Jive Monkey Playlist: 5/26/17

CHEEZE is an indie band that I’ve been wanting to get into for a while now. I’ve heard Singer Dalchong feature with artists like Yesung, Reddy, G2, Bily Acoustie and The Ade.  Although the band originally had 4 members and debuted in 2011, the male members have all gone their separate ways leaving Dalchong to continue solo.  Here’s to looking forward to a long, and hopefully sunny weekend, with tracks that is sure to bring sunshine into your life.

What I like about “Be There,” CHEEZE’s latest single track, is that the song is about so many things and nothing at the same time. It’s about love, it’s about friendships, it’s about being in the moment.  The jazz pop genre of the song and Dalchong’s refrain of “be there” gives it this carefree attitude.  Despite the complexities of the jazzy notes, the song itself sounds quite simple.  The song sounds like it’s reminding us that happiness can be found in the smallest of things.

CHEEZE (치즈) – Be There

Be There

눈이 감기는 나른한 오후
불어오는 봄바람에 문득
스쳐 지나간 그대 생각
지금쯤 뭐할까요
왠지 모르게 울적하던 날
기다린 그대 연락 한 통에
꽃처럼 피어난 내 얼굴에
미소가 번져요
be there be there be there
밤하늘 은하수로 와줘요
be there be there be there
눈부신 저 너머로
지금 날아와 줄 순 없냐고
장난스럽게 던진 말들과
귀여운 그대의 작은 투정
날 웃음짓게 해요
꿈 속에서도 우리 만날까
따뜻한 별들 속 한 가운데
먼저 찾아줘요 그대 품에
안기러 가볼까요
be there be there be there
밤하늘 은하수로 와줘요
be there be there be there
눈부신 저 너머로
be there be there be there
밤하늘 은하수로 와줘요
be there be there be there
눈부신 저 너머로
be there be there be there
밤하늘 은하수로 와줘요
be there be there be there
눈부신 저 너머로

Be There

A languorous afternoon making you want to close your eyes
With the blowing Spring wind, suddenly
Brushing past, thoughts of you
What should we do now?
Somehow without knowing, that gloomy day
Waited for just one call from you
My face bloomed like a flower
A growing smile
be there be there be there
Please come here by the Milky Way in the night sky
be there be there be there
Dazzling out there
Can’t you fly over now
With words said jokingly
With your cute, whining
You make me smile
Even in my dreams, will we meet?
At the center of these warm stars
Come find me first, in your arms
shall I go hug you?
be there be there be there
Please come here by the Milky Way in the night sky
be there be there be there
Dazzling out there
be there be there be there
Please come here by the Milky Way in the night sky
be there be there be there
Dazzling out there
be there be there be there
Please come here by the Milky Way in the night sky
be there be there be there
Dazzling out there

Originally, “Madeleine Love” was the song that attracted me to the band in the first place. I really wanted to download their whole album but it wasn’t easy to find when it was released in 2015 and so I had forgotten about the album. This song was first put out when the band was a foursome and it is sung about Dalchong and Cloud (aka Gooreum) to represent the male and female voices of the relationship that’s represented in the song.

I know a lot of these Korean indie bands tend to associate these coffee/café/baked goods metaphors when it comes to depicting the syrupiness of love. Surely, this song is no different when it comes to that subject matter but I was really drawn to the ragtime melody of the track.  It’s worth watching the link below of Dalchong and Cloud performing the song live during busking session as it is mesmerizing to watch Cloud play the keyboard, even with the mistakes.  And certainly, Dalchong’s lovely voice heightens the syrupy emotions of a new love in what sounds more like musical number rather than a mere studio track.

CHEEZE (치즈) – Madeleine Love

Madeleine Love

오늘같이 싱그러운 날엔
길거리 차도 별로 다니지 않아
문득 지나가다 거울을 보면
오늘 내 모습은 좀 예뻐 보이네

이따가 널 보면 무슨 말을 할까
날씨가 좋다고
뻔한 말이라도 건네볼까
어색한 장난이라도 용감하게
오늘은 널 웃음 짓게 만들 거야

I’m in madeleine love
I’m in madeleine love
I’m in madeleine love

오늘같이 햇볕 좋은 날엔
매일 걷던 거리도 지겹지 않아
문득 지나가다 거울을 보면
내 얼굴도 이 정도면 잘생겼네

이따가 널 보면 무슨 말을 할까
날씨가 좋다고
공원이라도 좀 걷자 할까
짓궂은 장난이라도 용감하게
오늘은 널 웃음 짓게 만들 거야

I’m in madeleine love
I’m in madeleine love
I’m in madeleine love

I’m in madeleine love
I’m in madeleine love
I’m in madeleine love

Madeleine Love

On a refreshing day like today
There aren’t even that many cars on the street
Upon suddenly seeing a mirror as I pass by
Today I seem to look a bit pretty

When I see you later, what shall I say?
The weather is nice
Should I try some obvious phrases
Even boldly try some awkward jokes
Today, I’m going make you smile

I’m in madeleine love
I’m in madeleine love
I’m in madeleine love

On a sunshiny day like today
I’m not even tired of the streets that I’ve walked every day
Upon suddenly seeing a mirror as I pass by
Even my face like this makes me good-looking

When I see you later, what shall I say?
The weather is nice
Shall I suggest we walk in the park?
Even boldly try some mischievous pranks
Today, I’m going make you smile

I’m in madeleine love
I’m in madeleine love
I’m in madeleine love

I’m in madeleine love
I’m in madeleine love
I’m in madeleine love

Leave a Reply

