Happy 6th! And Goodbye, For Now…

It’s been 6 years since I began this journey on Musings of a Chunkeemonkeeato.  I’ve had some incredible experiences over those years, including making an internet community of new friends, going to KCON in LA and NY, sharing aspects of my culture and gushing about the world of entertainment, specifically Korean television, movies and music.

Although I work in television, I created this blog because I was looking for a creative outlet outside of “work”.  I hope the site was a place of refuge which allowed you to rave and rant about your biases or just read about my take on various things about the entertainment world.  When I began this blog, my goal was to try and see if I can last a year.  I had so many things I wanted to say and share.  The first year came and went.  I knew I was serious about writing and critiquing so I set out to see if I could make it past the fifth year mark.  I surpassed that last year.

Now at the 6 year anniversary, I’ve satisfied the goals I set for myself.  Certainly, I’ve upped the ante with the anniversary cake every year.  It ain’t a party without a good cake.  I’ve made no secret that I’ve been struggling with writers’ block, the procrastination monster, and simply not having enough time.  Certainly, my day job requires me to work overtime quite often.  I have finally accepted the reality that I don’t have the bandwidth to continue with this blog, at least on my own.  I have contemplated about scaling back on posts but in all honesty, I am not the kind of person to only give 50%.  So I’ve come to the decision to end the blog.  When I started the blog, it wasn’t a decision I made lightly and it’s not a decision that I make lightly now as I had been weighing the pros and cons for over 6 months now.

I am going to spend the rest of the summer catching up on reviews that I’ve neglected.   However, this week’s banana’s post and playlist post is its last.  Even after I stop writing the last of the reviews, this blog will still be active in case there’s an old drama or movie you’ve been meaning to check out.  Perhaps there’s one you’ve overlooked at the time it was airing but want to catch up on?

Big Bang – 마지막 인사 (Last Farewell) (2012 BIGBANG LIVE CONCERT [ALIVE TOUR])

빅뱅(Bigbang) – 마지막 인사

Certainly, this doesn’t mean that I’m going to stop watching Korean shows or stop listening to Korean music.  I also not going to disappear off of SNS (aka social media) either.  Feel free to say hello, hey yo, what up.  Or if you need a drama or movie recommendation, then I’m your gal.  However, I hope that by making this sacrifice I will be able to rejoin this so-called thing called life.  I’m hoping that I’ll find time to catch up on British and American shows I’ve missed.  There are a lot and I’ve got a list.  I would also like to read more books (got a huge stack of actual books, not the Kindle-kind, waiting for me), take up archery (I’m Korean so I’ve got to be good, right? Olympics, here I come!), resume photography (click, click), start exercising again (just dangle cake in front my treadmill), and catch up with old friends (glug, glug).

Ed Sheeran – Dive

Ed Sheeran – Dive

I don’t think this Goblin-esque exit I’m taking means the be-all, end all of blogging or writing altogether.  My hope is to return to the blogosphere, whether it’s on this site or at a completely new web address, where it encourage readers to take part in a unique exchange of insights.  If you’ve made it this far, thank you so much for reading all the way through.  Also, thank you all for supporting the blog with your likes, comments and clicks.  I encourage you to keep doing it on the blogs that you love because it’s the thing that fuels us and helps us to feel like we’re not talking into the internet void by ourselves.

Kyuhyun – 다시 만나는 날 (Goodbye for now) (Until the Day We Meet Again (Goodbye for now))

규현 (KYUHYUN) – 다시 만나는 날 (Goodbye for now)

6 thoughts on “Happy 6th! And Goodbye, For Now…

  1. Please don’t. I’m so sad since your blog has been one of my fav blog with dramabeans..I love reading your reviews..Please contiune to do so even once a year..

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Noooo!!! I think I was there when you first started this blog. Wow. It’s been 6 years already? Time sure flew fast. *sobs*sob* Feels so old already. Cheers for your life outside there, and stay healthy! Dokkogirls. ❤

    Liked by 1 person

  3. This saddens me immensely but do what you need to do. I’ve always admired how you are able to produce regular posts like it’s nothing (and stick to it for six whole years!). Your commitment to the blog shows. My blog is nearing the six year milestone soon as well, but my posts have never been regular and I don’t think they ever will. Blogging demands a lot of time and effort, so I can totally understand what you mean – it can get too much. I hope you’ll return someday (and let us know) but until then, I wish you the best!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

