Jive Monkey Playlist: 6/9/17

Gummy’s long-awaited studio album is finally out.  I don’t think I have any other reason for featuring her in today’s post other than I just believe in her talents as an artist.  They don’t call her a diva for nothing with her powerful vocals and confident disposition.

I’m quite loving the title track on her album, “I I YO”.  The song was produced and composed by Gil while the lyrics were written by Rhythm Power’s Boi. B.  The melody clearly has Gil’s fingerprints but I’m intrigued by how it layered with a Brit pop ballad synth sound giving it an ethereal feel.  Gummy has admitted in interviews that she’s been getting a lot of question about the song’s title.  The song itself is about people who chase their dreams, no matter how foolish it is or how unattainable it might be.  She mentioned that the title was inspired by the sound older people make when they are humming as they work.  The song really is about life and no matter how old we get, I love this idea of continually chasing our dreams.  In another light, the title reminds me of the phrase, “Me, Myself and I,” in that sometimes we have to do what’s best for ourselves even if that means sacrificing other things.  Although it might come across as selfish at first glance, I think what’s at the heart of this song is that we have to help ourselves in order to make a difference in other people’s lives.

Upon watching the music video, I suddenly realized how much I missed Kim Jae Joong while he was in the army.  He wasn’t my favorite member of JYJ (or TVXQ before JYJ) but I think my interest in him peaked as I began to watch him more and more in various dramas.  He certainly plays the part of this lower class guy who is chasing a big dream well and aided by Gummy’s emotional refrain of “I I yo,” I can’t help but be moved by his journey.

거미 – I I YO (Prod.길 Of Magic Mansion)

I I YO (Prod. 길 Of Magic Mansion)

I always lovin’
내가 그려왔던 꿈
푸른 바다 위에서
내 작은 날개를 펴고서 맘껏 날아오르네
You’re never gonna understand
저기 멀리멀리
어릴 적에
그려보곤 했던 모든 것들이
나를 지금 기다려

저기 멀리
어릴 적 나의 꿈이
희미하게 빛을 내
나를 향해 손짓해 yeah

오랫동안 움츠린 날개를 펴고
나를 비웃던 비와 바람을 지나
어딘지 모를 하늘의 끝을 향해
I I yo yo I I yo yo

오랜 시간 기다린 무지갤 넘어
나를 외롭게 한 그 섬들을 지나
어딘지 모를 바다의 끝을 향해
I I yo yo I I yo yo

I always lovin’
나의 빛이 머물 곳
거친 파도 위에서
내 작은 날개를
비웃던 스쳐가는 구름도
나의 곁을 모두 떠날 때
Hello mommy mommy
홀로 남은
너무 초라해진 나의 어깨를
안아줄 수 있나요

저기 멀리
아직 난 본 적 없는
보석 같은 물결이
나를 향해 손짓해

오랫동안 움츠린 날개를 펴고
나를 비웃던 비와 바람을 지나
어딘지 모를 하늘의 끝을 향해
I I yo yo I I yo yo

오랜 시간 기다린 무지갤 넘어
나를 외롭게 한 그 섬들을 지나
어딘지 모를 바다의 끝을 향해
I I yo yo I I yo yo

검은 파도도
나를 품은 하늘도
작은 가슴 안에 담아둔 채
날개를 더 펼칠게

어릴 적 꿈
나를 채워준 꿈을
간직한 채
저기 푸른 바다의 끝을 향해서

오랫동안 움츠린 날개를 펴고
나를 비웃던 비와 바람을 지나
어딘지 모를 하늘의 끝을 향해
I I yo yo I I yo yo

오랜 시간 기다린 무지갤 넘어
나를 외롭게 한 그 섬들을 지나
어딘지 모를 바다의 끝을 향해
I I yo yo I I yo yo

I I YO (Prod. Gil Of Magic Mansion)

I always lovin’
The dream I imagined
Above the blue seas
Opening my small wings, fly as much as I can
You’re never gonna understand
From that far, far away
Ever since I was young
Everything I had imagined
Is now waiting for me

Over there, far away
My dreams from when I was young
Faintly, shining
Gesturing towards me, yeah

Retracted for a long time, spread my wings
Passing the wind and rain that mocked me
Heading for the end of the horizons, wherever that is
I I yo yo I I yo yo

Cross over rainbows that I’ve waited for a long time
Passing those islands that made me lonely
Heading for the end of the seas, wherever that is
I I yo yo I I yo yo

I always lovin’
The place where my light will shine
Above the rough seas
With my small wings,
even the passing clouds that mocks me
When they all leave my side
Hello mommy mommy
Left alone
Become very poor, my shoulders
Will you embrace them?

Over there, far away
I still haven’t seen
Waves like a gem,
Gesturing towards me

Retracted for a long time, spread my wings
Passing the wind and rain that mocked me
Heading for the end of the horizons, wherever that is
I I yo yo I I yo yo

Cross over rainbows that I’ve waited for a long time
Passing those islands that made me lonely
Heading for the end of the seas, wherever that is
I I yo yo I I yo yo

Even the dark waves
Even the heavens that embrace me
Bottled inside my small heart
I will spread my wings wider

Dreams from my youth
Dreams that fulfill me
That I’ve cherished
Heading ‘til the end of those blue seas

Retracted for a long time, spread my wings
Passing the wind and rain that mocked me
Heading for the end of the horizons, wherever that is
I I yo yo I I yo yo

Cross over rainbows that I’ve waited for a long time
Passing those islands that made me lonely
Heading for the end of the seas, wherever that is
I I yo yo I I yo yo

I had originally translated the lyrics to “남자의 정석 (Standards of Men)” when the single first came out but rather than featuring it a few weeks ago, I thought it best to wait until the full album came out. I know that there was a lot of talk about whether this song was an indication that Gummy’s relationship with Actor Jo Jung Seok was in trouble. I’m less interested in their relationship status but there were a number of things that I found interesting about the song.

First of all, the lyrics were written by Boi. B.  I don’t deny that Gummy probably had input on the lyrics and there is a number of instances where double entendre is used but I think it is more amusing than anything else that the word “정석 (Jung Seok),” which means “standards,” is used in the song.  Secondly, I realized that there are two types of songs I like when it comes to Gummy.  When Gummy sings overly sad songs, I can’t help but get swelled up with emotion.  I still listen to all the OST tracks she’s sung for the recently popular dramas because of that.  However, the other type of song I prefer from her is when she is defiant.  When she’s been jilted and dissed, I love that she comes out swinging with her sharp tongue.  From her earlier albums, I am still obsessed with “Trap” and “어른아이 (Adult Child)”.

For “남자의 정석 (Standards of Men),” the 90’s jazzy pop genre of the track is reminiscent of En Vogue.  Sure, she’s not satisfied in the relationship that is depicted in the song but I like that it doesn’t get her down.  In fact, she’s quite playful in her retort.  She knows exactly what’s behind that superficial façade and she’s not afraid to call you out on it.

Gummy – 남자의 정석 (feat. 보이비) (Prod. Of Magic Mansion) (Standards of Men (feat. Boi. B) (Prod. Gil of Magic Mansion))

거미 – 남자의 정석 (Feat. 보이비) (Prod. 길 Of Magic Mansion)

*These are all names of magazines.

**고해 (go-hae) = Confession – This is in reference to Lim Jae Bum’s hit song, “Confession”.

남자의 정석 (feat. 보이비)
(Prod. 길 Of Magic Mansion)

A KNOWING
U DON’T KNOW ABOUT ME
넌 여자를 몰라
A KNOWING
STOP IT BABY
넌 정말 몰라

뭐든지 늘 제일 아는 척
아는 사람 제일 많은 척
보고 들은 대로 하는데
네 속은 텅 비어 있어
조인성 정우성
네 착각은 자유지만
냄새나니까 그 담배 좀
제발 꺼줬으면 해

프로페셔널하게 보여야 해
여자 앞에 선 나의 적당한 이 총알을
어필하는 건 필수
내 지갑은 늘 FAT
MAKE IT RAIN RAIN ALL DAY
계산서 좀 줄래 여긴 오빠가 낼게
에스콰이어와 지큐 아레나와 레온에*
가득 차있는 비법들을 그대로 재현해
느낌적인 느낌 다른 놈들은 잘 몰라
여름에는 나시
겨울에는 목폴라
난 알아 남자의 멋과
정석인 나의 작업
주차증 물고
후진할 때
잘 봐둬
I know what you like girl

A KNOWING
U DON’T KNOW ABOUT ME
넌 여자를 몰라
A KNOWING
STOP IT BABY
넌 정말 몰라

센스 있는 멋진 오빠인 척
인형 뽑기 하며 잘난 척
어디서 들은 건 많은데
네 속은 텅 비어 있어
임재범 임창정
뭐 착각은 자유지만
너의 노래방 18번은
내겐 소음일 뿐이야

로맨틱은 필수 요소야 여자의 맘을 사려면
내 감성적인 면을 더 어필해야 해
깜짝 이벤트 전문 그녀들은 이미 녹지
집 앞으로 나올래
이미 난 촛불 켰지
마이크를 쥐면 고해부터**
버즈 겁쟁이를 멋들어지게 불러
반쯤 감은 오빠 눈빛을 잘 봐둬
I KNOW WHAT YOU LIKE

그저 허세 가득한
말은 더 이상은 통하지 않아
그저 그런 남자들과 달라
넌 내게 끌리는 걸 알아

끼 좀 부릴 줄 알아 (Oh no)
밀당은 요즘 기본이잖아 (Oh no)
I KNOW WHAT U LIKE IT GIRL
그런 말은 절대 통하지 않아
나쁜 남자가 요즘 대세지
가끔 풍선 이벤트 해야지
난 니맘다 알지
여잔 다 똑같지
BOY YOU GOTTA STOP
DON’T WASTE MY TIME

A KNOWING
U DON’T KNOW ABOUT ME
넌 여자를 몰라
A KNOWING
STOP IT BABY
넌 정말 몰라

Standards of Men (feat. Boi. B)
(Prod. Gil of Magic Mansion)

A KNOWING
U DON’T KNOW ABOUT ME
You don’t know women
A KNOWING
STOP IT BABY
You really don’t know

Always pretending that you know everything
Pretending that you know a lot of people
Doing things as I see or hear it
Inside, you’re all empty
Jo In Sung, Jung Woo Sung
You’re free to be deluded but
since it smells, that cigarette
Please just put it out

Have to look professional
In front of women, for me, this proper ammunition
Making appeals, essential
My wallet is always FAT
MAKE IT RAIN RAIN ALL DAY
Will you give the check here? Oppa will pay
Esquire and G.Q., Arena and in Leon*
Full of secret methods, copy it just like that
A sense of feeling, other guys don’t really know
Sleeveless shirts in the summers,
Turtlenecks in the winters
I know, men’s tastes and
Standards, my job
Holding the parking pass in their mouths
and go in reverse
Look very carefully
I know what you like girl

A KNOWING
U DON’T KNOW ABOUT ME
You don’t know women
A KNOWING
STOP IT BABY
You really don’t know

Pretending to be an oppa who is sensible and chic
Being cocky when you play the claw machine game
There’s a lot of things I heard from somewhere
Inside, you’re all empty
Lim Jae Bum, Lim Chang Jung
What? You’re free to be deluded but
Your go-to karaoke track is
To me, it is only noise

Romantic is a must factor to buy a woman’s heart
To appeal to my emo side
Specializing in surprise events, they already melt
Would you come out to the front of your house?
I’ve already lit the candles
When I grab the mic, starting from “Confession”**
Sing Buzz’s “Coward” splendidly
Look carefully at oppa’s half-closed eyes
I KNOW WHAT YOU LIKE

Just full of show
We are not on the same wavelength anymore
Just different from those men
Just know that you’re being dragged around by me

Know how to flirt (Oh no)
Playing hard to get is just the basics these days (Oh no)
I KNOW WHAT U LIKE IT GIRL
Those words no longer work for me
Bad guys are the trend these days
Occasionally need to do a balloon event
I totally know how you feel
Women are all the same
BOY YOU GOTTA STOP
DON’T WASTE MY TIME

A KNOWING
U DON’T KNOW ABOUT ME
You don’t know women
A KNOWING
STOP IT BABY
You really don’t know

I decided to feature “나갈까 (Shall We Go Out)” as the final track for today’s playlist. I’m not in love with the melody but the song was co-composed by both Jo Jung Seok and Gummy. Plus, Jo Jung Seok plays the guitar on the recording as well. If they are any naysayers about their relationship, perhaps this will quiet those sentiments.

However, I love the simple beauty of the lyrics. The lyrics were written by Gummy herself and I love that she describes the beauty in all the little things that life gifts us with. I just wanted to leave this here as a little reminder to stop, take in your surroundings and take stock in the beauty of life in general.

Gummy – 나갈까 (Shall We Go Out)

거미 – 나갈까

나갈까

빨래를 널다
가만히 눈을 감아
내 얼굴에 앉은 햇살이
왠지 반가워져

비가 오는 게
늘 괜스레 좋았는데
이 바람을 타고 온 향기가 나를 불러
밖으로 나갈까 조금 걸어볼까
잠깐 고민해
어디로 가볼까 꽃들은 폈을까
졌을지도
모든 게 별거 아닌 일 그렇지만
느낄 수 있는 것 느끼게 하는 것
다 감사해

혼자 있는 게 늘 외롭진 않았는데
즐겨 듣던 노래에 갑자기 눈물이나

밖으로 나갈까 조금 걸어볼까
잠깐 고민해
누군갈 만날까 함께하면 좋을까
아닐지도
모든 게 다 어려운 일 그렇지만
웃을 수 있는 것 울 수도 있는 것
다 고마워
느낄 수 있는 것 느끼게 하는 것
다 감사해

Shall We Go Out

As we hang our laundry
Quietly close my eyes
The sunshine situated on my face
is somehow welcoming

The falling rain
is something I’ve always like for no reason
Coming in riding this wind, the scent calls to me
Shall we go out? Shall we walk a bit?
Think about it for a bit
Where shall we go? Have the flowers bloomed?
Might have faded
Everything might seem whatever but
The things we can feel, that make us feel
Thankful for it all

Being alone wasn’t always lonely
The song I enjoyed listening to, suddenly make me cry

Shall we go out? Shall we walk a bit?
Think about it for a bit
Shall we meet someone? Together, will it be fun?
It might not
Everything might seem hard but even so
The things that make us laugh, that we can laugh
Thankful for it all
The things we can feel, that make us feel
Thankful for it all

Leave a Reply

