Jive Monkey Playlist: 4/28/17

Ever since his unexpected appearance on Infinite Challenge in 2015, HYUKOH (and specifically, the band’s leader, Oh Hyuk) has become a household name.  They just recently released their latest album titled “23,” which is a reference to Oh Hyuk’s age and probably when he produced most of the songs on this album.  It’s not unlike how Adele titles her albums after the age in which the songs on those albums are about.  And yet, HYUKOH has their own unique sound in all of its “indie rock-ness,” for lack of a better word.  I think as much as his songs are about life, its struggles and growing up, sometimes I am surprised by the lyrical depth of his song, especially those songs in which he is expressing a stream of consciousness.

I specifically chose to avoid featuring his title tracks for this week’s playlist.  They are great and worth listening to on repeat but I expect that these songs are going to make the rounds the most.  However, I want to focus some of that spotlight on my other favorites from this album.

“2002WorldCup” is an upbeat rock track which did surprise me because he was only 9 when the World Cup happened in Korea.  It was a time when Korea came together to cheer their team on and there was such excitement that was felt wherever you went, or so I was told by friends and family.  I have to admit that many Korean-Americans felt that fervor here as well and so I can only imagine how the excited reached its fever pitch in Korea.

Oh Hyuk is not only reminiscing about one of his favorite memories from childhood but also comparing it with how he is embracing young adulthood.  He does have a lot to celebrate when he shot to fame after his appearance.  They not only signed HIGHGRND but Oh Hyuk got to collaborate with so many great artists like IU, 2NE1, and Gaeko.  It’s glad to see that a talented person like Oh Hyuk is enjoying the fruits of his labor with the same enthusiasm that he felt as a child as there’s nothing more pure than that.

HYUKOH – 2002WorldCup

혁오 (HYUKOH) – 2002WorldCup

2002WorldCup

When you die (I’ll be next to you)
When you drown (and I’ll drown for you)
When you’re sad (can I sing you blues)
When you’re naked (I’ll be coming through)
When you die (I’ll be next to you)
When you drown (and I’ll drown for you)
When you’re sad (can I sing you blues)
When you’re naked (I’ll be coming through)

넋 놓고 보던 검은 학생머리
괜히 뽑아 보던 우리 그런 사이
hoo hoo
유난히 하얀 얼굴 막 받아온
아침 우유 색깔 우유 먹던 나이
hoo hoo
유독 차디차던 손에 항상
배어있던 교회 형의 젊은 땀
hoo hoo
그래도 눈은 날 보는 것 같아
자꾸 날 가지고 놀리던 그 밤
아무튼 그래서 나는 좋다 야

When you die (I’ll be next to you)
When you drown (and I’ll drown for you)
When you’re sad (can I sing you blues)
When you’re naked (I’ll be coming through)
When you die (I’ll be next to you)
When you drown (and I’ll drown for you)
When you’re sad (can I sing you blues)
When you’re naked (I’ll be coming through)

조금은 붉은 밝게 물든 머리
괜히 나도 같이 물들어가는 나이
hoo hoo
마침내 다가오는 손을 지나
입이 먼저 갔던
우리 그런 사이
hoo hoo
한번 떨어진 건 실수예요
같이 떨어지던 어른 같던 밤
hoo hoo
철이 든 눈은 날 보는 것 같아
뜨거운 일기 위에 쏟았던 그 밤
아무튼 그래서 나는 좋다 야

When you die (I’ll be next to you)
When you drown (and I’ll drown for you)
When you’re sad (can I sing you blues)
When you’re naked (I’ll be coming through)
When you die (I’ll be next to you)
When you drown (and I’ll drown for you)
When you’re sad (can I sing you blues)
When you’re naked (I’ll be coming through)

Oh
Oh

2002WorldCup

When you die (I’ll be next to you)
When you drown (and I’ll drown for you)
When you’re sad (can I sing you blues)
When you’re naked (I’ll be coming through)
When you die (I’ll be next to you)
When you drown (and I’ll drown for you)
When you’re sad (can I sing you blues)
When you’re naked (I’ll be coming through)

Standing here gawking at the black-haired student
Picked for no reason, we have that kind of relationship,
hoo hoo
A particularly white face, like a just received
Morning milk color, the age where I drank milk,
hoo hoo
Only my cold hands, always
Ingrained, a brother at church, young sweat,
hoo hoo
But the eyes seem to be looking at me
That night where you kept teasing me
Anyways, that’s why I liked it

When you die (I’ll be next to you)
When you drown (and I’ll drown for you)
When you’re sad (can I sing you blues)
When you’re naked (I’ll be coming through)
When you die (I’ll be next to you)
When you drown (and I’ll drown for you)
When you’re sad (can I sing you blues)
When you’re naked (I’ll be coming through)

A bit bright, red-dyed hair
The age I also wanted to dye my hair for no reason,
hoo hoo
Finally the approaching hand passes
My lips were the first to move in,
we have that kind of relationship,
hoo hoo
Falling once was a mistake
Falling together, an adult-like night,
hoo hoo
Mature eyes seems like it’s looking at me
Pouring over the hot weather, that night
Anyways, that’s why I liked it

When you die (I’ll be next to you)
When you drown (and I’ll drown for you)
When you’re sad (can I sing you blues)
When you’re naked (I’ll be coming through)
When you die (I’ll be next to you)
When you drown (and I’ll drown for you)
When you’re sad (can I sing you blues)
When you’re naked (I’ll be coming through)

Oh
Oh

What struck me about the titles on the songs for this album is that there seemed to be a few titles with a potential Christian theme to them. The songs themselves aren’t Christian in nature except for the reference in the title. I went back and forth as to whether “Paul” was about Paul the Apostle or Paul McCartney. On the one hand, this rock ballad has a Beatles-esque feel to it. I could be wrong but I came to the conclusion that the title is in reference to Paul the Apostle.

The song is about feeling old as they remember their “past”.  It’s a funny thing to say since Oh Hyuk is only 24 years old but there is something relatable about finding yourself become a young adult and not being able to look to future, instead keep thinking about the past.  Paul the Apostle was a Christian figure that often looked to his past and spoke about it as he traveled around spreading Christianity.  He was quite able to let go of his past life and yet, he used that life experience to his advantage in his mission.  I think Oh Hyuk is doing the same when it comes to writing songs as this is his calling.  The phrase “It’s your victory” might be used ironically and may come across as a bit sad but there is also something beautiful in the delicate sentiments of the song overall.

HYUKOH – Paul

혁오 (HYUKOH) – Paul

Paul

예전으로 돌아가
예전에 산다면
우린 우리 마음만 돌보자
새벽을 컵에 담아
날이 차오르면
두 잔을 맞대보자

너와 내가 결국엔 우리가 버려버렸네요
한창 어린 밤
같던 우리 마음도 늙어버렸네요

I hear bugling that boo-woo
It’s your victory
I hear bugling that boo-woo
It’s your victory

아 잠시 기다렸던
마음은 참 빨라
왜 우린 등 떠밀려 저물까
바싹 마른 추억을
태우는 연기는
왜 이렇게 매울까

우린 손금 속에 살고 있네
난 그게 참 슬퍼
우린 아는 만큼만 했었더라도
충분했겠네요

I hear bugling that boo-woo
It’s your victory
I hear bugling that boo-woo
It’s your victory

Woo-woo

I hear bugling that boo-woo
It’s your victory
I hear bugling that boo-woo
It’s your victory

Paul

Going back to the past
If I lived in the past
Let’s just look back at our feelings
Bottling the early morning into a cup
When the day fills up
Let’s set the two glasses beside each other

After all, you and I, we threw, threw each other away
At the height of the night being young,
even our feelings have gotten old

I hear bugling that boo-woo
It’s your victory
I hear bugling that boo-woo
It’s your victory

Ah, waited briefly
Feelings are really fast
Why do we draw to a close by being pushed around
Dried up memories
Burning smoke
Why is that fiery

We’re living in the lines of our palms
That’s what makes me mostly sad
Even though we say that we know as much we should,
it should have been enough

I hear bugling that boo-woo
It’s your victory
I hear bugling that boo-woo
It’s your victory

Woo-woo

I hear bugling that boo-woo
It’s your victory
I hear bugling that boo-woo
It’s your victory

Leave a Reply

