by Seo-ro and We-ro on the album.  I have to believe that these are their stagenames as together, their band’s name translates as Comfort Each Other.  So I’ve decided that’s the English name I’m going to use for them.

Oftentimes, I find myself at work until 8, 9, even 10pm.  One of the things that I love about my commute home late at night is that when my train pulls out from the underground tunnel after it has crossed the river from Manhattan, I get this beautiful view of the NYC skyline.  I never get tired of that skyline, whether it is dusk or nightfall.

Comfort Each Other’s title song, “Greenline (2 호선 (Greenline (Number 2 line))” is the perfect soundtrack to that evening commute.  I may not be on the green number 2 line in Seoul and I may not be thinking of an ex as I enjoy my NYC skyline view.  However, I can help but be compelled by We-ro’s sultry voice.

서로위로 – Greenline (2호선)

*눈이 뜨거워져 = The Korean terminology for your eyes welling up with tears is your eyes grow hot. I do admit that it feels like your face gets hot when you’re just about to cry, especially if you’re trying hold back your tears.

Greenline (2호선)

지하철 한 켠에 앉아
너를 떠올려
오늘따라 네 생각이 너무 많이 나

그렇게도 가까웠던
내 모든 것이던 사랑이란 게
어떻게 이렇게도 쉽게 깨어져버렸을까

니가 지금쯤이면
이사 올 거라던 역을 지나쳐
먼 너의 집까지 만나러갔던
나를 지나쳐
우리 함께 본 서울야경도
나의 눈 가득 빛내
나도 모르게 눈이 뜨거워져*
앞이 흐려져

사실 이런 나도
널 다 잊지는 못 했어
아무렇지 않은 척 살고 있지만

가끔은 네 생각에 잠도 잘 안와
잠들고 싶어도
오늘따라 조용한 지하철 안에서
내 마음만 시끄러

매일 헤어지기 아쉬움에
몰래 입 맞춘 곳을 지나쳐
우리 자주 만났던
서울 번화가 추억을 지나쳐
가득 고인 눈물 남들이 볼까 참아야 하는데
결국 나는 고갤 숙이고
발끝에 눈물이 떨어져

Greenline (Number 2 line)

Sitting in the corner of the subway train,
you come to mind
Even today, I’ve been thinking a lot of you

Was once close like that
Love was everything to me
How was it so easy to break apart like this?

Even now,
passing the station you were gonna move to
Meeting you at your place far away,
it passes me by
Watched together, the Seoul night skyline
My eyes are filled with light
Without knowing it, my eyes well up*
And it becomes clouded

Honestly, even I, like this,
Can’t forget you entirely
Living, pretending not to care

Sometimes, can’t sleep easily because of thoughts of you
Even though I want to sleep
Even today, in the quiet subway car
Only my heart is noisy

Regretting breaking up, every day
Secretly pass by the places we’ve kissed
Where we often met
Passing the memories of Seoul’s Main Street
Full of tears, must hold it in for people might see
In the end, I drop my head
Tears falling at the tips of my feet

I’m starting to think that Comfort Each Other is writing songs about my life. These days, I’m not really able to sleep the whole night through. Perhaps it’s because I have a lot on my mind but I find myself getting up when it still pitch dark outside. Sometimes I wonder if I just give up and get up. However, I know that I’m tired and I try to go back to sleep and then I worry if that’s just going to cause me to sleep through my alarms.  Perhaps it’s the thought that I have to wake up again in a few hours that makes me anxious.  Because if I could just stay in bed all day, that would be a dream come true.  The lethargically, jazzy vibe of the song just makes me want to stay in wrapped in the comfort of my blankets.

Comfort Each Other – 새벽, 나의 방 (Dawn, My Room)

서로위로 – 새벽, 나의 방

새벽, 나의 방

새벽 나의 방 너무 일찍 깨어버린
아침을 차려먹고 약을 한 봉지 복용

티브이 재방송도 한 시간쯤은 재미있어
무기력하게 멍하니 딴생각을 해

다시 잠이 들면 몇시간 쯤 후에 일어날지
혹시 잠이 들면 나는 사라지지 않을지

새벽 나의 방 아직 해도 뜨지않는
다시 방에 들어와 차가운 이불속으로

언제의 일이든 꺼내어
또 다시 후회
뛰는 가슴을 애써 진정시켜 봐

다시 잠이 들면 몇시간 쯤 후에 일어날지
혹시 잠이 들면 나는 사라지지 않을지

다시 잠이 들면 몇시간 쯤 후에 일어날지
혹시 잠이 들면 나는 사라지지 않을지

다시 잠이 들면 몇시간 쯤 후에 일어날지
혹시 잠이 들면 나는 사라지지 않을지

Dawn, My Room

Dawn, my room, woken up really early
Make and eat breakfast, take a dose of medicine

Even TV repeats is entertaining for one hour
Lethargically, mindlessly think of something else

If I fall asleep again, what time will I wake up
If I fall asleep, will I disappear

Dawn, my room, the sun hasn’t risen yet
Come into my room again, into the cold blankets

Taking out work from whenever
Again, I regret it
Calm down my beating heart

If I fall asleep again, what time will I wake up
If I fall asleep, will I disappear

If I fall asleep again, what time will I wake up
If I fall asleep, will I disappear

If I fall asleep again, what time will I wake up
If I fall asleep, will I disappear

_____________________________________________________

Okay, I’ll admit that Girl’s Day’s “Thirsty” may sound like it doesn’t fit with today’s theme. Especially considering the songs that I’ve selected above but bear with me. I became hypnotically drawn to this song for a number of reasons.

Despite their heartbreak, I love their honesty. There is quiet power in how they express this pain. Despite it being a fast-tempo song, it almost sounds like you have to listen to the song at a dark corner of a club. And yet, the beat itself is muted to a certain extent. The song feels dark because of the betrayal that she feels. And there’s nothing scarier than expressing your anger in a calm, collected manner.

Girl’s Day – Thirsty

걸스데이(Girl’s Day) – Thirsty

Thirsty

굳게 닫혀버린
한때 달콤한 말을 가득 머금었던
너의 입술이 말라가
꼭 다른 사람 같은 걸
뭔가 조금 외로워

언제부터인가
말린 장미 색깔의 짙은 그림자가
우리 둘 사이를 비추면
둘 사이 예쁜 기억이 ay
먼 과거 같은 이 느낌

우린 서로를 꺾었었나 봐
너무 좋아서 미쳤었나 봐
정말 모든 건 한때야?
난 그게 너무 슬픈 걸

다시 한 번 더 날 바라봐 난 thirsty
내게 아찔하게 쏟아지던 눈빛
왜 넌 생기 없이 말라가는 건데
벽에 걸린 꽃잎같이 dry

한 번 더 날 만져봐 난 thirsty
날 다정하게 쓰다듬던 손길
메말라버린 맘이 바스러진 꿈이
벽에 걸린 꽃잎같이 dry

dry dry dry dry
dry dry dry dry

돌아갈 수 없어 아무리 노력해도
시든 걸 피우는 건
신만의 영역일 테니까
다 다 다 끝났어
넌 초심을 잃었어

전부 잠깐의 꿈이었나 봐
잠시 미쳐서 착각했나 봐
왜 늘 모든 건 변할까?
난 그게 너무 아픈 걸

다시 한 번 더 날 바라봐 난 thirsty
내게 아찔하게 쏟아지던 눈빛
왜 넌 생기 없이 말라가는 건데
벽에 걸린 꽃잎같이 dry

한 번 더 날 만져봐 난 thirsty
날 다정하게 쓰다듬던 손길
메말라버린 맘이 바스러진 꿈이
벽에 걸린 꽃잎같이 dry
dry dry dry dry
dry dry dry dry

ah 향기 없이 말라 가는 꽃잎처럼
추억이 시들어가
딱딱해진 니 마음 태양처럼
뜨거웠던 우리 둘 사인데
부서진 조각 맞춰봐도 넌 far away

다시 한 번 더 날 바라봐 난 thirsty
내게 아찔하게 쏟아지던 눈빛
왜 넌 생기 없이 말라가는 건데
벽에 걸린 꽃잎같이 dry

한 번 더 날 만져봐 난 thirsty
날 다정하게 쓰다듬던 손길
메말라버린 맘이 바스러진 꿈이
벽에 걸린 꽃잎같이 dry
dry dry dry dry
dry dry dry dry
(I got you so thirsty baby)

I got you so I got you so
thirsty baby

I got you so thirsty

Thirsty

Firmly become closed
Once, brimming with sweet words
Your lips go dry
Surely, you’re like a different person
Somehow a bit lonely

Since when was it
The color of a dried rose’s dark shadow
If we shine the light on our relationship
Between us, pretty memories, ay
Feeling like the distant past

We must have broken things off with each other
Must have been crazy because we really liked each other
Is everything really once upon a time?
That’s what really sad

Look at me once more, I’m thirsty
That look that’s engulfing me with dizziness
Why are you, lifelessly, drying up?
Like the petals hanging on the wall, dry

Touch me once more, I’m thirsty
The hand tenderly caressing me
My parched heart, my crumbling dreams
Like the petals hanging on the wall, dry

dry dry dry dry
dry dry dry dry

Can’t go back even though I try
Planted things will blossom
Because it’s only God’s domain
All, all, all finished
You’ve lost your motivation

Must have all been a short dream
Must have imagined it because I was temporarily crazy
Why do things always change?
That’s the thing that hurts me

Look at me once more, I’m thirsty
That look that’s flooding me with dizziness
Why are you, lifelessly, drying up?
Like the petals hanging on the wall, dry

Touch me once more, I’m thirsty
The hand tenderly caressing me
My parched heart, my crumbling dreams
Like the petals hanging on the wall, dry
dry dry dry dry
dry dry dry dry

ah, like petals drying without a scent
Memories wither away
Your heart has become hard, like the sun
Our relationship was hot
Even though I try to fit the broken pieces, you’re far away

Look at me once more, I’m thirsty
That look that’s flooding me with dizziness
Why are you, lifelessly, drying up?
Like the petals hanging on the wall, dry

Touch me once more, I’m thirsty
The hand tenderly caressing me
My parched heart, my crumbling dreams
Like the petals hanging on the wall, dry
dry dry dry dry
dry dry dry dry
(I got you so thirsty baby)

I got you so I got you so
thirsty baby

I got you so thirsty

Leave a Reply

