Jive Monkey Playlist: 4/21/17

I’ve been trying to do better about promoting more female artist for these Friday posts.  I realize that sometimes my attention is easily swayed when I see new music by a male idol group I like but after listening to the plethora of other songs on my phone’s playlist and I find that I kick myself for not posting about that artist, especially female artists.  However, that doesn’t mean that I’m just going to post about any female artists.  Certainly, it’s got to be a song I love and I love it even more if its female singers who are projecting a strong powerful image.

I remember when I saw Davichi at last year’s KCON in LA and thinking that they looked even more beautiful in person that on TV or in photos.  It was like an angelic beam of light shone down on them.  That could have very well been the spotlight above but I insist they radiated in all their elegance.

We’re often used to hearing them sing beautiful, emotional ballads, many times for drama OST’s, but occasionally, they do sing upbeat numbers. I was immediately drawn to the title song, “PATTERN,” from Lee Hae Ri’s first solo album.  First off, I love that she grabs our attention right from the song’s first line.  It’s like she’s provoking a response from her significant other after having to deal with his indifferent behavior.  It’s an understandable feeling how we get in the same patterns of behavior.  And yet, the hypnotic beat feels like a ticking clock for her patience and the cool demeanor of her voice showcases her bold stance on the relationship that seems to be going nowhere fast.

이해리 (다비치) – PATTERN

PATTERN

너 진짜 이럴 거야
네가 만나자 했잖아

요즘 넌 기계처럼 나를 대해
대체 너의 그 표정은 뭐야

영화가 재미없는 게 내 탓은 아니잖아
아마 넌 이별조차 귀찮은 거지
대체 우리 어쩌자는 거야

Where we goin’?
사랑이라 믿고 있는 지루하고도
슬픈 Pattern
더는 애쓸 필요 없어 이렇게 할 바엔
Un Deux Trois

그냥 놓아 버려 놓아 버려
그냥 놓아 버려 놓아 버려

너 진짜 이럴 거야
핸드폰만 보잖아
(그러면서 나한테)

바빠서 연락 못 했다
그 말이 몇 번째야
이제 넌 노력조차 할 줄 모르지
그래 우리 그만하잔 말이야 그만

Where we goin’?
사랑이라 믿고 있는 지루하고도
슬픈 Pattern
더는 애쓸 필요 없어 이렇게 할 바엔
모두 다 지워버려

함께 했던 많은 날과 그 약속들도
늘어지고 늘어져 다 짐이 될 바엔

그냥 놓아 버려 놓아 버려

Where we goin’?
사랑이라 믿고 있는 지루하고도
슬픈 Pattern
더는 애쓸 필요 없어 이렇게 할 바엔

Where we goin’?
사랑이라 믿고 있는 지루하고도
슬픈 Pattern
더는 애쓸 필요 없어 이렇게 할 바엔
Un Deux Trois

그냥 놓아 버려 놓아 버려
그냥 놓아 버려 놓아 버려

PATTERN

Are you really gonna be like this?
You’re the one that asked me out

Lately, you treat me like a machine
Just exactly what does that facial expression mean?

It’s not my fault that the movie isn’t fun
Assuming you don’t want to even bother with breaking up
Just exactly what do you want of us?

Where we goin’?
Even though it’s boring to believe in love,
a sad Pattern
Don’t need to try if you’re gonna act this way
Un Deux Trois

Just let it go, let it go
Just let it go, let it go

Are you really gonna be like this?
Just keep looking at your cell phone
(Keep doing that but to me)

Couldn’t call because I was busy
How many times have you said that?
Now you don’t even know how to try
Yeah, let’s just stop, stop

Where we goin’?
Even though it’s boring to believe in love,
a sad Pattern
Don’t need to try if you’re gonna act this way
Erase everything

The many days we shared and those promises
Drag out and drag on, if it all becomes baggage

Just let it go, let it go

Where we goin’?
Even though it’s boring to believe in love,
a sad Pattern
Don’t need to try if you’re gonna act this way

Where we goin’?
Even though it’s boring to believe in love,
a sad Pattern
Don’t need to try if you’re gonna act this way
Un Deux Trois

Just let it go, let it go
Just let it go, let it go

_____________________________________________________

While Gong Minzy was once my favorite 2NE1 member, I’ll admit that she wasn’t the best singer out of that group.  She is definitely a powerful dancer.  She certainly showcases that strength in the track “ING (알쏭달쏭) (ING (Unclear))”.  While “니나노 (Ninano)” is a cool track with its Arabian-esque pop/hip hop vibe, I was more drawn to this reggae pop track.  Honestly, I felt the lyrics in “Ninano” was trite in its sanguineness.

As for “ING (알쏭달쏭) (ING (Unclear)),” the subject matter of young love and the ups and downs of figuring your relationship status may be trite in and of itself but the combination of the reggae-esque track and Minzy coming across as a woman who knows what she wants is an appealing quality.  The fact that you even know what you want and that you have the courage to speak up for it is half the battle and should be commended.

Gong Minzy – ING (알쏭달쏭) (ING (Unclear))

공민지 – ING (알쏭달쏭)

*어버버버 = uh-buh-buh-buh – an expressive word for feeling discombobulated that you can’t get your feelings or thoughts across.

ING (알쏭달쏭)

난 눈을 떠
메시지를 확인 중
이상하게 네 연락을 자꾸 기다려 왜일까?
설마마마마 Yeah
설마마마마 Yeah

어설픈 사이
만들고 싶지 않아 그러나 내 맘은
계속 ING 쭉 진행중
어머머머머 Yeah
어머머머머 Yeah

어느샌가 너를 바라볼 때면
특별한 감정을 느껴 너는 모를거야

Oh No No No No
Don’t tell him that I love him No No
심장아 나대지 좀 마 그냥 내버려 둬
맘은 아직은 ING

Oh No No No No
Just tell him that I love him Yeah Yeah
그냥 확 말해 볼까? 슬쩍 다가갈까?
내 맘은 여전히 ING

What’s Love? Love?
(맘을 보여줘 네 맘을 보여줘)
진짜 사랑이란? 우정이란?
참 알쏭달쏭이야
What’s Love? Love?
(맘을 보여줘 네 맘을 보여줘)
이게 사랑이야? 뭐가 사랑이야?
참 알쏭달쏭이야

또 연기해
무심한 듯 힐끗
어버버버* 네 앞에선 말도 못해
왜 이럴까?
설마마마마 Yeah
설마마마마 Yeah

음 잠깐! 혹시 너도 내 맘과 같다면
그땐 진짜 우리 어떡해?
어머머머머 Yeah
어머머머머 Yeah (어쩜 좋아)

어느샌가 너를 바라볼 때면
특별한 감정을 느껴 너는 모를거야

Oh No No No No
Just tell him that I love him Yeah Yeah
그냥 확 말해 볼까? 슬쩍 다가갈까?
내 맘은 여전히 ING

What’s Love? Love?
(맘을 보여줘 네 맘을 보여줘)
진짜 사랑이란? 우정이란?
참 알쏭달쏭이야
What’s Love? Love?
(맘을 보여줘 네 맘을 보여줘)
이게 사랑이야? 뭐가 사랑이야?
참 알쏭달쏭이야

느끼는 대로 보는 그대로
솔직한 대로 곁에 그대로
느끼는 대로 보는 그대로
솔직한 대로 나의 그대로

Oh No No No No
Just tell him that I love him Yeah Yeah
그냥 확 말해 볼까? 슬쩍 다가갈까?
내 맘은 여전히 ING

What’s Love? Love?
(맘을 보여줘 네 맘을 보여줘)
진짜 사랑이란? 우정이란?
참 알쏭달쏭이야
What’s Love? Love?
(맘을 보여줘 네 맘을 보여줘)
이게 사랑이야? 뭐가 사랑이야?
참 알쏭달쏭이야

ING (Unclear)

I open my eyes
Check my messages
Strangely, why do I keep waiting for your call?
Real-ly-ly-ly-ly, Yeah
Real-ly-ly-ly-ly, Yeah

Lame relationship
Don’t want to make it but my heart
keeps ING, progressing forward
Oh my-my-my-my, Yeah
Oh my-my-my-my, Yeah

Before I know it, when I look at you
Feel something special, you don’t get it

Oh No No No No
Don’t tell him that I love him No No
Heart, don’t overreact, just leave it
My heart is still ING

Oh No No No No
Just tell him that I love him Yeah Yeah
Should I just say it? Should I get closer casually?
My heart is still ING

What’s Love? Love?
(Show your heart, show your heart)
Real love is? Friendship is?
It’s really unclear
What’s Love? Love?
(Show your heart, show your heart)
This is love? What is love?
It’s really unclear

You’re pretending again
As if indifferent, quick glance
St-st-st-stutter* can’t say it in front of you
Why is that?
Real-ly-ly-ly-ly, Yeah
Real-ly-ly-ly-ly, Yeah

Um, Stop! If you feel the way I do
What are we really going to do?
Oh my-my-my-my, Yeah
Oh my-my-my-my, Yeah (oh goodness)

Before I know it, when I look at you
Feel something special, you don’t get it

Oh No No No No
Just tell him that I love him Yeah Yeah
Should I just say it? Should I get closer casually?
My heart is still ING

What’s Love? Love?
(Show your heart, show your heart)
Real love is? Friendship is?
It’s really unclear
What’s Love? Love?
(Show your heart, show your heart)
This is love? What is love?
It’s really unclear

That’s how I feel, as I see it
Just honestly, beside you like that
That’s how I feel, as I see it
Just honestly, beside you like that

Oh No No No No
Just tell him that I love him Yeah Yeah
Should I just say it? Should I get closer casually?
My heart is still ING

What’s Love? Love?
(Show your heart, show your heart)
Real love is? Friendship is?
It’s really unclear
What’s Love? Love?
(Show your heart, show your heart)
This is love? What is love?
It’s really unclear

Leave a Reply

