Jive Monkey Playlist: 5/19/17

It feels like the weather has been playing games with us all Spring with deceptively sunny skies but with a chill in the air or just plain rainy weather.  With Memorial Day weekend almost a week away, I’m not looking forward to the hot, humidity of summer but the warmer weather definitely makes me feel like going outdoors to play.  Here’s a jumpstart to your summer plans with some upbeat summer tracks.

I remember the first time I asked my sister, who was living in Korea at the time, about Psy and whether he was actually famous with the average Korean.  She confirmed that he was but I couldn’t help but wondering why.  Certainly, he has a way with words and his songs tend to be upbeat and fun.  My question was less about his music but more about his concept as an artist.  He kind of looks like a comedian who just happens to put out songs but here we are with his 8th album.  Despite some pressure that followed the “Gangnam Style” wave, this album does not disappoint and a perfect introduction to the summer wave that’s expected to follow.

I’ll admit that I never really gravitated towards his title tracks.  Sure, “I LUV IT” and “New Face” are catchy but I found that I’m usually drawn to his more retro tracks.  Call it old age, whatever, but I really liked “오토리버스 (feat. TABLO) (Auto-Reverse (feat. TABLO))”.  I remember when the auto-reverse function became available on the Sony Walkman but the Walkman was so expensive when it was first released that I couldn’t afford one until much later.  For those who are not familiar with this, it’s a function that allows your Walkman to automatically switch back and forth between the A and B sides of the cassette tape without having to actually take the tape out and flip it over.

What I like about the track is that they sample Lee Jung Ok’s “숨어우는 바람소리 (The Sound of the Wind Crying and Hiding)” and fuse it with a more “modern” R&B/Hip Hop track.  When I mean modern, I mean that Lee Jung Ok’s track is from the 7080 era while the slow, R&B/Hip Hop number feels decidedly retro 90’s.  The track certainly suits both Psy and Tablo as they were both from these eras.  Like the subject matter of the song, it’s hard for us not to rewind and look back to the good ol’ days of yore.  Perhaps that’s just a sign of growing older as it gets harder and harder not to look back fondly on those days of our youth.

PSY – 오토리버스 (feat. TABLO) (Auto-Reverse (feat. TABLO)

싸이 (PSY) – 오토리버스 (feat. TABLO)

오토리버스 (feat. TABLO)

마이 마이 워크맨
카세트 공테이프에
앞뒷면으로 빼곡히 너를 위한 노래
학교가는 버스에서 오토리버스
잊혀지고 버려지는 것들 Just like us

마이 마이 워크맨
카세트 공테이프에
앞뒷면으로 빼곡히 너를 위한 노래
학교가는 버스에서 오토리버스
잊혀지고 버려지는 것들 Just like us

기억을 거슬러 보면
그래 산다는 건
담배연기처럼 들이마셨다가 내뿜어
하늘과 땅을 오갔었던
두근거림이
익숙함으로 변할 때쯤
감정은 시들어

휘발되어가는 삶과 세상은
빨라도 너무 빨라
그래 구닥다리야 나는
잊혀진다 헌신하다 헌신짝처럼
뜨거웠던 연탄재처럼

추억을 거슬러보면
우리네 삶이란 건
한 폭의 수채화처럼
번지고 얼룩져
좋은 기억 따위로
좋은 추억 따위로
남겨지기 위해
전부를 던진 건 아니었어

생을 살듯 하루를 살았다
그 찰나의 시간을 평생처럼 살았다
때로는 마음이 찢어질 듯이 아파도
나를 닮은 아픔이라서 품에 안았다

마이 마이 워크맨
카세트 공테이프에
앞뒷면으로 빼곡히 너를 위한 노래
학교가는 버스에서 오토리버스
잊혀지고 버려지는 것들 Just like us

마이 마이 워크맨
카세트 공테이프에
앞뒷면으로 빼곡히 너를 위한 노래
학교가는 버스에서 오토리버스
잊혀지고 버려지는 것들 Just like us

새벽이 오면 함께 찾아오는 허기
늘 속이 허전해
어쩌면 배와는 상관없지
Whatever
피도 살도 안되는 의미 부여
일단 채울 수 있는 것부터
라면 끓여

TV 앞
조촐한 식탁이 되어버린 옛 교재들
눈앞엔 최신작
못 본 영화들 툭하면 천만 넘는 것 같네
나와 대화 안 통할 사람 천만 명인 거야
Damn

면은 불고 리모컨만 만지작
결국 몇 번 봤던
옛 영화를 틀고 다시 봐
며칠 전 친한 형이 했던 말
“듣던 것만 듣고
보던 것만 보면 늙은 거야”


내 헤드폰엔 여전히 일매틱 아님
유재하 1집
다신 듣고 볼 수 없는 게
너무나 많아서
시린 가슴 주변에 늘 과거를 두르네
자꾸 왜

마이 마이 워크맨
카세트 공테이프에
앞뒷면으로 빼곡히 너를 위한 노래
학교가는 버스에서 오토리버스
잊혀지고 버려지는 것들 Just like us

마이 마이 워크맨
카세트 공테이프에
앞뒷면으로 빼곡히 너를 위한 노래
학교가는 버스에서 오토리버스
잊혀지고 버려지는 것들 Just like us

매일 이별하며 살아가는 사람들의 멜로디
잊고 잊혀지고
추억을 뒤로하고 새것만 찾는
우리 이야기
버리고 버려지고
세상을 적시고
말라버리는 여름날의 소나기처럼
우린 늘 그래
미친 듯이
죽을 듯이
그러다가 언제 그랬냐는 듯이
오토리버스

Auto-Reverse (feat. TABLO)

My, my Walkman
On the blank cassette tape
Front and back filled with songs for you
On the bus to school, auto-reverse
Things forgotten and thrown away, Just like us

My, my Walkman
On the blank cassette tape
Front and back filled with songs for you
On the bus to school, auto-reverse
Things forgotten and thrown away, Just like us

Going back and looking at the memories
yeah, living
Like cigarette smoke, inhale and puff
Coming and going from heaven to earth
Throbbing
With familiarity, when you’re about to change
Feelings fade

A volatile life and world
Even though it’s fast, it’s too fast
Yeah, I’m old school
Will be forgotten, be devoted and like an old shoe
Hot, like a used coal briquette

When you go back to old memories
The thing about our lives
Like a beautiful watercolor painting,
it spreads and stains
With good thoughts like this,
with good memories like this
To order for it to remain,
we should have thrown it all away

Like a life lived, lived a day
That moment in time, lived like that forever
Sometimes even if I feel painfully bad
Because your pain reflected mine, I embraced you

My, my Walkman
On the blank cassette tape
Front and back filled with songs for you
On the bus to school, auto-reverse
Things forgotten and thrown away, Just like us

My, my Walkman
On the blank cassette tape
Front and back filled with songs for you
On the bus to school, auto-reverse
Things forgotten and thrown away, Just like us

When the dawn comes, the hunger that finds us
My insides are always hungry
Perhaps it has nothing to do with my stomach
Whatever
Even without giving my flesh and blood
For now, just what you can fill up on
Make the ramyun

In front of the TV
Has become a simple dining table, old lessons
The latest in front of my eyes
Movies I haven’t seen, it’s like easily goes over ten million
A person I can’t converse with should be ten million
Damn

Blowing the noodles, just fiddling with the remote control
Eventually, already seen a few times,
I turn on and re-watch an old movie
A few days ago, a close hyung friend said,
“Listen to what I’ve already listened to,
watch what I’ve already watched, that’s when you’re old”

SHH
On my cell phone, not an illmatic,
Yoo Jae Ha’s first album
That I can’t listen or hear it again
There are too many
Around my cold heart, always embracing the past
Constantly, why

My, my Walkman
On the blank cassette tape
Front and back filled with songs for you
On the bus to school, auto-reverse
Things forgotten and thrown away, Just like us

My, my Walkman
On the blank cassette tape
Front and back filled with songs for you
On the bus to school, auto-reverse
Things forgotten and thrown away, Just like us

Say goodbye every day, the melody of living people
Forget and forgotten
Putting memories behind us and only looking for the new,
that’s our story
Throw away and thrown away
Saturating the world and
drying it up, like a shower on a summer’s day
We’re always like that
Insanely
Like death
Do that and then like when did we do that
Auto-reverse

“BOMB” is definitely a faster pace and a more upbeat than the one above. The melody itself was one of the tracks that JYP was working on when he agreed to appear on Infinite Challenge back in 2015 Yeongdong Highway Music Festival. However, due to the fact that the beat wasn’t fast enough, this track was scrapped.

I’m glad that they did because this track suits IKON’s B.I and Bobby’s voices way more than Yooneunim. I like that I can hear elements of both JYP and YG in this song which make this collaboration interesting.  I can also hear Psy’s unique sounds in the track as well. I realize that he is a part of YG but he’s got a very particular sound when it comes to his music. It feels like I can see him giving a wink, wink as he says the lines rather than trying to look cool like the idols. He is what he is.

PSY – BOMB (feat. B.I, BOBBY)

싸이 (PSY) – BOMB (feat. B.I, BOBBY)

*수리수리 마수리 (Soo-ri, soo-ri, mah-soo-ri) = Words usually said by a magician before the big reveal.

**꿀잼 = Literally “honey jam” but English language equivalent “fleek” or “fetch” – Also, check out Dynamic Duo’s “꿀잼 (Honey Jam).

***고래 = Literally means “whale” but also known as the Comedian Kim Joon Hyung’s catchphrase.  In this context, it mean “yes” or “yeah” said in a cutesy way.

****쌀보리 (ssal-boh-ri) = A children’s game played between two people.  It’s a game of chance as one player tries to catch the other player’s hand with their hands.

*****개소리 (gae-soh-ri) = Gae is often added to certain words to signify a negative emphasis.  WTF is the probably the best way to describe something that is said but is utter nonsense.

******개쩌리 (gae-jjuh-ri) = Again, gae is used to add emphasis but the second part is a different tense for the word “zutter” used in GD & TOP.

BOMB (feat. B.I, BOBBY)

머리 위로 만세
흔들어 밤새
지금부터 날새
Everybody 열려라 참깨
잔을 위로 건배
제발 가지마 집에
Been there done that
I don’t give a fun baby

난 푸른 초원 위를 달리는 야생마
밤새워 줄지 않는 스태미나
들어올 땐 두 발로 왔다가
나갈 땐 네 발로 기어가
어 찌질이들끼리끼리 놀게
내버려 두고 우리끼리
오늘 밤은 크게 한 탕 해
누가 봐도 방탕해

어딜 가든 우린 터져
밑잔비워 다들 pour up
Baby shake it drop it lower
내일은 없어 커지는 동공

아주 방탕한 밤
바라바라밤
아주 방탕한 밤
바라바라밤

아름다운 임자
내가 바로 아가씨의 임자
여러모로 우리 셋은 진짜
그러므로 나머지는 찐따

지금부터 단 둘이둘이
합치면 짜파구리
수리수리 마수리*
Baby baby come shake that booty
흔들흔들 이건 어른들의 놀이
완전 꿀잼잼** 도리도리
고래고래*** 질러봐 너의 소리
Come and get me 쌀보리 쌀보리****

야 파티에 내가 빠진다니
그건 말도 안 되는 개소리야*****
그녀에 대해 얘기할 때
그년 이미 내방 넌 그냥 개쩌리야 ******
야 쟤네들은 나처럼 못하지 인정
Order up a hunnit champagne on me yeh 인정
Poppin bottles with them supermodel
Motherfathers better recognize its show time 야

어딜 가든 우린 터져
밑잔비워 다들 pour up
Baby shake it drop it lower
내일은 없어 풀리는 동공

아주 방탕한 밤
바라바라밤
아주 방탕한 밤
바라바라밤

아름다운 임자
내가 바로 아가씨의 임자
여러모로 우리 셋은 진짜
그러므로 나머지는 찐따

나도 제정신 아닌거 알어
인정 야 너도 인정
We party like ain’t got no tomorrow
인정 yeh 너도 인정
Yeh everybody 인정

아주 방탕한 밤
바라바라밤
아주 방탕한 밤
바라바라밤

BOMB (feat. B.I, BOBBY)

Above our heads, hurrah
Shake it, all night
From now on, all day
Everybody, open sesame
Raise your glasses, cheers
Please don’t go home
Been there done that
I don’t give a fun baby

A running wild horse on the green meadow
Undiminished stamina from staying up all night
When I come, arrive with both feet
When I go, crawl on all fours
Uh, play together, together with losers
Leave them alone, together just us
Tonight, go all out in one shot
No matter who’s looking, live fast

Wherever we go, we blow it up
Everyone empty your glasses, pour up
Baby shake it drop it lower
There’s no tomorrow, dilating pupils

Really, living fast tonight
Bah-rah-bah-rah-bam
Really, living fast tonight
Bah-rah-bah-rah-bam

Beautiful keeper
I am this miss’s keeper
In various ways, the three of us are really
So, therefore, the rest are losers

From now on, the two of us, us
Together, jjapaguri
Presto, change-o, abracadabra*
Baby, baby come shake that booty
Shake it, shake it, this is how the adults play
Totally honey jam, jam**, shake your head
Yeah, yeah***, shout your sounds
Come and get me, rice, barley, rice, barley****

Hey, at the party, saying that I won’t be there
That makes no sense, WTF*****
When you talk about her
She’s already in my room, just freakin’ awesome******
Hey, they can’t do it like me, confirmed
Order up a hunnit champagne on me yeh, confirmed
Poppin bottles with them supermodel
Motherfathers better recognize its show time, hey

Wherever we go, we blow it up
Everyone empty your glasses, pour up
Baby shake it drop it lower
There’s no tomorrow, dilating pupils

Really, living fast tonight
Bah-rah-bah-rah-bam
Really, living fast tonight
Bah-rah-bah-rah-bam

Beautiful keeper
I am this miss’s keeper
In various ways, the three of us are really
So, therefore, the rest are losers

I know that I’m not alright in the head
Confirmed, hey, you too confirmed
We party like ain’t got no tomorrow
Confirmed, yeh, you too confirmed
Yeh everybody, confirmed

Really, living fast tonight
Bah-rah-bah-rah-bam
Really, living fast tonight
Bah-rah-bah-rah-bam

_____________________________________________________

Finally, I wanted to feature Cube Entertainment’s sub-unite group, Triple H’s (Former 4-minute member Hyuna, Pentagon’s Hui and E-Dawn) “365 FRESH” as it’s a very addictive, upbeat track.  While I initially downloaded their album “199X,” I wasn’t expecting much from it.  In fact, they were not really on my radar as I was looking for tracks to feature for this post.  However, I’m glad that the shuffle mode brought my attention to this track.  With its 90’s-esque sound and Hyuna’s and Pentagon’s E-Dawn clever lyrics, I quickly found myself grooving along to the addictive hook.  I did change the spelling of some of the English words, especially since words like “Six Sense’ was driving me nuts but the song still makes sense.

As much as the song is fun and about celebrating youth, I wasn’t prepared for the dark nature of the music video.  The music video features the three members coming together from different walks of life and committing various criminal acts.  While the song is clearly about being yourself and living life to the fullest, the subject matter of the music video took the message of the song to a whole new level.  I guess that’s why Cube Entertainment felt like they needed to add a disclaimer.  Regardless, the song is pretty damn addictive and while there could be allusions to a dark underpinning, the lyrics must have been innocent enough for the group to be able to perform the track on various music programs.

트리플 H (현아, 펜타곤 (후이, 이던)) – 365 FRESH

*접시 (jup-si) = Literally means “plate” but in this context it’s meant to refer to a record that you play on a record player.

**이 끝이 없는 달도 = “Even this endless moon” but the illustrative use of the word moon is meant to reflect the night.

365 FRESH

F.R.E.S & H so fresh
F.R.E.S & H ’til death
F.R.E.S & H what’s left
F.R.E.S & H everybody say

그저 그런 것들은 내게 너무나도 평범해
이제 새로운 것보다 더
새로운 게 필요해
자 바꿔 말해
너가 좋아하는 것들로 여긴 가득해

매일 똑같은 색을 좀 바꿔봐
오늘 오마주는 카멜레온
우린 서로 다른 젊은 영혼과 삶을 가졌었고
태초부터 대대로
함께 노는 거야 끼리끼리
DJ 접시* 더 휘끼휘끼
여긴 허세 없는 Natural 유기농 100%
Let’s go get ‘em get ‘em

딱 봐도 나는 너를 위한 A to Z
잠들어있던 Sixth sense
나 때문에 눈을 뜨게
Player, Champagne, Showtime

I’m 365 So fresh 하나부터 열까지
여긴 뭘 해도 느낌 오지
I’m 365 So fresh 우린 하늘 위까지
날아오르는 이 기분 So free

I’m 365 So fresh 지구부터 달까지
Everybody say fresh 밤새도록 끝까지
Everybody say fresh 제로부터 백까지
Everybody say fresh
I’m 365 So fresh

And you can take it
그냥 고개 끄덕거리고 날 따라 하면 돼
I can take it 어렵지 않아 어서 날 따라
Shake your head
계속 Shake your head

이 끝이 없는 달도 취한 이 밤에
잠들어있던 Sixth sense
나 때문에 눈을 뜨게
Player, Champagne, Showtime

I’m 365 So fresh 하나부터 열까지
여긴 뭘 해도 느낌 오지
I’m 365 So fresh 우린 하늘 위까지
날아오르는 이 기분 So free
I’m 365 So fresh

F.R.E.S & H so fresh
F.R.E.S & H ’til death
F.R.E.S & H what’s left
F.R.E.S & H

I’m 365 So fresh 하나부터 열까지
여긴 뭘 해도 느낌 오지
I’m 365 So fresh 기분 좋게 끝까지
하나 빠짐없이 이 춤을 끝까지

I’m 365 So fresh 지구부터 달까지
Everybody say fresh 밤새도록 끝까지
Everybody say fresh 제로부터 백까지
Everybody say fresh

I’m 365 So fresh

365 FRESH

F.R.E.S & H so fresh
F.R.E.S & H ‘til death
F.R.E.S & H what’s left
F.R.E.S & H everybody say

Just those things are too normal for me
Now, more than things that are new,
I need new twists
Now, let’s say it in other words
Things that you like, it’s packed with that here

Change the same color every day
Today’s homage is chameleon
We got each other diverse, young spirit and life
From the beginning for generations
That’s how we play together
DJ, turn it* more, scratch, scratch
There’s no pretense here, Natural, organic 100%
Let’s go get ‘em get ‘em

Just looking at it, I am the A to Z for you
Asleep, Sixth sense
Opened your eyes because of me
Player, Champagne, Showtime

I’m 365 So fresh, from 1 to 10
No matter what we do here, I get a feeling
I’m 365 So fresh, to the heavens, we
This feeling like we’re flying, So free

I’m 365 So fresh, from the earth to the moon
Everybody say fresh, until the end of the night
Everybody say fresh, from 0 to 100
Everybody say fresh
I’m 365 So fresh

And you can take it
Just nod your head, just follow me
I can take it, it’s not hard, come one and follow me
Shake your head
Continue, Shake your head

Even this endless night**, this drunk night
Asleep, Sixth sense
Opened your eyes because of me
Player, Champagne, Showtime

I’m 365 So fresh, from 1 to 10
No matter what we do here, I get a feeling
I’m 365 So fresh, to the heavens, we
This feeling like we’re flying, So free
I’m 365 So fresh

F.R.E.S & H so fresh
F.R.E.S & H ’til death
F.R.E.S & H what’s left
F.R.E.S & H

I’m 365 So fresh, from 1 to 10
No matter what we do here, I get a feeling
I’m 365 So fresh, with good intentions until the end
Every single person, follow this dance until the end

I’m 365 So fresh, from the earth to the moon
Everybody say fresh, until the end of the night
Everybody say fresh, from 0 to 100
Everybody say fresh

I’m 365 So fresh

Leave a Reply

