Jive Monkey Playlist: 7/14/17

There’s a very important announcement that I’ll be making tomorrow.  Please be sure to stay tuned.  However, as I was preparing for that, it just made me reminisce about the blog in general.  The oddball thing is when I reminisce about myself sometimes it’s accompanied by a soundtrack playing in my head.  There’s really no theme this week other than having today’s playlist being a Summer Flashback Friday.

I have always wanted to do an old school playlist post featuring Deux and specifically featuring their 1994 hit, “여름 안에서 (In Summer),” but more on that later.  Deux, like the name suggest, was a duo K-Pop group with Lee Hyun Do and Kim Sung Jae.

Their style of music was hip-hop and new jack swing.  At the height of their fame, the duo broke up to pursue solo careers but then in 1995, Kim Sung Jae was found dead from an apparent drug overdose.  Not only was the news tragic but his girlfriend at the time was arrested for his alleged murder.  Later, she was acquitted due to the lack of evidence but as you can understand, this was a major entertainment scandal back in the 90’s.  Even to this day, we’re still not sure what happened to him as forensic science wasn’t as advanced as it was in the 90’s.  I guess the drama The Best Hit made me think of Deux because Yoon Shi Yoon’s character, Yoo Hyun Jae, specifically his fashion sense and style, reminded me of Deux.

“여름 안에서 (In Summer)” came out in the Fall of 1994, which means that I only started hearing the song more towards the winter of that year as it took a long time for albums to ship from Korea to NYC.  The internet age affords us many comforts.  But the following summer, I recall hearing this song non-stop.  Certainly, it’s a very romantic song that’s easy on the ears but the laidback nature of the track just screams the R&R pace of summer.  The music video is quite iconic as well with their white outfits and the cerulean beach background and the easy-to-follow dance moves that had everyone swaying.

듀스(Deux) – 여름 안에서

*너는 푸른 바다야 – The singer compares the significant other to the blue sea meaning that their heart is as deep and wide as the blue sea.

여름 안에서

언제나 꿈꿔 온 순간이
여기 지금 내게 시작되고 있어
그렇게 너를 사랑했던
내 마음을 넌 받아 주었어

오 내 기분만큼 밝은 태양과
시원한 바람들이 내게 다가와
나는 이렇게 행복을 느껴

하늘은 우릴 향해 열려 있어
그리고 내 곁에는 니가 있어
환한 미소와 함께 서 있는
그래 너는 푸른 바다야

같은 시간 속에 이렇게
함께 있는 것만으로도 난 좋아
행복한 미소에 니 얼굴
나 더 이상 무얼 바라겠니

저 파란 하늘 아래서 너와 나
여기 이렇게 사랑하고 있어
나는 이렇게 행복을 느껴

하늘은 우릴 향해 열려 있어
그리고 내 곁에는 니가 있어
환한 미소와 함께 서 있는
그래 너는 푸른 바다야

더 이상 슬픔은 없는거야
지금 행복한 너와 나
태양 아래 우린 서로가 사랑한 걸 알아

하늘은 우릴 향해 열려 있어
그리고 내 곁에는 니가 있어
환한 미소와 함께 서 있는
그래 너는 푸른 바다야

하늘은 우릴 향해 열려 있어
그리고 내 곁에는 니가 있어
환한 미소와 함께 서 있는
그래 너는 푸른 바다야

너는 푸른 바다야

난 너를 사랑해 난 너를 사랑해
난 너를 사랑해 난 너를 사랑해

In Summer

Always dreamed of this moment
Starting here right now
Loved you like that
You received my heart

Oh, as much as my mood is bright as the sun and
The refreshing breeze approaches me
Felt this happiness like this

The sky opens up for us
And by my side, there’s you
Standing together with a radiant smile
Yeah, you’re like the blue sea*

Like this, at the same time
I like just being together with you
Happy smile on your face
What more can I hope for

Beneath those blue skies, you and I
Here, loving you like this
I’m feeling happy like this

The sky opens up for us
And by my side, there’s you
Standing together with a radiant smile
Yeah, you’re like the blue sea

No longer feeling sadness
Happy now, you and I
Beneath the sun, knowing that we love each other

The sky opens up for us
And by my side, there’s you
Standing together with a radiant smile
Yeah, you’re like the blue sea

The sky opens up for us
And by my side, there’s you
Standing together with a radiant smile
Yeah, you’re like the blue sea

You’re like the blue sea

I’m in love with you, I’m in love with you
I’m in love with you, I’m in love with you

_____________________________________________________

Lately, I’ve been addicted to the JTBC variety busking show, Begin Again.  The fact that Yoo Hee Yeol, Yoon Do Hyun and Lee Sora are all established musicians but who do very different genres of music and watch them get all nervous as they go to other countries to busk is enthralling to watch.  I just wish that JTBC put up clips of their performances on Youtube but that may have to do with not having the rights available for worldwide distribution.

One of my favorite performances is when Lee Sora sings her 1996 hit, “청혼 (Proposal)”.  Technically, the song came out in the winter but the bossa nova track makes me think of Brazil and sunshine.  I loved that the show featured Yoon Do Hyun as he was the one who had to play guitar for their band, which they’ve named Begin Us.  Yoon Do Hyun, by nature, is a rocker.  He’s used to playing the guitar like a rocker but when it comes to jazz guitar, there’s entirely different, delicate touch you have to use when strumming those notes.

Yoon Do Hyun spends all this time practicing the song, using the track below, only to have Lee Sora tell him that he plays great but he needs to slow down the pace.  Whatt?  I will tell you that that’s not easy to do, even for an accomplished musician such as Yoon Do Hyun.  She says that they recorded it at a fast pace for the album but that it sounds much better if it was slower.  In my head, I had always assumed that the slower-paced version was the official album version as well.  I just couldn’t imagine it playing any faster but sure enough, you’ll hear that the version is quite fast below.  It’s worth checking out their Slane Castle performance in the show as it is quite beautiful.

Lee Sora – 청혼 (Proposal)

이소라 – 청혼

청혼

말할 거예요 이제 우리 결혼해요
그럼 늦은 저녁 헤어지며 아쉬워하는
그런 일은 없을 거예요
나도 모르게 겁이 나요
꼭 붙들어줘
같이 처음부터 시작해요 우리의 시간
나는 당신을 믿을께요
그대에게 나 반한것 같아
말은 안했지만 너무 멋저 보여요
그대에게 나 반한것 같아
말한 뒤에라도 후회하지 않을께요
두근 거려요 마음으로 안아줘요
같이 살아가면서 부딛히고 힘들겠죠
걱정 말아요 잘 할께요
그대에게 나 반한반한것 같아
말은 안했지만 너무 멋저 보여요
그대에게 나 반한것 같아
말한 뒤에라도 후회하지 않을께요
말할 거예요 이제 우리 결혼해요
그럼 늦은 저녁 헤어지며 아쉬워하는
그런 일은 없을 거예요
그대에게 나 반한것 같아
말은 안했지만 너무 멋저 보여요
그대에게 나 반한것 같아
말한 뒤에라도 후회하지 않을께요

Proposal

I’m gonna say it, let’s get married now
Of course, wistfully separating late at night
There won’t be such a thing like that
Naively, I get scared too
Please hold on tight
Let’s start this moment from the beginning together
I will have faith in you
Seems like you’ve fallen for me
Haven’t said it but you look very dashing
Seems like you’ve fallen for me
Even after saying it, I won’t regret it
I’m nervous, embrace me with your feelings
As we live together, we may butt heads and it’ll be hard
Don’t worry, I’ll try my best
Seems like you’ve fallen, fallen for me
Haven’t said it but you look very dashing
Seems like you’ve fallen for me
Even after saying it, I won’t regret it
I’m gonna say it, let’s get married now
Of course, wistfully separating late at night
There won’t be such a thing like that
Seems like you’ve fallen for me
Haven’t said it but you look very dashing
Seems like you’ve fallen for me
Even after saying it, I won’t regret it

Leave a Reply

