Jive Monkey Playlist: 6/30/17

We’re about to start a long weekend here in the States and my brain doesn’t feel like working.  *shrug.  Is there a more perfect song to accompany my vacation brain than BLACKPINK’s new single?  Here’s hoping that you all get some needed R&R and party like there’s no tomorrow before we have to get back to the grind next week.

When BLACKPINK debuted, I hesitated to immediately jump on board because they reflected many of the same characteristics of 2NE1, which I’ve been a fan of since their debut.  And yet, when 2NE1 disbanded, BLACKPINK filled my 2NE1-shaped hole.  Certainly with producers like Teddy and Brother Su, and even the way they sing the track, you can’t help but think of 2NE1, but with the combination of a 4/4 kick rhythm, moombahton and a reggae-house track, it’s hard not get enthusiastic over the rhythmical track.  Especially since the girls’ singing and rapping (and even dancing) is so confident.

Despite how their being marketed or who is writing their music, I couldn’t help but feel that the subject matter of “마지막처럼 (As If It’s Your Last)” perfectly suited their vibe.  While the lyrics are about giving everything you’ve got in a relationship, I think that motto also applies to how the group is moving forward with their promotions.  How could you not applaud that bold spirit?

BLACKPINK – 마지막처럼

마지막처럼

너 뭔데 자꾸 생각나
자존심 상해 애가 타
얼굴이 뜨겁고 가슴은 계속 뛰어
내 몸이 맘대로 안 돼 어지러워

넌 한 줌의 모래 같아
잡힐 듯 잡히지 않아
넌 쉽지 않은 걸 그래서 더 끌려
내 맘이 맘대로 안 돼 어이없어

지금 너를 원하는 내 숨결이 느껴지니
널 바라보고 있어도 missing you
서툰 날 won’t you set me free

Baby 날 터질 것처럼 안아줘
그만 생각해 뭐가 그리 어려워

거짓말처럼 키스해줘
내가 너에게 마지막 사랑인 것처럼

마지막처럼 마-마-마지막처럼
마지막 밤인 것처럼 love
마지막처럼 마-마-마지막처럼
내일 따윈 없는 것처럼

Uh I’ma fall in love baby
You gon finna catch me
Uh give you all of this baby
Call me pretty and nasty
Cause we gonna get it my love
ou can bet it on black
we gon double the stack on them whoa!
I be the Bonnie and you be my Clyde
We ride or die
Xs and Os

시간은 흘러가는데 마음만 급해지지
내 세상은 너 하나만 missing you
서툰 날 won’t you set me free

Baby 날 터질 것처럼 안아줘
그만 생각해 뭐가 그리 어려워

거짓말처럼 키스해줘 내가 너에게
마지막 사랑인 것처럼

마지막처럼 마-마-마지막처럼
마지막 밤인 것처럼 love
마지막처럼 마-마-마지막처럼
내일 따윈 없는 것처럼

One two three 새로운 시작이야
절대 뒤돌아보진 않을 거니까

날 너에게 던지면 너는 날 꼭 잡아줘
세상은 우릴 꺾지 못할 테니까

BLACKPINK in your area

Baby 날 터질 것처럼 안아줘
그만 생각해 뭐가 그리 어려워

거짓말처럼 키스해줘 내가 너에게
마지막 사랑인 것처럼

마지막처럼 마-마-마지막처럼
마지막 밤인 것처럼 love
마지막처럼 마-마-마지막처럼
내일 따윈 없는 것처럼 love

As If It’s Your Last

Who are you to make me keep thinking of you?
My pride’s hurt and it’s agonizing
My face is hot, my heart keeps racing
Can’t control my body, I’m dizzy

You’re like a fist full of sand
Like I can hold you but can’t hang on
Because you’re not easy, that’s why I’m attracted to you
Can’t control my heart, it’s outrageous

Can you feel my breath that wants you now
Even though I look at you, missing you
Blundering, won’t you set me free

Baby, hug me like I’m about to burst
Stop thinking, what’s so hard

Kiss me like it’s a lie,
As if I’m your last love

As if I’m your last, la, la, la, as if I’m your last
As if it’s the last night, love
As if I’m your last, la, la, la, as if I’m your last
As if there’s no such thing as tomorrow

Uh I’ma fall in love baby
You gon finna catch me
Uh give you all of this baby
Call me pretty and nasty
Cause we gonna get it my love
ou can bet it on black
we gon double the stack on them whoa!
I be the Bonnie and you be my Clyde
We ride or die
Xs and Os

Time keeps flowing but only my heart is in a rush
My world is only you, missing you
Blundering, won’t you set me free

Baby, hug me like I’m about to burst
Stop thinking, what’s so hard

Kiss me like it’s a lie,
As if I’m your last love

As if I’m your last, la, la, la, as if I’m your last
As if it’s the last night, love
As if I’m your last, la, la, la, as if I’m your last
As if there’s no such thing as tomorrow

One two three, it’s a new start
Because I won’t ever look back

If I throw myself at you, please make sure you catch me
Because the world cut us off

BLACKPINK in your area

Baby, hug me like I’m about to burst
Stop thinking, what’s so hard

Kiss me like it’s a lie,
As if I’m your last love

As if I’m your last, la, la, la, as if I’m your last
As if it’s the last night, love
As if I’m your last, la, la, la, as if I’m your last
As if there’s no such thing as tomorrow

Leave a Reply

