Jive Monkey Playlist: 6/16/17

For today’s playlist, there really isn’t a theme that ties all these tracks together, except for the fact that they are topping the charts.  Whether they are indie artists or mainstream badasses, they are today’s artists who are making some of the most creative, influential music in K-Pop today.

These days, Bolbbalgan4 and Twenty Years of Age are the darlings of the K-Indie world.  With Twenty’s (aka Hwang Dae Hyun) soft, mellow voice and Bolbbalgan4’s Ahn Ji Young’s husky but emotional raw voice, you can’t help but be swept away by sentiments expressed in this breakup song.  The track is meant to reflect how quickly a relationship is formed with one phrase, such as “I like you, like you,” and how it can quickly end with “This is not working anymore.”  Many people take stock in how the relationships itself is made up of some many more significant things that it seems glib to think that it can start and end with a simple phrase.

볼빨간사춘기, 스무살 – 남이 될 수 있을까

남이 될 수 있을까

쉴 새 없이 울려 대던
내 전화기는 잠잠해져 가
할 말을 잃은 것 같아
정신없이 쏟아내던 그 모진 말들
주워 담지는 못해
아마 날 떠날 것 같아

난 너를 지울 수 있을까
그저 한순간에 우린 남이 될 수 있을까
쉽지 않을 걸 알지만
좋았던 날도 많았지만
되돌리기엔 멀리 와 버린 걸까
난 너를 지울 수 있을까
우린 남이 될 수 있을까

눈물조차 흐르지 않아
홧김에 던져 망가진 내 폰
마치 날 보는 것 같아
예전과 달리 잦아진 끝이 없는 듯한
감정싸움에
이제 난 지친 것 같아

난 너를 지울 수 있을까
그저 한순간에 우린 남이 될 수 있을까
쉽지 않을 걸 알지만
좋았던 날도 많았겠지만
되돌리기엔 멀리 와 버린 걸까

괜찮은 척해도 먹먹해진 기분은
진해져만 가 떨쳐내려 괜히 웃어보아도
숨길 수 없는 걸 이별이 오는 걸
우리의 시간은 멈춰버린걸

난 너를 지울 수 있을까
우린 남이 될 수 있을까

난 너를 지울 수 있을까
그저 한순간에 우린 남이 될 수 있을까

쉽지 않을 걸 알지만
좋았던 날도 많았지만
되돌리기엔 멀리 와 버린 걸까
난 너를 지울 수 있을까
우린 남이 될 수 있을까

We loved We loved We loved
We loved We loved We loved

Will We Be Able to Become Strangers?

Ringing non-stop
My phone becomes quiet
It’s like you’ve forgotten what to say
Thoughtlessly spilled out, those harsh words
Can’t pick it up and hold on it
Seems like you’ll leave me

Will I be able to erase you?
In just one moment, will we be able to become strangers?
Know that it won’t be easy but
Know that we had a lot of great days
Seems like we came too far to turn back
Will I be able to erase you?
Will we be able to become strangers?

I don’t even shed tears
In a fit of anger, thrown and broken my phone
It’s like I’m looking at myself
Unlike before, it’s often like there’s no end
to our emotional fights
Now, it seems like I’ve grown tired

Will I be able to erase you?
In just one moment, will we be able to become strangers?
Know that it won’t be easy but
Know that we had a lot of great days
Seems like we came too far to turn back

Pretending everything’s fine, the feeling of numbness
Becomes reinforced, even though I try to laugh it off
That I can’t hide it, that a breakup is imminent
That our time has stopped

Will I be able to erase you?
Will we be able to become strangers?

Will I be able to erase you?
In just one moment, will we be able to become strangers?

Know that it won’t be easy but
Know that we had a lot of great days
Seems like we came too far to turn back
Will I be able to erase you?
Will we be able to become strangers?

We loved We loved We loved
We loved We loved We loved

_____________________________________________________

I will admit that I was very, very surprised that “무제(無題) (Untitled, 2014)” was the title track of G-Dragon’s latest solo album.  At first glance, it sounds like a sad love song about lovers who breakup.  Certainly, that could still be the case but I could also help drawing parallels to his career in the entertainment business.  For me, that emotional rawness of the track feels so palpable, especially considering the positive and negative things that fame can afford.  The song’s title “Untitled” means having no right or claim and it seem indicative of what fame is as it is such a fleeting thing.  As a fan of G-Dragon and Big Bang, it’s something that even I can’t deny.  As G-Dragon prepares for his own military enlistment, we hope that he returns and continues to evolve in the ever changing industry but really all of that is still a gamble just like a relationship between two people.

G-DRAGON – 무제(無題) (Untitled, 2014)

무제(無題) (Untitled, 2014)

나에게 돌아오기가 어렵고
힘든 걸 알아
이제 더는 상처받기가 두렵고
싫은 걸 알아
네가 떠나 버린 그날에도
모진 말로 널 울리고
뒤돌아 서서 후회해 미안해

제발 단 한 번이라도 너를 볼 수 있다면
내 모든 걸 다 잃어도 괜찮아
꿈에서라도 너를 만나 다시 사랑하기를
우리 이대로

너에게 용서받기 보다
죽는 게 더 쉬울지 몰라
이 노래를 불러보지만
내 진심이 닿을지 몰라
네가 행복하기를 바래
그 흔한 거짓말도 못하고
돌아오기만 기도해 미안해

제발 단 한 번이라도 너를 볼 수 있다면
내 모든 걸 다 잃어도 괜찮아
꿈에서라도 너를 만나 다시 사랑하기를
우리 이대로

이제는 끝이라는 마지막이라는
너의 그 맘을 난 믿을 수 없어
I can’t let go, cuz you never know
내겐 너 같은 너에겐 나 같은
그런 사랑은 두 번 다시는 없어
Nobody knows we always know

제발 단 한 번이라도 너를 볼 수 있다면
내 모든 걸 다 잃어도 괜찮아
꿈에서라도 너를 만나 다시 사랑하기를

지금 이 시간이 지나가고 다 잊을 수 있다면
그 기억도 행복했던 추억도
아니 다음 생 에도 너를 만나 다시
사랑하기를
예전 그대로

Untitled

Difficult for it to come back to me,
know that it’s hard
Now, I’m afraid of getting hurt,
know that I hate it
Even on the day you left,
I made you cry with harsh words
Looking back, I regret it, I’m sorry

Please, just this once, if I can see you
Even though I lose everything, it’s okay
If I meet you again in my dreams, I’ll love you again
Like this, we

More than receiving your forgiveness,
I don’t know if it’s easier to die
I try to sing this song but
don’t know if my honesty will reach you
I hope that you will be happy
Can’t even go with those clichéd lies
Pray that you’ll come back to me, I’m sorry

Please, just this once, if I can see you
Even though I lose everything, it’s okay
If I meet you again in my dreams, I’ll love you again
Like this, we

The end is now the last
Can’t believe that heart of yours
I can’t let go, cuz you never know
To me, someone like you, to you, someone like me
Won’t be able to find a love like that again
Nobody knows we always know

Please, just this once, if I can see you
Even though I lose everything, it’s okay
If I meet you again in my dreams, I’ll love you again

Once this moment passes, if I can forget it
Those memories, even the happy memories
No, if I meet you in the next life,
I’ll love you
Just like before

While “INTRO. 권지용 (Middle Fingers-Up) (INTRO. Kwon Ji Yong (Middle Fingers-Up)” is no longer one of the top ten tracks, I still wanted to feature it on today’s post. If “무제(無題) (Untitled, 2014)” reflects the depression that is felt due to the fickle nature of fame, “INTRO. 권지용 (Middle Fingers-Up) (INTRO. Kwon Ji Yong (Middle Fingers-Up)” feels like a defiant response to the nonsense. The fakes, the cheats, and the naysayers. Producer KUSH, 24 and G-Dragon composed the track and G-Dragon wrote the lyrics. The lyrics are filled with colorful curse words and the translations below aren’t perfect but you get the general gist, right?

G-DRAGON – INTRO. 권지용 (Middle Fingers-Up) (INTRO. Kwon Ji Yong (Middle Fingers-Up))

G-DRAGON – INTRO. 권지용 (Middle Fingers-Up)

*알 바야 쓰레빠야 – This line is more of play-on-words.  It literally reads as “to know it, you flip-flop,” which obviously doesn’t make logical sense but the words rhyme in Korean and “쓰레빠 (sseu-rae-bba)” in this instance is used to reference someone as being completely insignificant like a cheap flip-flop.

**만남 이 없어 노사연 – Singer Noh Sa Yeon sings a famous romantic song called “Meeting”.

***나훈아 너훈아 – The words actually don’t mean anything, in a literal sense.  It’s a play-on-words incorporating famous trot singer, Na Hoon Ah’s name.  The translation below is derived from the context the line.

****AR – Audio recording.

*****세상은 요지경 신신애 – Another famous trot singer, Shin Shin Ae, who is known for a song called “The World’s a Kaleidoscope”.

******조용필 – Singer Jo Yong Pil

*******백태라 (Baek Tae Ra) – Literally translates to mean the bacteria that forms on the tongue or the white coating that forms on the tongue.

INTRO. 권지용 (Middle Fingers-Up)

평화 빼기 하나 모두
Middle Fingers-Up
엄지 검지 약지 새끼 접고
중지 세워
올리고 돌리고 놀리고 NOW
이거나 쳐 먹어 먹어
동방NO예의지국 이 시국
역대 급 순 최근에 실례 쩖
뿌리 뽑아 음모야
WAXIN’ 해
알 바야 쓰레빠야* 짜샤 뭐
우리 전에 봤었는데 네 아니요
승리랑 친해 라는데
어쩌라고요
술 한잔하게 나중에
예쁜 애들 잘 아는데
번호 좀 줄래
내가 왜 대체 누구세요
Talk 알림 Lock SNS도 비공개
점점 줄어드는 개인 대인관계
It Ain’t Nothin’
만남 이 없어 노사연**
No More Drama Straight 종방연
Rest In Peace MINUS ONE
이름부터 애매모호하지
평화 빼기 하나 모두
Middle Fingers-Up
엄지 검지 약지 새끼 접고
중지 세워
올리고 돌리고 놀리고 NOW
이거나 쳐 먹어 먹어
평화 빼기 하나 모두
Middle Fingers-Up
엄지 검지 약지 새끼 접고
중지 세워
올리고 돌리고 놀리고 NOW
이거나 쳐 먹어 먹어
날 따라해 따라하다 행사까지
가끔은 진짜 가짜 뭐가 나인지
나훈아 너훈아*** 누가 알아
멍석 깔아 패 까봐 AR**** 깔아
역시 세상은 요지경 신신애*****
I Veni Vidi Vici 내 묘비명 Screamin’
백타지 요즘 같은 때에
제정신 어디 있겠어
멘탈 붕괴 Feel 잡아 집중해
Pay Attention
그 새끼보다 내가 못 한 게 뭐냐 던 새끼
비싼 보석 반지는 많아도
약지에 낄 ring은 없지
내 검지 삿대질 합죽이 합 쉿
엄지야
I’m a livin’ Legend 조용필****** Feel it
이 바닥 내 혓바닥에 기생
백태라******* 불려 소문 부풀려
하얀 구설이 되네
평화 빼기 하나 모두
Middle Fingers-Up
엄지 검지 약지 새끼 접고
중지 세워
올리고 돌리고 놀리고 NOW
이거나 쳐 먹어 먹어
평화 빼기 하나 모두
Middle Fingers-Up
엄지 검지 약지 새끼 접고
중지 세워
올리고 돌리고 놀리고 NOW
이거나 쳐 먹어 먹어
I just wanna make Ya’ 이거나 먹어
I just wanna make Ya’ 이거나 먹어
I just wanna make Ya’ 씨 발라 먹어
I just wanna make Ya’ 엿 바꿔 먹어
젓가락 아니죠 손가락 행진곡
어느 장단 내 장단 맞춤 아다리요
사주 팔자 유명인사
잠깐 STOP 권 지 용
외국말로는 V Cheese
한국말로는 김치 평화
평화 빼기 하나 모두
Middle Fingers-Up
엄지 검지 약지 새끼 접고
중지 세워
올리고 돌리고 놀리고 NOW
이거나 쳐 먹어 먹어
평화 빼기 하나 모두
Middle Fingers-Up
엄지 검지 약지 새끼 접고
중지 세워
올리고 돌리고 놀리고 NOW
이거나 쳐 먹어 먹어

INTRO. Kwon Ji Yong (Middle Fingers-Up)

Minus peace, all together as one
Middle Fingers-Up
Fold your thumb, index, pinky fingers,
hold your middle finger up
Hold it up, flip it around, taunt them, NOW
Eat this, eat this
The East, the Land of Courtesy, NO, not this state
At its best, recently having to be excused
Pull it out from its roots, uh what is that
Are you WAXIN’?
None of my business*, fuck it, whatever
We saw it before, yes, no
Say that you’re close with Seung Ri
And what do you want me to do about it
Let’s have a drink later
I know the pretty ones well
Will you give me their number?
Why should I? Who are you?
Talk, Notification, Lock, even SNS, is private
Slowly shrinking the amount of personal, adult relationships
It Ain’t Nothin’
There’s no meeting, Noh Sa Yeon**
No More Drama Straight After-Show Party
Rest In Peace MINUS ONE
From your name, it’s ambiguous
Minus peace, all together as one
Middle Fingers-Up
Fold your thumb, index, pinky fingers,
hold your middle finger up
Hold it up, flip it around, taunt them, NOW
Eat this, eat this
Minus peace, all together as one
Middle Fingers-Up
Fold your thumb, index, pinky fingers,
hold your middle finger up
Hold it up, flip it around, taunt them, NOW
Eat this, eat this
Follow me, from following me until hold an event
Occasionally, real, fake, what’s the real me?
Whether it’s me, or you***, who knows?
Shall we lay out a mat, the cards, the AR****
Surely, the world is a kaleidoscope, Shin Shin Ae*****
I Veni Vidi Vici, my epitaph, Screamin’
It’s 100 points at times like this
Who would be in their right mind?
Mental breakdown, hang on to the Feeling, focus
Pay Attention
The fucker who said, ‘What does that mofo have that I don’t’
Even though he has expensive jeweled rings
He doesn’t have a ring to put on his ring finger
Point my finger at the sum of all sums, shh
Hey Umji
I’m a livin’ legend, Jo Yong Pil******, Feel it
In this world, the parasite on my tongue
They call me bacteria*******, rumors blowing up
Becomes a white lie
Minus peace, all together as one
Middle Fingers-Up
Fold your thumb, index, pinky fingers,
hold your middle finger up
Hold it up, flip it around, taunt them, NOW
Eat this, eat this
Minus peace, all together as one
Middle Fingers-Up
Fold your thumb, index, pinky fingers,
hold your middle finger up
Hold it up, flip it around, taunt them, NOW
Eat this, eat this
I just wanna make Ya’, eat this
I just wanna make Ya’, eat this
I just wanna make Ya’, wipe it and eat it
I just wanna make Ya’, make a mess of it
Not with chopsticks, it’s a finger march
What beat? My beat, made-to-order
Fortune and destiny, a celebrity
Wait, STOP, Kwon. Ji. Yong.
In a foreign language, V Cheese
In Korean, Kimchee, Peace
Minus peace, all together as one
Middle Fingers-Up
Fold your thumb, index, pinky fingers,
hold your middle finger up
Hold it up, flip it around, taunt them, NOW
Eat this, eat this
Minus peace, all together as one
Middle Fingers-Up
Fold your thumb, index, pinky fingers,
hold your middle finger up
Hold it up, flip it around, taunt them, NOW
Eat this, eat this

Leave a Reply

